Catalina OS

Discussions, questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One PRO, Capture One PRO For Sony / Fujifilm, Capture One DB and Capture One Express For Sony / For Fujifilm 12.x

Re: Catalina OS

Postby alececco » Wed Oct 09, 2019 3:57 pm

Sure would be nice to hear from Phase One. It's not like Apple didn't release betas for the last 4 months and provided all sorts of engineers to solve whatever problems. The least they could say it works or not work! simple. Monopoly is good and it allows you not to care much for the consumer but sure wish someone is working for a real C1 competition....
alececco
 
Posts: 215
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 9:39 pm
Location: Rio De Janeiro/Milano

Re: Catalina OS

Postby SFA » Wed Oct 09, 2019 4:04 pm

SFA
 
Posts: 7275
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:32 pm

Re: Catalina OS

Postby fatihayoglu » Wed Oct 09, 2019 6:19 pm

unfortunately they cannot test if CO works on beta or not as Apple (or any other OS provider) can/might/tend to change the codes on the last release. So PO can test on Beta 11 however GM or public version might be different which requires further tweak.

I remember, there was a MS Office issue back then when the whole suit was working fine on all the betas but was broken on the public release.

So it is not PO fault, as even Adobe (which is much bigger with vast resources) or MS have these issues.
Last edited by fatihayoglu on Thu Oct 10, 2019 11:54 am, edited 1 time in total.
fatihayoglu
 
Posts: 244
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 5:57 pm

Re: Catalina OS

Postby cespenar » Thu Oct 10, 2019 11:44 am

Hi, I'd like to report that I have no issues whatsoever with Capture One on Catalina on MBPro 13 (2019). I don't shoot tethered though, so I can't say anything about that.
cespenar
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2016 1:24 pm

Re: Catalina OS

Postby efradera » Thu Oct 10, 2019 3:33 pm

No issues on iMac 2013 late (no tethering, just normal worlkflow C1+PS).

Wacom tablets only works in Catalina with last Wacom firmware
User avatar
efradera
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2019 9:24 pm

Re: Catalina OS

Postby Emile » Thu Oct 10, 2019 6:39 pm

cespenar wrote:Hi, I'd like to report that I have no issues whatsoever with Capture One on Catalina on MBPro 13 (2019). I don't shoot tethered though, so I can't say anything about that.


Same experience here including not shooting tethered. If anything, my laptop feels just a bit faster than before.
Emile
 
Posts: 185
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 2:01 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Catalina OS

Postby coffeeandmakeup » Fri Oct 11, 2019 10:17 pm

So I use both a Canon 70D and 80D tethered. The 70d tethers just fine but the 80d will not. So strange.

Update 80D was on firmware 1.01 and I updated to 1.02 and it worked. Mojave worked find with 1.01
coffeeandmakeup
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2016 8:15 am

Re: Catalina OS

Postby PSS » Sat Oct 12, 2019 12:36 am

like i said before, i have been running catalina betas for weeks, C1 and all adobe software has been running with zero issues, tethering with sony A7RIII and RX1RII works perfectly, i made a system backup on an external drive with carbon copy cloner, installed the beta over that and ran all my software for a few days, no issues, so i made the switch final....
this is on a 2016 mpb and things are slightly smoother now....
the developer releases have been out for months, tons of small developers are coming out with their upgrades right away, phase can't? not sure i get it but i guess C1 is made for workstations and people who are not worried about having the latest notes and iTunes updates.....
either way C1 is probably due for a big update anyway, i am really, really hoping for an iPadOS version as well that works with a desktop version (not capture pilot)
PSS
 
Posts: 216
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2004 2:47 am
Location: LA

Re: Catalina OS

Postby alececco » Sat Oct 12, 2019 9:29 am

Phase will NOT certify C1 12 ever on Catalina but ..... C1 13 will be certified :D same modus operandi like every year. C1 11 was never officially certified on Mojave but it worked but C12 was the officially certified version....


PSS wrote:like i said before, i have been running catalina betas for weeks, C1 and all adobe software has been running with zero issues, tethering with sony A7RIII and RX1RII works perfectly, i made a system backup on an external drive with carbon copy cloner, installed the beta over that and ran all my software for a few days, no issues, so i made the switch final....
this is on a 2016 mpb and things are slightly smoother now....
the developer releases have been out for months, tons of small developers are coming out with their upgrades right away, phase can't? not sure i get it but i guess C1 is made for workstations and people who are not worried about having the latest notes and iTunes updates.....
either way C1 is probably due for a big update anyway, i am really, really hoping for an iPadOS version as well that works with a desktop version (not capture pilot)
alececco
 
Posts: 215
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 9:39 pm
Location: Rio De Janeiro/Milano

Re: Catalina OS

Postby Nightjar » Mon Oct 14, 2019 11:10 pm

PSS wrote:either way C1 is probably due for a big update anyway, i am really, really hoping for an iPadOS version as well that works with a desktop version (not capture pilot)


If they won't come out with a iPadOS version would make me very much doubt this company!
Nightjar
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2017 7:02 pm

Re: Catalina OS

Postby anderl » Tue Oct 15, 2019 2:42 pm

heres my story from today with catalina and c1 support:

hello there,
im running the latest c1 version on my macpro (late 2013) running catalina.
attached is a 30tb promise raid.
all read rights under privacy are correct set.
overnight i rerendered all preview pics in a smaller size- i guess 2880 or so.... all worked just fine this morning.
i added new files to the library.
since it is a pain to scroll thru year groups i tried to swithc off both accelerations under preferences.
my library ceashes since then.
i also did a backup of my library this morning and tried to start this back up - it opned shortly and since then it also keeps crashing.
i can create a new catalogue though.
please be so kind and advise me what to do.
the library contains roughly 28000 pics.
mostly shot with my fuji gfx 50s
please help.
i am kind of in a state pf panic ;)
thx!
here s the latest crash report:
......

answer:

Jack (Capture One)
Oct 15, 14:45 CEST
Hi there,

At the moment we only support Mac OS builds up to 10.14.5 as expressed in our release notes.

With regards to when support is coming for Mac OS Catalina - we cannot comment on future releases.

However, we are of course aware of the new update from Apple and continue to work hard on ensuring that this OS is supported in an upcoming release.

Given this, I cannot troubleshoot your issue further as your unsupported operating system could be causing the issues you have outlined. Particularly the crash scenarios.







Kind regards,
Jack - Capture One Support
We encourage you to browse our Help Center for detailed product documentation, helpful pro tips, and much more

......



i cant help to read the reply like: we dont give a f.

meanwhile i solved the issue by creating a new catalogue and importing the backup into it.

right now c1 is fast as never before....
User avatar
anderl
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 2:41 am
Location: munich

Re: Catalina OS

Postby Michael6111 » Tue Oct 15, 2019 3:47 pm

Catalina is officially out.. Will Capture One Run on it? Will there be an update?
Thanks,
Michael
Michael6111
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 7:29 pm

Re: Catalina OS

Postby anderl » Tue Oct 15, 2019 4:34 pm

Michael6111 wrote:Catalina is officially out.. Will Capture One Run on it? Will there be an update?
Thanks,
Michael


dude, reading helps.
User avatar
anderl
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 2:41 am
Location: munich

Re: Catalina OS

Postby SFA » Tue Oct 15, 2019 4:41 pm

anderl wrote:heres my story from today with catalina and c1 support:


i cant help to read the reply like: we dont give a f.

meanwhile i solved the issue by creating a new catalogue and importing the backup into it.

right now c1 is fast as never before....


Then I think your interpretation is wrong.

The message is consistent with previous Apple OS releases for several years.

From memory there was one release some years back when the C1 team (and a few other developers across the Applesphere) had their updates ready to go on the day of release based on the final beta ... and proudly announced that to the world only to run into problems that made their claims look like outright lies. It took a couple of weeks of fire fighting to come to the realisation that the release and the final beta were different - quite considerably different.

Sadly Microsoft seems to have adopted some rather similar strategies. It's not just an Apple attribute.

Which is why you received the message you received.
SFA
 
Posts: 7275
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:32 pm

Re: Catalina OS

Postby anderl » Tue Oct 15, 2019 8:04 pm

there was no interpretation. its just what happened to me and i didnt like the stone cold reply. i also dont read 5000pages of terms of services when signing up to amazon.... i dont need to i know right away i am screwed.

i have tons of backups in all possible ways. so im good.
reason i posted this is just to let a few people know there are possible issues with upgrading to catalina. thats it. cheers.
User avatar
anderl
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 2:41 am
Location: munich

PreviousNext

Return to Capture One 12.x Software



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests