Photo Mechanic Capture One 12 Workflow

General discussion regarding photography practices and Capture One workflow as well as integration with third party applications.
Please DO NOT post to this thread regarding OS specific concerns or questions.
Forum rules
For the sake of being thorough, please remember to note if you are using Mac or Windows.
Hopefully this will keep any confusion to a minimum.

Photo Mechanic Capture One 12 Workflow

Postby NNN636947061456454754 » Wed May 29, 2019 12:43 pm

I am a freelance photographer working in the Australian News Media Industry. I am seriously considering moving to Capture One 12 from Adobe. I like the option of owning the licence outright compared to having to pay Adobe's monthly subscriptions.The organisation I mainly work for use Photo Mechanic which I have for many years.I am after any feedback from anyone who uses Photo Mechanic with Capture One 12 in their workflow. I understand there is a steep learning curve with Capture One but if my research proves fruitful I'm willing to have a crack.
Many Thanks
NNN636947061456454754
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 29, 2019 6:55 am

Re: Photo Mechanic Capture One 12 Workflow

Postby Stephen_C » Wed May 29, 2019 4:08 pm

I am a mere amateur but have used PM for a number of years and a couple of years ago moved from Adobe Lightroom to Capture One (for exactly the reason you mention). I recently upgraded PM 5 to PM 6 and am now using the beta version of PM 6+ (which incorporates the cataloguing software). I love the way PM simplifies and speeds addition of metadata before ingesting into Capture One.

For a long time I thought that PM hierarchical keywords were not working in Capture One but recently I've discovered they do work—it's just that they appear as a single keyword and you don't see the hierarchy itself until you mouse over them in Capture One. Everything else seems to work perfectly, in terms of intergration of the two apps.

I should perhaps say that for the past 14 months or so I've been shooting with, first, a Leca Q and, now, a Leica Q2—so my experience is primarily with the DNG files from those cameras. I also have a Canon 1DX Mk II but have not had occasion to use that intensively with the two apps. (I was tending to import those images direct into Capture One and cannot now recall if there was some problem with the interaction with PM, or whether it was merely that I thought hierarchical keywords were not working and at that time never fully resolved the issue.)

Sorry for the rather long-winded reply!

Stephen
Stephen_C
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2017 10:50 am
Location: London, UK

Re: Photo Mechanic Capture One 12 Workflow

Postby NNN636947061456454754 » Wed May 29, 2019 11:58 pm

Many thanks Stephen.I don't know if many photographers have made the move from Adobe to Capture One.How how you found the learning curve for Capture One? The other main reason for myself in contemplating the move is due to its library/catalogue system.
NNN636947061456454754
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 29, 2019 6:55 am

Re: Photo Mechanic Capture One 12 Workflow

Postby Stephen_C » Fri May 31, 2019 2:49 pm

NNN636947061456454754 wrote:Many thanks Stephen.I don't know if many photographers have made the move from Adobe to Capture One.How how you found the learning curve for Capture One? The other main reason for myself in contemplating the move is due to its library/catalogue system.


The first thing to say is that Capture One imported my Lightroom database quite well with very few problems. The learning curve for Capture One can be quite steep but it's fine if you start just with some of the basics (like auto adjustment, renaming, entering keywords and metadata). After you feel comfortable with things like that you can move on to other things like the gradient mask (which I find very useful for landscape work) and layers generally.

The videos at the Capture One learning hub (https://learn.captureone.com/) are really helpful. Personally, I would not go back to Lightroom.

Stephen
Stephen_C
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2017 10:50 am
Location: London, UK

Re: Photo Mechanic Capture One 12 Workflow

Postby NNN636947061456454754 » Sat Jun 01, 2019 11:47 am

Great....thanks for the advice....like many things....as long as one is prepared to put in the time and effort...rewards should come!!!
Cheers
Ian
NNN636947061456454754
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 29, 2019 6:55 am

Re: Photo Mechanic Capture One 12 Workflow

Postby NNN636947061456454754 » Sun Jun 02, 2019 12:27 pm

Stephen....just wondering about the upgrades?? I am looking at purchasing the Licence which is close to $500.00 Australian , however the software seems to upgrade each year...Capture 10...then Capture 11 now Capture 12. I think....to upgrade is about another $150.00 Australian.....I think??? So if after one year say....that's about $650.00 to be up to date?? Or....the updates available ( not upgrades ) are free I believe?? And are the updates of any benefit?? Hope this makes sense but don't want to change from Adobe to Capture One if it is going to put me out of pocket so to speak in comparison to Adobe over the short to long run ??
Cheers
Ian
NNN636947061456454754
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 29, 2019 6:55 am

Re: Photo Mechanic Capture One 12 Workflow

Postby Ian3 » Sun Jun 02, 2019 3:29 pm

The updates (for instance from one release of version 12 to another release of version 12) are indeed free and they are worth doing because they bring things like new features, support for new cameras or lenses and bug fixes.

Ian
Ian3
 
Posts: 2975
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 3:52 pm
Location: Bristol, England

Re: Photo Mechanic Capture One 12 Workflow

Postby Stephen_C » Sun Jun 02, 2019 9:29 pm

There is a pretty full explanation of the Capture One update and upgrade policy in this knowledge base article:

https://www.phaseone.com/en/Search/Article?articleid=2259&languageid=1

Stephen
Stephen_C
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2017 10:50 am
Location: London, UK

Re: Photo Mechanic Capture One 12 Workflow

Postby NNN636960668235298845 » Fri Jun 14, 2019 11:43 pm

I am using Photo Mechanic 6 too like probably many LR users, it is possible import all changes from PM to C1?
If not, pls which one? its there some comparison table?

I am really interesting about this topic because I think ADOBE LIGHTROOM has about two disadvantages if I compare with C1
something in LR is very slow and MUST HAVE monthly subscription
(but to be fair C1 cost like nearly 1,5? years LR subscription)


yet I started today 1st time C1 DEMO
(+ maybe in future there will be 3rd advantage if C1 include Liquify tool or Liquify layer and then probably I don't need PS)
but
I thing more important than all tools is SPEED - how FAST is possible to finish editing raw files
Its there some video LR vs C1 how fast is possible to edit 3 different photos?

((I am real beginner but Looks like many simple things in C1 takes much more time than in LR, but I start with demo C1 today))




----
(sorry my english is not probably too nice)
NNN636960668235298845
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2019 12:53 am


Return to Workflow and Common Photography Exploration



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests