Upgrading to 12.0.1

Discussions, questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One PRO, Capture One PRO For Sony / Fujifilm, Capture One DB and Capture One Express For Sony / For Fujifilm 12.x for Mac

Upgrading to 12.0.1

Postby NNN636806701045444139 » Wed Jan 30, 2019 6:17 pm

Can some one pls tell Capture ONe that they need to improve their intuitiveness for UI.

I am running v12. when I open C1, I get a message alert saying that Service Release 12.0.1 is out - that its free and I should upgrade.
Clicking on that link takes me to a page which gives me options - but does not show the 12.0.1 option. All options are paid options to upgrade.

Has someone here upgraded to 12.0.1 - if yes, can they pls help with the steps.
NNN636806701045444139
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 8:01 pm

Re: Upgrading to 12.0.1

Postby SFA » Wed Jan 30, 2019 6:24 pm

NNN636806701045444139 wrote:Can some one pls tell Capture ONe that they need to improve their intuitiveness for UI.




Why not send your own message using the Support Case option?

Cut and paste what you typed here to save time.
SFA
 
Posts: 6168
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:32 pm

Re: Upgrading to 12.0.1

Postby uboruta » Wed Jan 30, 2019 7:29 pm

Go to your account - go to "Download a trial" - download your version (Capture One Pro/Fuji/Sony - install the download - ready. So did I.

Best wishes
User avatar
uboruta
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2018 12:20 pm

Re: Upgrading to 12.0.1

Postby NNN636806701045444139 » Wed Jan 30, 2019 8:52 pm

Thanks guys. So i did send a note to support. Here was the experience I was hoping for:

1. Open Capture One
2. Get message about version 12.0.1
3. Select to approve upgrade
4. Current binaries are upgraded to 12.0.1
5. Restart application

Instead what we have is :
1. We download a net new binary for the upgrade
2. We install the new binary = 12.0.1
3. We activate the new download.
4. This now counts towards your activation license.
5. Delete your old v12 binary
6. Deactivate your old v12 binary
7. Your new v12.0.1 binary should count towards your activation.

This was my first upgrade and it felt pretty disjointed. My 2c
NNN636806701045444139
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 8:01 pm

Re: Upgrading to 12.0.1

Postby Emile » Wed Jan 30, 2019 9:30 pm

Simply replace the old binary with the new one and open it. It's still on the same activation, no hassle. Used to be a time most updates on a Mac were handled that way. Yes, an in-app update procedure would be preferable, but you don't need all the extra steps you're taking. HTH!
Fujifilm, Mac, Capture One user since v3.0
Emile
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 2:01 pm
Location: New York

Re: Upgrading to 12.0.1

Postby NNN636806701045444139 » Thu Jan 31, 2019 5:27 am

Hi Emile,

Thanks for your help. When you say simply replace the binary - can you pls explain.
Once I get the .dmg file and start the installation , it asks me for a location - are you saying simply choose the location of the Old Capture one and when it says replace, accept that option?

Doing it the way I did it - i had to delete my old activation.

Cheers and thanks again.
NNN636806701045444139
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 8:01 pm

Re: Upgrading to 12.0.1

Postby Ian3 » Thu Jan 31, 2019 9:46 am

NNN636806701045444139 wrote:Hi Emile,

Thanks for your help. When you say simply replace the binary - can you pls explain.
Once I get the .dmg file and start the installation , it asks me for a location - are you saying simply choose the location of the Old Capture one and when it says replace, accept that option?

Doing it the way I did it - i had to delete my old activation.

Cheers and thanks again.

Yes, you just download the .dmg file and install it in the usual way. Accept replacing the existing app, and you should be good to go, without having to fuss with activations, licences and so on.

Ian
Ian3
 
Posts: 2429
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 3:52 pm
Location: Bristol, England


Return to Capture One 12.x Software for Mac



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests