Wacom tablet not working

Discussions, questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One PRO, Capture One PRO For Sony / Fujifilm, Capture One DB and Capture One Express For Sony / For Fujifilm 12.x for Mac

Wacom tablet not working

Postby MikeKG » Sat Jun 29, 2019 12:13 am

Is anyone else having issues with their wacom tablet not working properly?? I have tried the tablet in Photoshop & in Lightroom and it works fine, I have a Intuos Pro S. I am really disappointed with C1's support and will not be paying anymore for this product until I see some of the issues addressed and in fact I am learning LR in case I need to abandon the software which is something I thought I would never do. Anyways I have deleted and upgraded my Wacon software only to realize it is a C1 issue. Let me know what problems you are having.
Mike (long time user)
User avatar
MikeKG
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 4:11 am

Re: Wacom tablet not working

Postby LarsH » Sat Jun 29, 2019 5:58 am

Hi, my Wacom is CTL-471, no problem with C1-12 pro and mac. Reg., lars
LarsH
 
Posts: 143
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2018 12:46 pm
Location: Berlin, Ger

Re: Wacom tablet not working

Postby Nature Isme » Sat Jun 29, 2019 4:18 pm

I'm using a PTH-651 on various Macs with Sierra and Mojave and have no problems.

Have you recently upgraded the Wacom driver? (they've released 2 updates fairly recently) And if you upgraded, did you follow Wacom's instructions and uninstall the old driver first? (that could be the problem; see below)

If so, did you logoff/on or restart your computer afterwards?

If so, have you gone into the Wacom pref pane and verified that your settings are still there?

Several years ago I discovered that uninstalling the old driver per Wacom's instructions also uninstalls its user prefs, which of course contain all your app settings. When you logout or restart, you're left with a totally clean, dumb tablet. And if you don't logout after installing, the new driver doesn't seem activated.

My solution that works every time is to make a copy of my Wacom prefs before updating the driver. Then, after doing the update and BEFORE logging out, I copy the original prefs back into the Prefs folder. Then logout and back in again. Works like a charm.

If you do an uninstall, upgrade, and then restart as Wacom says to do, simply copy your old prefs back after the system comes back up, logout and log back in and you should be fine.

The other thing I've found is that it's 'usually' not necessary to uninstall the driver before upgrading. I think that the reason Wacom recommends this is that there were some serious issues with driver updates several years ago, and the workaround was to do a clean install.
Nature Isme
 
Posts: 248
Joined: Thu May 16, 2013 5:32 am

Re: Wacom tablet not working

Postby MikeKG » Sat Jun 29, 2019 5:12 pm

Wacom works fine in Light Room
User avatar
MikeKG
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 4:11 am

Re: Wacom tablet not working

Postby Christian Gruner » Sat Jun 29, 2019 10:07 pm

What is the issue you are experiencing?
Christian Gruner
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 1832
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 9:48 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: Wacom tablet not working

Postby MikeKG » Mon Jul 01, 2019 5:09 pm

read my first post should explain the issues
User avatar
MikeKG
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 4:11 am

Re: Wacom tablet not working

Postby MikeKG » Mon Jul 01, 2019 5:11 pm

no touch features or scrolling works, pen works better but no touch features there either
User avatar
MikeKG
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 4:11 am

Re: Wacom tablet not working

Postby Nature Isme » Mon Jul 01, 2019 5:18 pm

Adobe supports Wacom tablets better than C1 does. For example, Adobe takes advantage of the pen's tilt angle whereas C1 doesn't. My experience with the pen is that C1 supports pressure nicely and understands the pen and eraser ends of the pen, but that's it. I don't use my tablet's touch features, so can't comment on those.

I'd suggest that you contact Phase One Support if you haven't already, and ask them if C1 supports touch features. If they said it does, then they should be able to help you figure out what's going on with your setup.
Nature Isme
 
Posts: 248
Joined: Thu May 16, 2013 5:32 am

Re: Wacom tablet not working

Postby MikeKG » Mon Jul 01, 2019 6:30 pm

I will uninstall all Wacom and reload the update and see if that helps
User avatar
MikeKG
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 4:11 am

Re: Wacom tablet not working

Postby Nature Isme » Mon Jul 01, 2019 9:16 pm

Before you do that, read my post above about saving the current preferences. If you use Wacom's Uninstall utility everything including your app settings will be deleted.
Nature Isme
 
Posts: 248
Joined: Thu May 16, 2013 5:32 am

Re: Wacom tablet not working

Postby MikeKG » Tue Jul 02, 2019 2:45 am

Did all that still not working, pem works ok just no touch options
User avatar
MikeKG
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 4:11 am

Re: Wacom tablet not working

Postby Tim Trim » Tue Jul 02, 2019 4:20 am

There is an article on Wacom site covering this issue I believe. Related to the last update of 10.14. You need to go to the security and privacy settings and enable Wacom entries. Just in case that applies here.

https://www.wacom.com/en-in/support?gui ... Id=014-512
Tim Trim
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2018 12:27 pm

Re: Wacom tablet not working

Postby NNN635511069230756845 » Tue Jul 02, 2019 4:38 am

You are not alone and neither installing the latest Capture One 12 or Wacom Driver and Software solves the issue including following the suggested uninstallation steps.

Basically everything works fine until launching the Capture One and trying to perform the scrolling in the image section, the Tap to Click function become none existence across software and Mac OS until system restart.
NNN635511069230756845
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2014 6:15 am

Re: Wacom tablet not working

Postby NNN635511069230756845 » Tue Jul 02, 2019 5:16 am

My current solution after many hours of trial and error is to reinstall earlier Version of Capture one 12.0 and Wacom Intuos Pro to 6.3.34-2.

To achieve this you need to have backup of old Capture one Catalogue if you are using it to organized and edit your photos.
NNN635511069230756845
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2014 6:15 am

Re: Wacom tablet not working

Postby MikeKG » Wed Jul 10, 2019 1:55 am

I am disappointed in Phaseone for not addressing this very important issue
User avatar
MikeKG
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 4:11 am

Next

Return to Capture One 12.x Software for Mac



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests