SAPPHIRE HD 7950 3GB GDDR5 MAC Edition & CO 7.13

Discussions, questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One PRO, Capture One DB and Capture One Express 8x and 7.x

SAPPHIRE HD 7950 3GB GDDR5 MAC Edition & CO 7.13

Postby Rdiger5 » Fri Jul 12, 2013 8:51 am

Anyone running a SAPPHIRE HD 7950 3GB GDDR5 MAC Edition inside a MacPro successfully together with CO 7.13 ? Here it always crashes a soon as I turn on openCl :(
I was just running a openCL OceanWave FPS test suite. See the results:

OS X 10.8.4 Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU X5482 @ 3.20GHz 3200 MHz
GPU ATI Radeon HD 7950 Compute Engine 800 MHz 499.0 fps
AA ON
Bandwidthes: device>host: 6349.9MB/s host>device: 4683.9MB/s device >device: 110690.0MB/s

Pretty good results ( 499.0 fps), they do not look like driver issue! Probably a CO1 7.13 issue...

My Web Support Case Number 128082 is no help, till now.
Rdiger5
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 6:21 pm

Re: SAPPHIRE HD 7950 3GB GDDR5 MAC Edition & CO 7.13

Postby Christian Gruner » Fri Jul 12, 2013 10:24 am

R�diger5 wrote:Anyone running a SAPPHIRE HD 7950 3GB GDDR5 MAC Edition inside a MacPro successfully together with CO 7.13 ? Here it always crashes a soon as I turn on openCl :(
I was just running a openCL OceanWave FPS test suite. See the results:

OS X 10.8.4 Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU X5482 @ 3.20GHz 3200 MHz
GPU ATI Radeon HD 7950 Compute Engine 800 MHz 499.0 fps
AA ON
Bandwidthes: device>host: 6349.9MB/s host>device: 4683.9MB/s device >device: 110690.0MB/s

Pretty good results ( 499.0 fps), they do not look like driver issue! Probably a CO1 7.13 issue...

My Web Support Case Number 128082 is no help, till now.


We have tested with this card, and found no issues.

Please send your log-files to your support-case: http://www.phaseone.com/Search/Article. ... nguageid=1
Christian Gruner
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 1832
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 9:48 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: SAPPHIRE HD 7950 3GB GDDR5 MAC Edition & CO 7.13

Postby Rdiger5 » Fri Jul 12, 2013 3:28 pm

all Logs uploaded. Lets see...
Rdiger5
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 6:21 pm

Re: SAPPHIRE HD 7950 3GB GDDR5 MAC Edition & CO 7.13

Postby dale11833 » Tue Jul 16, 2013 5:20 am

Phase says this is the best card to use with Capture 7

http://blog.phaseone.com/2013/06/27/pro ... ure-one-7/

Recommended graphics and acceleration cards for “Best Performance”
As of June 25, 2013 using one of these GPU cards will experience the very best performance:
Mac: Windows:
AMD HD7950 AMD HD7970 GHz edition

so what's up?
dale11833
 
Posts: 247
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 9:44 pm
Location: L.A. CA

Re: SAPPHIRE HD 7950 3GB GDDR5 MAC Edition & CO 7.13

Postby Toby6 » Fri Jul 19, 2013 12:57 am

I'm having the same issue. As soon as I turn on Open CL with my new Saphire AMD card I get problems.
If its just set to auto for processing it just seems to stop processing. If I switch to screens for auto then it crashes my machine. I can move the mouse around, but Nothing responds to any clicking by the mouse.
Toby6
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 1:08 am

Re: SAPPHIRE HD 7950 3GB GDDR5 MAC Edition & CO 7.13

Postby Rdiger5 » Fri Jul 19, 2013 9:26 am

Toby6 wrote:I'm having the same issue. As soon as I turn on Open CL with my new Saphire AMD card I get problems.
If its just set to auto for processing it just seems to stop processing. If I switch to screens for auto then it crashes my machine. I can move the mouse around, but Nothing responds to any clicking by the mouse.


So, I'm not alone ;-) In the mean time I tested different openCl benchmark apps, all with the the same results: the HD7950 in side my MacPro 3.1 is performing great!
Only CO 7.13 crashes… I uploaded all crash-log's 5 days ago inside my support case, unfortunately you guys at PhaseOne keep quiet ...
Rdiger5
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 6:21 pm

Re: SAPPHIRE HD 7950 3GB GDDR5 MAC Edition & CO 7.13

Postby Studio_N » Wed Jul 24, 2013 4:06 pm

Same issue here. Opened a case. It appears to be an issue with version 7.1.3. Version 7.1.2 works normally with the 7950, though speed doesn't seem to be a great improvement over the 5780. Hopefully 7.1.4 will resolve the issue and increase the speed.
Studio_N
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 10:11 pm

Re: SAPPHIRE HD 7950 3GB GDDR5 MAC Edition & CO 7.13

Postby Rdiger5 » Thu Jul 25, 2013 2:33 pm

dear customer support,
your last post came 13 days ago... I sent you logfiles and test results, but you keep quiet. why?
Rdiger5
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 6:21 pm

Re: SAPPHIRE HD 7950 3GB GDDR5 MAC Edition & CO 7.13

Postby Christian Gruner » Thu Jul 25, 2013 3:11 pm

We have identified an issue where a combination of 10.8.4 and the 7950 would fail the OpenCL kernel compilation.

This is fixed for the next release of CO.

Work-arounds:
- Disable OpenCL
- Use CO 7.1.2
- Use another card-model
Christian Gruner
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 1832
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 9:48 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: SAPPHIRE HD 7950 3GB GDDR5 MAC Edition & CO 7.13

Postby rapdigital » Wed Jul 31, 2013 4:32 am

Have you guys tested the gtx 680 for Mac much?
rapdigital
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
 
Posts: 185
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2009 1:52 pm

Re: SAPPHIRE HD 7950 3GB GDDR5 MAC Edition & CO 7.13

Postby Philip B » Wed Aug 07, 2013 2:36 pm

I too bought a Sapphire HD 7950 Mac Edition. When I fitted it to my Mac Pro (mid 2010) it blew the computer completely. There was nothing wrong with the card but three separate experts have said they think the extra power requirement triggered what was probably an existing fault on the logic board. So I have been without a desktop for nearly a month and have now had to buy a new one.
Philip B
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 2:31 pm

Re: SAPPHIRE HD 7950 3GB GDDR5 MAC Edition & CO 7.13

Postby NN634813062048528057UL » Thu Aug 22, 2013 1:24 pm

Bought it on your advice! Best card for mac and C1 7!!! Now all sucks!! crashes and what not! When is an update coming??!

Please!! I want to switch from lightroom, but performance suck on my macpro 2010. Even my new airbook is faster... :-(
NN634813062048528057UL
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 9:10 am

Re: SAPPHIRE HD 7950 3GB GDDR5 MAC Edition & CO 7.13

Postby guille231 » Sun Sep 01, 2013 11:49 am

HI,
I´m working with SAPPHIRE HD 6570 2GB GDDR3 inside a MacPro 2008 3,1 successfully together with CO 7.13.
Regards
guille231
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 8:20 am

Re: SAPPHIRE HD 7950 3GB GDDR5 MAC Edition & CO 7.13

Postby NNN634316215482575846 » Thu Sep 12, 2013 12:06 am

Just installed a Sapphire 7950 mac and it caused the machine to freeze with a 5.1 Mac Pro running 10.8.4 and C1 7.1.3. After reading above I downgraded to C1 7.1.2 and so far everything works like a charm. C1 is much more responsive, than with the 5770 that came with the machine, scrolling in an image creates no lag and the sliders adjust in real time.

Tech support was no help, they replied that the card was not on the approved list, said nothing about a known bug with 7.1.3 and Mac 10.8.4. They told me to contact Apple and Sapphire. I sure am glad I found this thread, I was ready to send the card back.
NNN634316215482575846
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 7:52 am

Re: SAPPHIRE HD 7950 3GB GDDR5 MAC Edition & CO 7.13

Postby Drew » Thu Sep 12, 2013 8:35 am

NNN634316215482575846 wrote:...
Tech support was no help, they replied that the card was not on the approved list...


Looking at the case, we mentioned it was not on the RECOMMENDED list. There is a big difference.
We also said that this card should certainly work but, as Apple controls the drivers and the Mac 10.8.4 update made changes to the Graphics Drivers, it would behoove you to contact them to assist in resolving the conflict.
Drew
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 4370
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2008 2:34 pm
Location: Copenhagen, DK / NY, NY

Next

Return to Capture One 8.x and 7.x Software



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests