All image adjustments lost.

Discussions, questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One PRO, Capture One PRO For Sony / Fujifilm, Capture One DB and Capture One Express For Sony / For Fujifilm 12.x for Windows

All image adjustments lost.

Postby NN636780420206718893UL » Thu Jan 24, 2019 7:10 am

Help please, i was "tinkering" with setting up catalogs and i accidentally cleared all of the images from my library. When I re imported the images all of the adjustments were lost. Note that none of the images have been moved or renamed on the hard drives.
Thanks in advance
NN636780420206718893UL
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2018 10:00 am

Re: All image adjustments lost.

Postby IanS » Thu Jan 24, 2019 9:02 am

NN636780420206718893UL wrote:Help please, i was "tinkering" with setting up catalogs and i accidentally cleared all of the images from my library. When I re imported the images all of the adjustments were lost. Note that none of the images have been moved or renamed on the hard drives.
Thanks in advance


When you remove / delete images from the catalogue that is what you do. So naturally you also lose your adjustments as you have effectively told the catalogue to forget about the images.

Ian
IanS
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 5:46 pm

Re: All image adjustments lost.

Postby Paul_Steunebrink » Thu Jan 24, 2019 9:51 am

Didn't they went to the Catalog trash? If so, you can retrieve them from there.

Another option is to restore a catalog database backup. If you did not specifically made a backup from within Capture One, you could fall back on a general back, if you have that.
Best regards,
Paul E. Steunebrink, Image Alchemist (website All about Capture One), Capture One trainer
User avatar
Paul_Steunebrink
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
 
Posts: 9488
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: All image adjustments lost.

Postby NNN636460165578985672 » Mon Jan 28, 2019 6:18 am

If you just 'deleted' them, then they are in the catalog trash - you could have just done a Ctrl-Z.

If you then went to the trash and removed them from the library, then actually the adjustments are still on your drive (some chance that C1 would actually clear some space by deleting them - masks can add up on a lot of images), but they are not associated with the file anymore, so when you re-import there is no association.

Also, yea, backup anything important or time consuming as you are doing it - either automated or with software that you just click occasionally to copy to a separate drive. SincBackFree is well free, but can be set up to do this. So as I'm editing, I just click a backup every 10-15 mins to copy the new files and catalog to by D drive.
NNN636460165578985672
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2017 6:02 pm


Return to Capture One 12.x Software for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: NNN636442823308421079 and 2 guests