Kodachrome 64 Preset

Discussions, questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One PRO, Capture One PRO For Sony / Fujifilm, Capture One DB and Capture One Express For Sony / For Fujifilm 12.x for Mac

Kodachrome 64 Preset

Postby happymac » Sat Sep 14, 2019 11:14 am

Did anyone try to simulate the colors of Kodachrome 64?
I'm just looking for this type of film, that's why I'm hesitating to buy a complete style pack.
User avatar
happymac
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon May 29, 2017 12:39 am

Re: Kodachrome 64 Preset

Postby LarsH » Sat Sep 14, 2019 11:22 am

LarsH
 
Posts: 143
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2018 12:46 pm
Location: Berlin, Ger

Re: Kodachrome 64 Preset

Postby tenmangu81 » Sat Sep 14, 2019 11:47 am

I don't read German, unfortunately, but this link seems to point only to LR/ACR presets, and consequently won't be valid for Capture One.
DxO published a "FilmPack" application some years ago, which still works on my computer, even though I haven't used it extensively for a long time. But you need then to export your image as a tiff using the plug-in, and consequently to leave the workflow.

There are some Capture One presets imitating films, but they don't have any explicit names, and you'll have to identify the one which would correspond the best to what you are looking for.

Robert
tenmangu81
 
Posts: 866
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 6:33 pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: Kodachrome 64 Preset

Postby happymac » Sat Sep 14, 2019 12:03 pm

Lars & Robert,

Thank you for your replies and your help. I'm a member of the Leica forum as well and tried the link a few weeks ago. As you mentioned, Robert, it does not work with C1. The offered film pack of C1 does not specify, which films are simulated, therefor I declined an order. :(

All the best,
Tom
User avatar
happymac
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon May 29, 2017 12:39 am

Re: Kodachrome 64 Preset

Postby Uwe-R-from-Btown » Fri Sep 27, 2019 5:17 pm

I won´t buy a style film pack either, instead would have a look at some of these LUTs out there or (and this is by far the cheapest) try by yourself to recreate the look with curves and color balance. If you adjust each color in curves and adjust colorbalance for each highlights/blacks/midtones you should be pretty well. Of course you´ll also adjust the grain as well to your needs/quality/pixel dimensions/etc which is not possible with styles.
All of these (except the grain) and save it as a style so you can easily use it as often as wanted.

For me personally, all these styles are kind of tiring - me I like to concentrate on my images and adjust as needed, this changes from month to month and from year to year (in my case only, maybe) and from case to case.
BTW, I heard that Alien Skin has this particular film style - not approved yet, but, …
I did not check so far, if DXO provides that, too but will, later this week (today is Friday, I know).

Be aware, that, if you have a closer look at LUTs, it has to have the ending name-of-the-LUT.costyle - otherwise you cannot import into Capture One, as far as I understood the tutorials from Alex.
There´s also a 3D-LUT-creator out there, depends on your needs, if you want to purchase this?

Kind Regards,
Uwe
Uwe-R-from-Btown
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2019 1:33 pm

Re: Kodachrome 64 Preset

Postby happymac » Mon Sep 30, 2019 9:48 pm

Uwe,

Thank you very much.

I havn‘t heard about LUT until your post. I‘ll try to adjust color in curves and highlights/blacks/midtones. I wonder if I can achieve the genuine Kodachrome 64 look, but I‘ll try my very best.

All the best
Tom
User avatar
happymac
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon May 29, 2017 12:39 am

Re: Kodachrome 64 Preset

Postby Uwe-R-from-Btown » Tue Oct 01, 2019 8:04 am

If you search in Ecosia (some people out there still search in google-have no idea why) for "LUT for Kodakchrome 64" , you´ll get some ideas about it. There´s one: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wj8GGsl2Kh8 , that shows how to do a certain style in Affinty Photo, from what I saw, this all can be done in Capture One as well.
There´s also one to buy that certain LUT: https://sellfy.com/p/BhI7/ , but have not checked it.
LUTs are mostly used with film/movies but getting more and more used in photos as well, so i recommend to check this out . If you know how Kodakchrome 64 looks like (because you have an image in "original" and "Kodak")(BTW, one can still purchase Kodakchrome 64), you may get it with C!, I guess. From a phylosophical point, it might be super important how far you come to the Kodakchrome 64 as this film also changed from chargenumber to chargenumber and from hoe the film was handled overall, …?

It might be worth a feature request to integrate LUTs into C1, maybe a webinar about how to create a LUT (which is possible in PS and might be in Affinty Photo).

You may also have a deeper look here: https://www.gavingough.com/store/kodachrome
He writes some important details about Kodakchrome, which are quite interesting.

Kind Regards,
Uwe
Uwe-R-from-Btown
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2019 1:33 pm

Re: Kodachrome 64 Preset

Postby Uwe-R-from-Btown » Tue Oct 01, 2019 1:27 pm

I tried some of these free LUTs from some websites, I mentioned earlier here - at least one difference between settings, that could be done by us "normal" users and the styles, created with/by/from LUTs, one can still edit all settings - most of them are set to "0", except for some colorbalance. So those styles are more like a global beginning, like it is really done with a film, instead of digitals. Keep in mind, that styles also could be set for layers, so by editing the opacity, you have even more control over those styles, which is nice of course.

I must admit, that I didn´t get the info from your link: student-login.info? What was that for? I was not able to find something helpful for us?

Kind Regards,
Uwe
Uwe-R-from-Btown
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2019 1:33 pm

Re: Kodachrome 64 Preset

Postby SFA » Tue Oct 01, 2019 1:46 pm

Uwe-R-from-Btown wrote:
I must admit, that I didn´t get the info from your link: student-login.info? What was that for? I was not able to find something helpful for us?

Kind Regards,
Uwe


It may be some sort of spam site. The post you refer to looks somewhat like the product of a robotic spam post generation tool.
SFA
 
Posts: 6981
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:32 pm

Re: Kodachrome 64 Preset

Postby Uwe-R-from-Btown » Tue Oct 01, 2019 2:42 pm

SFA wrote:[quote="Uwe-R-from-Btown"
It may be some sort of spam site. The post you refer to looks somewhat like the product of a robotic spam post generation tool.


Well, it´s the address you wrote here. If it is spam, you may edit it in your post?
Or the admin does it?

Kind Regards,
Uwe
Uwe-R-from-Btown
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2019 1:33 pm

Re: Kodachrome 64 Preset

Postby Ian3 » Tue Oct 01, 2019 2:47 pm

It wasn't SFA's post that the spam link was in! (By the way, I had already reported the post, so hopefully they will get round to removing it.)

Ian
Ian3
 
Posts: 3096
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 3:52 pm
Location: Bristol, England

Re: Kodachrome 64 Preset

Postby SFA » Tue Oct 01, 2019 3:33 pm

Uwe-R-from-Btown wrote:
SFA wrote:[quote="Uwe-R-from-Btown"
It may be some sort of spam site. The post you refer to looks somewhat like the product of a robotic spam post generation tool.


Well, it´s the address you wrote here. If it is spam, you may edit it in your post?
Or the admin does it?

Kind Regards,
Uwe


Uwe,

I just copied the content from your post to make it easier to view what I was referring to. And I am pleased to see that that is not an active link.


Ian3,

I did check whether it had been reported already and saw that it had. ;)



Grant
SFA
 
Posts: 6981
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:32 pm

Re: Kodachrome 64 Preset

Postby Uwe-R-from-Btown » Tue Oct 01, 2019 4:03 pm

Thx Ian3.

Kind Regards,
Uwe
Uwe-R-from-Btown
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2019 1:33 pm

Re: Kodachrome 64 Preset

Postby happymac » Tue Oct 01, 2019 8:12 pm

Thank you, Uwe for your further informations.
I'll have a closer look to them after my trip to Madrid this week. :D

All the best
Tom
User avatar
happymac
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon May 29, 2017 12:39 am

Re: Kodachrome 64 Preset

Postby Uwe-R-from-Btown » Wed Oct 02, 2019 6:41 am

Oh, you do some Empanadas and Tapas, I hope? Try "Orucho", if possible (it is more towards the Basque country? … :D )
The movie about Daniel Arnold is gorgeous btw to say the least: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OtKdzBCRlPE
It makes one go out, grab the camera and do some street-work. :lol:

This "sudent-info" link is still there, the moderator put away the wrong link, i guess.

Kind Regards,
Uwe
Uwe-R-from-Btown
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2019 1:33 pm

Next

Return to Capture One 12.x Software for Mac



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Emile and 7 guests