Library Needs Serious Development

Discussions, questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One PRO, Capture One PRO For Sony / Fujifilm, Capture One DB and Capture One Express For Sony / For Fujifilm 12.x for Mac

Library Needs Serious Development

Postby NN636722249866834366UL » Sun Dec 09, 2018 5:59 pm

Capture One's library pales in comparisons to the usability and design of Lightroom. From what I've seen of C1 12. no effort was made to update the Library at all. PhaseOne needs to focus serious development efforts in this area. Here's some of the changes that would make using the library and C1 generally much better:

1. Ability to view photos in subfolders when higher level folder selected with image count on highest level folders. Highest level folders should have all the functionality of its subfolders, including search.
2. Seamless scroll through library from one image to next after viewing an image without having to select another image before scrolling to next image.
3. Viewer needs improvement. Make viewer a grid by default with browser as filmstrip by default with option to have browser on/off or bottom/side (so that the viewer itself is viewable as a grid, rather than hiding the grid and displaying the browser as a grid in its place).
4. Problems with scanned black and white images that are tif (no retouching capabilities, limited metadata, cannot apply ratings, no watermark previews)
5. When selecting multiple images, it would be nice to see up to 24 or 36 images or even more images in viewer mode at once instead of just 9. This would make editing much easier.
6. Clear, sharp image previews. Lightroom does it and so can C1.
7. Ability to go negative on shadows/blacks.
8. Exported catalogs should show the same file structure as original catalog (rather than only having “In Catalog” available with no folders listed)
9. No nesting of exported images inside one self-contained exported catalog file. Keep images and their structure separate from exported catalog file.
10. Bulk add metadata (captions, etc).
NN636722249866834366UL
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 2:09 am

Re: Library Needs Serious Development

Postby syncrasy » Sun Dec 09, 2018 6:45 pm

I started a similar list of C1 DAM demands in the Media Pro subforum, but I don't use C1 so you found many items I was not aware of. I would also suggest you send your list to Support to document it officially.

But, given the extensive list of flaws, it's very unlikely that C1 will become a true DAM comparable to Media Pro (or Lightroom or Aperture for that matter) in the next two years (my deadline for an MP replacement), so I'll likely stop updating my list in the near future as I transition away from Phase One.
Last edited by syncrasy on Sun Dec 09, 2018 7:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
— Mark
Camera & Computer: Nikon D500, D7100 • Mac Pro (mid 2010), various OSs
DAM: Media Pro SE
Image Editors: Nikon Capture NX 2, NX-D • Photoshop CS6

(as of 2018)
syncrasy
 
Posts: 377
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 6:05 am
Location: USA

Re: Library Needs Serious Development

Postby M_conn » Sun Dec 09, 2018 7:19 pm

Solid list. I'd like to see many of these as well. Especially #1, #2, #5, and #6 (please! horrible now in V12).
M_conn
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu May 04, 2017 2:22 pm

Re: Library Needs Serious Development

Postby NN636722249866834366UL » Tue Dec 11, 2018 7:36 pm

The ONLY reason I even use C1 is because the color rendition and some of the color tools are so much better than Lightroom. Lightroom color rendition is horrific. It's better in pretty much every other way. What other program program are you going to use and what's the color rendition like? Good idea to contact support.
NN636722249866834366UL
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 2:09 am

Re: Library Needs Serious Development

Postby syncrasy » Wed Dec 12, 2018 12:33 am

NN636722249866834366UL wrote:What other program are you going to use and what's the color rendition like?

Nikon software for raw NEFs. (Color rendition and overall quality are excellent right out of the box.) For everything else I use Photoshop.

But my needs are not the same as a typical C1 commercial shooter.
— Mark
Camera & Computer: Nikon D500, D7100 • Mac Pro (mid 2010), various OSs
DAM: Media Pro SE
Image Editors: Nikon Capture NX 2, NX-D • Photoshop CS6

(as of 2018)
syncrasy
 
Posts: 377
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 6:05 am
Location: USA

Re: Library Needs Serious Development

Postby Mark BCN » Thu Dec 13, 2018 5:47 pm

Yes, the DAM in CO is pretty poor. I can not fathom why engineering resource was directed at a rather pointless UI reskin given more pressing issues such as this.

Re (2), I am not sure what you mean by this? In my setup, I can use CMD with the left or right arrow keys to move the current image selection. It is similar to LR, although if a several images are selected the keys will only move through the selection.

Re (3), I have a keyboard shortcut assigned to toggle visibility of the image viewer. This way I can easily toggle between a single image or a large grid of images similarly to the way that LR provides separate library and develop tabs. It might also be possible to achieve something similar by switching workspaces, which would have the advantage of also changing the tool panels if needed.

For me, the most irritating issue with the DAM is the non-edit ability of many fields, which is a pain when working with film scans (not to mention the knowledge that CO’s “heritage edition” has better tools for film scanning - but at an astronomical price).
Mark BCN
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 6:47 pm

Re: Library Needs Serious Development

Postby NN245802UL » Fri Dec 14, 2018 12:51 am

I agree all the above and add:
1 Metadata: Why the tokens in drop down in "Content Headline" or "Category Content" are in alphabetical sort but other metadata sections are unsorted like "Suplementary Category" or "IPTC Scene"
How to search a token in a section with 150 unsorted tokens?
How Phase One think the way to use it?

2 Inside any section in metada tab, why not to change directly the token and that will change all images containing this token in tha metadata (Like Media Pro do). This method sorten mantenance time a lot and over all : avoid mistakes
NN245802UL
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 12:02 pm

Re: Library Needs Serious Development

Postby Emile » Fri Dec 14, 2018 1:43 am

Let me add my +1 to the sentiment.

I was particularly p****d off when PhaseOne shut down support and development of Media Pro. I’d been using it since it was called iView, then was part of Microsoft and finally went to PhaseOne. I was hopeful it would be in good hands or would get integrated in C1. Alas, it lacked attention.

Then they released v2 and I thought it might finally get the attention it needed so I paid up immediately. Alas, even after paying for basically a non-update it was lagging many months behind C1 updates and never really caught up. It was utterly frustrating and money *totally* wasted and we never even got an apology. When they shut it down I removed Media Pro *and* C1 from my computer and got a subscription with Adobe.

Anyway, I’m back, but the frustration over the whole Media Pro debacle remains. They should really up their game and take the Library up to 2018 standards. I’m truly happy with the many, many qualities of C1 but this here remains a sore spot...
Fujifilm, Mac, Capture One user since v3.0
Emile
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 2:01 pm
Location: New York

Re: Library Needs Serious Development

Postby NN636722249866834366UL » Fri Dec 14, 2018 3:34 am

RE 2 I'm not even sure how to explain this because their terminology is confusing, but I'm talking about when you have a large image selected (I think it's called zoom?) with the viewer on the right or bottom. Rather than just begin to scroll from the smaller thumbnail image (in the viewer) of its large (zoomed) image, you have to move your mouse over another thumbnail image in the viewer and click it in order to be able to fo continuous scrolling from one image to the next. Hope that makes sense! Anyway LR organically starts to scroll from the thumbnail of the large selected image without having to first select another thumbnail first.
NN636722249866834366UL
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 2:09 am

Re: Library Needs Serious Development

Postby cdc » Fri Dec 14, 2018 6:34 am

NN636722249866834366UL wrote:RE 2 I'm not even sure how to explain this because their terminology is confusing, but I'm talking about when you have a large image selected (I think it's called zoom?) with the viewer on the right or bottom. Rather than just begin to scroll from the smaller thumbnail image (in the viewer) of its large (zoomed) image, you have to move your mouse over another thumbnail image in the viewer and click it in order to be able to fo continuous scrolling from one image to the next. Hope that makes sense! Anyway LR organically starts to scroll from the thumbnail of the large selected image without having to first select another thumbnail first.


If you get in the habit of always using the cmd+arrows then you will be able to seamlessly scroll through your images whether you have clicked out of the browser or not.
cdc
 
Posts: 444
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2015 12:15 am


Return to Capture One 12.x Software for Mac



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests