Grey Scal Shortcut

Discussions, questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One PRO, Capture One PRO For Sony / Fujifilm, Capture One DB and Capture One Express For Sony / For Fujifilm 12.x for Mac

Grey Scal Shortcut

Postby NNN636737354638489021 » Thu Dec 06, 2018 11:48 am

Could someone point out in the shortcut menu where I can assign a character to show the mask in greyscale form please?
NNN636737354638489021
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2018 1:44 pm

Re: Grey Scal Shortcut

Postby SFA » Thu Dec 06, 2018 12:34 pm

Alt + M


If you want to change that and you are using V12, the Keyboard short cut editor is on the Edit drop down menu.

HTH.

Grant
SFA
 
Posts: 5636
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:32 pm

Re: Grey Scal Shortcut

Postby NNN636737354638489021 » Thu Dec 06, 2018 8:38 pm

Thanks but I knew that and I am asking for the directions to navigate through the menu to the Greyscale shortcut to re-assign it.
NNN636737354638489021
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2018 1:44 pm

Re: Grey Scal Shortcut

Postby SFA » Fri Dec 07, 2018 1:27 am

The use of M to toggle the mask on and off in the layer tool is not a user editable option.

Maybe there is some technical constraint or it is felt it simply makes sense when working with a feature like layers. If so constraining the ability to edit the associated switch to the Grayscale version of the mask seems logical.

If you think there is a good reason to change the way it works your best option is to create a Support Case and propose the change. That way there is an official record of the request and the level of interest can be assessed by the management team.

It might be a good idea to describe a use case for the change.

HTH.


Grant
SFA
 
Posts: 5636
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:32 pm

Re: Grey Scal Shortcut

Postby Nature Isme » Fri Dec 07, 2018 2:40 am

I think you may have just found a bug that I missed. In v11 I'd assigned Opt-m to the grayscale mask, so it's easy for me to toggle among mask/grayscale mask/hide mask, and the shortcut still works in v12 (Phase One, please don't change this!).

But when I go into v12's Shortcut Editor and search for "mask", the grayscale mask doesn't come up in the list. Nor does it come up when I search for "opt-m" as a command. And it doesn't appear in the "Summarize" list. Really odd.

I think I need to file a Support request and hope that it's an oversight rather than a deliberate decision.
Nature Isme
 
Posts: 172
Joined: Thu May 16, 2013 5:32 am

Re: Grey Scal Shortcut

Postby Ian3 » Fri Dec 07, 2018 9:49 am

Nature Isme wrote: In v11 I'd assigned Opt-m to the grayscale mask, so it's easy for me to toggle among mask/grayscale mask/hide mask, and the shortcut still works in v12 (Phase One, please don't change this!).

Isn't that the default shortcut?

Ian
Ian3
 
Posts: 2048
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 3:52 pm
Location: Bristol, England

Re: Grey Scal Shortcut

Postby NNN636737354638489021 » Fri Dec 07, 2018 10:59 am

I thought it was a default shortcut but it certainly doesn't work in my CO12. What I am asking for is a roadmap to the shortcut so I can assign a new one...Pete
NNN636737354638489021
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2018 1:44 pm

Re: Grey Scal Shortcut

Postby Ian3 » Fri Dec 07, 2018 12:05 pm

NNN636737354638489021 wrote:I thought it was a default shortcut but it certainly doesn't work in my CO12. What I am asking for is a roadmap to the shortcut so I can assign a new one...Pete

Pete - if you go to Edit>Edit keyboard shortcuts... what does it say in the drop-down list at the top of the dialog box? (Mine says Ian because I have saved some custom shortcuts.) If it says something other than Default, take note of what it says so that you can go back to it later if desired, then change it to Default. Do M for show mask and Alt-M for show greyscale mask work then?

Also, if you go to the Layers tool, and press and hold the paintbrush icon, you should see various options including Always show mask and show grayscale mask, with keyboard shortcuts shown alongside them. Do you see that, and what are the shortcuts shown?

Ian
Ian3
 
Posts: 2048
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 3:52 pm
Location: Bristol, England

Re: Grey Scal Shortcut

Postby SFA » Fri Dec 07, 2018 12:09 pm

NNN636737354638489021 wrote:I thought it was a default shortcut but it certainly doesn't work in my CO12. What I am asking for is a roadmap to the shortcut so I can assign a new one...Pete


Alt+M works on Windows so I would imagine Opt+M (If that is the equivalent) should work on Mac. Does M work to toggle the display of the selected layer mask on and off?

Grant
SFA
 
Posts: 5636
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:32 pm

Re: Grey Scal Shortcut

Postby Paul_Steunebrink » Fri Dec 07, 2018 2:19 pm

SFA wrote:Alt+M works on Windows so I would imagine Opt+M (If that is the equivalent) should work on Mac. Does M work to toggle the display of the selected layer mask on and off?

Yes, it is the same as Windows. And Opt+M, a.k.a. Alt+M on macOS is for the grayscale mask.
Best regards,
Paul E. Steunebrink, Image Alchemist (website All about Capture One), Capture One trainer
User avatar
Paul_Steunebrink
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
 
Posts: 9156
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Grey Scal Shortcut

Postby NNN636737354638489021 » Sun Dec 09, 2018 12:41 am

Thank you Ian and all. Yes I had inadvertently changed it when I customised my own list and back under control once again. Incidentally I really enjoy this version of Capture One and very glad of the update..Pete
NNN636737354638489021
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2018 1:44 pm


Return to Capture One 12.x Software for Mac



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Eric Nepean and 1 guest