Running Capture One files from server

Discussions, questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One PRO, Capture One DB and Capture One Express 8x and 7.x

Running Capture One files from server

Postby Marc52 » Mon Jan 19, 2015 10:50 am

Hi all,

i have a problem with my capture one files running from the NAS RAID. When i open session files directly from the server (gigabit cable) browsing through the folder structure, thumbnails, and the whole working process ist extremely slow. In most cases the session hangs up and the session file has to be repaired (several times the marks and rating were deleted).
According to my IT specialists statement there is no problem with the speed/data connection. Even if the session speed is affected by the server connection, i´m wondering that it is not possible at all to work with this set up. Do i have to download all the files to a local drive for editing/working ?


help is welcome :mrgreen:

cheers
Marc52
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 2:48 pm

Re: Running Capture One files from server

Postby Drew » Mon Jan 19, 2015 12:47 pm

We would certainly welcome some details about the connection and device.
Kind Regards,
Drew
Phase One
Drew
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 4370
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2008 2:34 pm
Location: Copenhagen, DK / NY, NY

Re: Running Capture One files from server

Postby Marc52 » Wed Jan 21, 2015 10:43 am

Hi,

our set-up is the following

Raid: Pegasus 2 R8 32 TB, Thunderbolt connection
Server: Mac mini 2.3 Ghz Intel Core i7, 16GB RAM, OS X Mavericks 10.9.5
Working station: Mac Pro,2x 2,6 GHZ Quad Core Intel Xeon, 32 GB RAM, OS X Yosemite 10.10.1, connected to server over gigabit LAN CAT.6

Capture One 7.2.3

thanks!
Marc52
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 2:48 pm

Re: Running Capture One files from server

Postby Paul_Steunebrink » Wed Jan 21, 2015 12:54 pm

Just checking, do I understand you correctly that the Pegasus RAID device is connected to the Mac Mini server? That it contains the images you are opening from your workstation?

If this is the case, I suggest to place a session on the Mac Mini local hard drive and see whether there is a difference.
Best regards,
Paul E. Steunebrink, Image Alchemist (website All about Capture One), Capture One trainer
User avatar
Paul_Steunebrink
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
 
Posts: 9488
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Running Capture One files from server

Postby Marc52 » Mon Jan 26, 2015 4:21 pm

correct the Raid is connected to the Mac Mini as a server. As we have plenty of session files and large images, sorted into job names etc. where we have to browse without copying the whole session to the Mac mini first i don´t think this would be a solution for us. After a completed project we upload all related sessions (up to 1 TB) to the server and from then on it is nearly impossible to browse through the pictures, export, edit etc. because capture one hangs up every few minutes...
Marc52
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 2:48 pm

Re: Running Capture One files from server

Postby Paul_Steunebrink » Wed Jan 28, 2015 3:57 pm

Marc52 wrote:...
As we have plenty of session files and large images, sorted into job names etc. where we have to browse without copying the whole session to the Mac mini first i don´t think this would be a solution for us.

It was not meant as a solution, my suggestion. I understand the reason you have the Pegasus in the first place.

I try to find the culprit. By placing one session on the Mac Mini HDD, instead of the Pegasus, and access it over the network, I was curious whether that would make a difference. This process is also referred to as trail and error.
Best regards,
Paul E. Steunebrink, Image Alchemist (website All about Capture One), Capture One trainer
User avatar
Paul_Steunebrink
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
 
Posts: 9488
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Running Capture One files from server

Postby Marc52 » Wed Feb 04, 2015 11:22 am

Hi Paul,

thank you very much for your help! Running the session from the server instead of the RAID makes it a little bit faster, but Capture hangs up after some actions are done. Do you think it would be a solution if i place only the session file on the local drive, open it and then browse to the image files on the server? Will this destroy the ratings and settings?

Cheers,
Marc
Marc52
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 2:48 pm

Re: Running Capture One files from server

Postby Paul_Steunebrink » Mon Feb 09, 2015 2:03 pm

Marc52 wrote:...
Do you think it would be a solution if i place only the session file on the local drive, open it and then browse to the image files on the server? Will this destroy the ratings and settings?

Hi Marc,
I think that you be a good thing to do. Just create a new session on your local drive and browse from the System Folders section in the Library tool to your image files.

Note that the session (file) does not contain your adjustments. Those are in the Capture One subfolder of the image folder.

You could also place a few folders of images on your server's local drive. All for testing only.
Best regards,
Paul E. Steunebrink, Image Alchemist (website All about Capture One), Capture One trainer
User avatar
Paul_Steunebrink
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
 
Posts: 9488
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: The Netherlands


Return to Capture One 8.x and 7.x Software



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron