Media Pro and Apple High Sierra OS

Discussions about Phase One Media Pro and Media Pro SE

Media Pro and Apple High Sierra OS

Postby C-F » Sat Jul 01, 2017 4:02 pm

Hello,

I just noticed on my MacBook Pro System information that Media Pro SE is listed as a 32bit application.
I also read, that the new upcoming Mac OS will be phasing out all support of 32bit apps within ONE year of its release.

I wonder if there are plans to maintain Mac compatibility or its development will be discontinued at that point?

Just trying to find out if its time to 'phase out' its useful integration in my workflow.
What do you think will happen? - Thanks for any comments.
C-F
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2011 6:34 pm

Re: Media Pro and Apple High Sierra OS

Postby syncrasy » Sat Jul 01, 2017 8:50 pm

CF wrote:I just noticed on my MacBook Pro System information that Media Pro SE is listed as a 32bit application.
I also read, that the new upcoming Mac OS will be phasing out all support of 32bit apps within ONE year of its release.


You must have missed my earlier thread on this same topic:
"Request: 64-bit version of Media Pro"

CF wrote:I wonder if there are plans to maintain Mac compatibility or its development will be discontinued at that point?


Phase One will not comment on future development plans.

CF wrote:Just trying to find out if its time to 'phase out' its useful integration in my workflow.


Why? Media Pro is still the best standalone DAM available, and I continue to use it even though it forces me to use a slightly more complicated workflow than I would prefer. (Capture One's catalogue is not an equal replacement, and I don't like Lightroom.) I could be wrong, but my understanding is that porting a software program from 32 bit to 64 bit isn't very complicated, so Phase One should be able to do it within the next two years. I intend to keep lobbying Phase One to continue developing Media Pro and keep making improvements.
— Mark
Camera & Computer: Nikon D500, D7100 • Mac Pro (mid 2010), various OSs
DAM: Media Pro SE
Image Editors: Nikon Capture NX 2, NX-D • Photoshop CS6

(as of 2018)
syncrasy
 
Posts: 382
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 6:05 am
Location: USA

Re: Media Pro and Apple High Sierra OS

Postby C-F » Sat Jul 01, 2017 11:19 pm

Thanks for your reply,

Yes, I missed that post, sorry!
It seems indeed to be 'complicated' to transform a 32bit sw to 64bit - especially one as multifaceted as Media Pro.

I am aware of Phase Ones (understandable) policy of 'no comment' - but this is user to user and I was wondering what other Mac users are thinking and planning on doing

I also agree that C1 catalog 'is not there yet' as a DAM - ergo I only use C1 in session mode. I don't like LR either.
Meanwhile, for ease of use, I have all my images (on and off line) on neofinder but I am (time permitting) continuously testing and learning the workings of my copy of Media Pro SE. Both programs have their pros and cons and I am just wondering if my efforts into MP are futile in the long run - hope that answers the why of my question(s).
C-F
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2011 6:34 pm

Re: Media Pro and Apple High Sierra OS

Postby syncrasy » Sat Jul 01, 2017 11:38 pm

Ah, okay. I understand. I've been using iView/EM/Media Pro for over 10 years and have invested thousands of hours into my catalog, so switching would be painful for me. But if you're just starting out, I can see why you would hesitate. Many others have gone over to Lightroom or Photo Supreme or are struggling with C1 catalogs. I don't know if there's a definitive answer for your situation. I'm not very familiar with NeoFinder. Do you know enough about it to make a short pro/con list?
— Mark
Camera & Computer: Nikon D500, D7100 • Mac Pro (mid 2010), various OSs
DAM: Media Pro SE
Image Editors: Nikon Capture NX 2, NX-D • Photoshop CS6

(as of 2018)
syncrasy
 
Posts: 382
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 6:05 am
Location: USA

Re: Media Pro and Apple High Sierra OS

Postby C-F » Mon Jul 03, 2017 1:28 pm

Sorry for the delay, but I was traveling...

I will think about the pro/con list and will post back as soon as I can.
Thanks for your patience!
C-F
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2011 6:34 pm

Re: Media Pro and Apple High Sierra OS

Postby roberte » Sat Jul 08, 2017 2:35 am

For better or worse iView MediaPro/ Expression Media/ Media Pro offers several exit strategies. The easiest is to write metadata (Export Annotations) to the file or XMP sidecar file. Any decent DAM app will read the metadata. Export to XML is more difficult but does let you edit fields (search and replace) to match the new app.

If you use Media Pro Sets it's best to move that info to Keywords or Hierarchical Keywords then Export Annotations. There are scripts to do that, or if you only have few dozen Sets drag and drop works too.
roberte
 
Posts: 162
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 9:24 am

Re: Media Pro and Apple High Sierra OS

Postby NNN634579196254916651 » Mon Dec 11, 2017 10:09 pm

syncrasy wrote:Ah, okay. I understand. I've been using iView/EM/Media Pro for over 10 years and have invested thousands of hours into my catalog, so switching would be painful for me. But if you're just starting out, I can see why you would hesitate. Many others have gone over to Lightroom or Photo Supreme or are struggling with C1 catalogs. I don't know if there's a definitive answer for your situation. I'm not very familiar with NeoFinder. Do you know enough about it to make a short pro/con list?


Have been using iView MediaPro since maybe 2006(?). Almost gave up on it after the Microsoft takeover. You mentioned Photo Supreme, which I am seriously considering. Given PhaseOne's hesitance at upgrading iView to 64bit, Supreme could be the answer. As a standalone app, one would think idimager.com will have a strong interest in keeping their software current. Anyone have any info on Photo Supreme in-comparison to MediaPro?
NNN634579196254916651
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 4:53 pm

Re: Media Pro and Apple High Sierra OS

Postby C-F » Tue Dec 12, 2017 3:25 am

Anyone have any info on Photo Supreme in-comparison to MediaPro?


Well, I tried it about a year and a half ago - short answer, I did not have a good experience.
Lots of problems with Metadata in my NEF files, they even extended the trial period for another term but in the end I was told that ONLY Adobe entered the IPTC and xmp info correctly into the files even questioning the validity of Nikons own exif data (I was and still am using Photo Mechanic for that) and all the others did it wrong and that is why I had problems in implementing Photo Supreme functionality.
But reading the forums there, there are a lot of 'satisfied' customers, so you just have to get the trial version and see if it suits your needs and integrates with your workflow.
C-F
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2011 6:34 pm

Re: Media Pro and Apple High Sierra OS

Postby syncrasy » Tue Dec 12, 2017 6:11 am

NNN634579196254916651 wrote:Anyone have any info on Photo Supreme in-comparison to MediaPro?


I too tried it, but it was over three years ago. I didn't use it long enough to get a full understanding of it, but my initial impression was that PSu was less sophisticated than Media Pro in keywording tools, clunkier in its UI (why have a tab called "Catalog"? The software is the catalog!), and it lacked HTML gallery generation tools.

I also looked at NeoFinder's feature list and concluded it didn't suit my needs either.

Staying with Media Pro for as long as I can.
— Mark
Camera & Computer: Nikon D500, D7100 • Mac Pro (mid 2010), various OSs
DAM: Media Pro SE
Image Editors: Nikon Capture NX 2, NX-D • Photoshop CS6

(as of 2018)
syncrasy
 
Posts: 382
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 6:05 am
Location: USA


Return to Media Pro and Media Pro SE



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron