12.0.2 and moving across different mount points

Discussions, questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One PRO, Capture One PRO For Sony / Fujifilm, Capture One DB and Capture One Express For Sony / For Fujifilm 12.x for Mac

12.0.2 and moving across different mount points

Postby gullevek » Sat Feb 16, 2019 6:38 am

It seems the latest version has problem moving (not copying) files across mount points (different partition, external disk, networks share).

Moving on the same disk/partition works perfectly fine.
User avatar
gullevek
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 2:50 pm
Location: Tokyo, Japan

Re: 12.0.2 and moving across different mount points

Postby Ian3 » Sat Feb 16, 2019 9:07 am

Where are you trying to move to and from? Catalog or session? It has always been the case that if you drag and drop from within the Library tool from one drive to another, it copies not just moves. (Exception: using the move to Selects function, which should move not copy.) But on the same drive, it should always move not copy.

Ian
Ian3
 
Posts: 2635
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 3:52 pm
Location: Bristol, England

Re: 12.0.2 and moving across different mount points

Postby gullevek » Sun Feb 17, 2019 6:58 am

Session. I know the default move and I do the same thing as in 12.0.1. And I get a move error. Copy works fine. Move works on the same partition.
User avatar
gullevek
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 2:50 pm
Location: Tokyo, Japan

Re: 12.0.2 and moving across different mount points

Postby Ian3 » Sun Feb 17, 2019 10:26 am

Ah. I haven’t actually had occasion to do such a move since getting 12.0.2.

Ian
Last edited by Ian3 on Mon Feb 18, 2019 3:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Ian3
 
Posts: 2635
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 3:52 pm
Location: Bristol, England

Re: 12.0.2 and moving across different mount points

Postby DBMoore » Sun Feb 17, 2019 3:41 pm

This am the day after I installed 12.02 I found that I had some images in side my catalog that I was not expecting. Probably my error. However i could not move the files to my external Drobo. I verified my trusty three years old catalog and it got into a loop of transferring data and did not stop.
Oh Joy!
DBMoore
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2014 8:56 pm

Re: 12.0.2 and moving across different mount points

Postby DBMoore » Sun Feb 17, 2019 4:03 pm

Ok I got my catalog to Verify OK. However moving files from "In Library" to Drobo is a no go, I get the message that this is a move and do I want to continue...I click yes...then no move. Suggestions?
DBMoore
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2014 8:56 pm

Re: 12.0.2 and moving across different mount points

Postby SFA » Sun Feb 17, 2019 6:58 pm

NNN635395821784104056 wrote:Ok I got my catalog to Verify OK. However moving files from "In Library" to Drobo is a no go, I get the message that this is a move and do I want to continue...I click yes...then no move. Suggestions?



Create a Support Case to get the Support Team to look at the problem.


Grant
SFA
 
Posts: 6450
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:32 pm

Re: 12.0.2 and moving across different mount points

Postby gullevek » Mon Feb 18, 2019 3:37 am

I already created a support case with them about this
User avatar
gullevek
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 2:50 pm
Location: Tokyo, Japan

Re: 12.0.2 and moving across different mount points

Postby SFA » Mon Feb 18, 2019 6:32 am

gullevek wrote:I already created a support case with them about this


The more examples of the problem that can be investigated the better the outcome is likely to be.



Grant
SFA
 
Posts: 6450
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:32 pm

Re: 12.0.2 and moving across different mount points

Postby Ian3 » Mon Feb 18, 2019 3:39 pm

Ian3 wrote:Ah. I haven’t actually had occasion to do such a move since getting 12.0.2.

Ian

And now that I have tried to do a move under 12.0.2, I get the same problem. I'll submit a support case later.

Ian
Ian3
 
Posts: 2635
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 3:52 pm
Location: Bristol, England

Re: 12.0.2 and moving across different mount points

Postby DBMoore » Mon Feb 18, 2019 4:11 pm

Report submitted!
DBMoore
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2014 8:56 pm

Re: 12.0.2 and moving across different mount points

Postby Ian3 » Mon Feb 18, 2019 6:55 pm

I have reported this too.

Ian
Ian3
 
Posts: 2635
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 3:52 pm
Location: Bristol, England

Re: 12.0.2 and moving across different mount points

Postby NNN636029044314114414 » Fri Mar 08, 2019 8:11 pm

Hello
I've reported this too
Especially blocking for me. I have a "work" folder on a SSD, with internal PCI-E accelerated card. And a data HD that is for archival and storing already done pictures...
NNN636029044314114414
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2016 6:27 pm

Re: 12.0.2 and moving across different mount points

Postby NN635680879799322049UL » Sat Mar 09, 2019 5:08 am

I believe the issue is not about copying images to various albums. This works as it always has.

However, in version 12.0.2, you can no longer move a referenced file from a folder on one drive to a folder on another drive, or move images imported into the catalog to a referenced file folder located on a drive different than the catalog. I reported this about a week after version 12.0.2 came out. The support team confirmed that this is a bug that will be corrected in the next service release.

Meanwhile, you can:
1. Revert to version 12.0.1 (support staff recommendation)
2. Move the catalog to the same drive as the referenced files if you want to import to the catalog and then move the image file to a referenced location on that drive. Support staff agrees this will work and it does for me. However, it is not useful for those with referenced files located on different drives.
3. Import images to a folder on the drive where you want to locate them as referenced files and if desired, move them to the desired folder on that drive (this was the method I found most straightforward).

Jerry C
NN635680879799322049UL
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Sun May 24, 2015 7:12 pm

Re: 12.0.2 and moving across different mount points

Postby Nature Isme » Sat Mar 09, 2019 5:16 pm

My catalog is on a different drive than the referenced files and so far I haven't seen any problems importing from a camera card to a folder on the referenced files' drive. Haven't tried moving referenced files to other drives, though.
Nature Isme
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Thu May 16, 2013 5:32 am


Return to Capture One 12.x Software for Mac



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests