Catalog Cache Size 58GB!

Discussions, questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One PRO, Capture One PRO For Sony / Fujifilm, Capture One DB and Capture One Express For Sony / For Fujifilm 12.x for Mac

Catalog Cache Size 58GB!

Postby NNN637015957060230701 » Tue Oct 15, 2019 5:34 am

The cache size of the particular catalog on my Mac is a large 56GB (21,000 images) and the cache size of the same backup catalog on another HD is 115MB. Why the enormous discrepancy.
NNN637015957060230701
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2019 12:41 am

Re: Catalog Cache Size 58GB!

Postby Eric Nepean » Tue Oct 15, 2019 6:07 am

Sounds like an awfully big Cache.That's an awfully big catalog file.

Does this catalog have image files stored inside the catalog?

How many total images in this catalog?
Eric Nepean
 
Posts: 614
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2014 8:02 am
Location: Ottawa

Re: Catalog Cache Size 58GB!

Postby fatihayoglu » Tue Oct 15, 2019 7:59 am

Catalog cache has previews of the images while backup does not have, that’s the main reason of the difference.

While ago, I have requested a new feature for the catalogs a bit like Lightroom. Preview which are not accessed for a while should be deleted automatically. You can do that by yourself as well. I did so, otherwise my cache file for 38000 photos with max preview resolution would be 100GB.
fatihayoglu
 
Posts: 234
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 5:57 pm

Re: Catalog Cache Size 58GB!

Postby NNN637015957060230701 » Tue Oct 15, 2019 12:29 pm

Thanks for the replies.

It seems there are duplicate RAW and TIFF files in the cache preview folder in the catalog with the .dop suffix taking up the space. Can I delete those or get Capture One to delete with no ill effects?

Many thanks.

matt
NNN637015957060230701
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2019 12:41 am

Re: Catalog Cache Size 58GB!

Postby tenmangu81 » Tue Oct 15, 2019 2:17 pm

Hi Matt,

Are you sure the suffix is .dop ? Or rather .cop. In the last case (.cop), this is a preview.
As far as I am concerned, I had recently a problem with my full catalog and had to regenerate it. All the previews were lost, but it was not so bad, in the end : I have made C1 rebuild only the ones I was interested in, e.g. my last pictures. The previews of old pictures were not regenerated, as I didn't need them, but I know that if, by chance, I need one, C1 will rebuild it at once. The result of this was that my catalog deflated like a balloon..... from 80 GB (22,000 images) to less than 10 GB !!

Robert
tenmangu81
 
Posts: 861
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 6:33 pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: Catalog Cache Size 58GB!

Postby NNN637015957060230701 » Tue Oct 15, 2019 4:09 pm

Thanks Robert.

You're right .cop not .dop.

Cool, that's what i'll do then when I have finished with this catalog, i'll dump the previews and regenerate then when I return to it.

Many thanks again.

Matt
NNN637015957060230701
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2019 12:41 am


Return to Capture One 12.x Software for Mac



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests