Bridge stars and labels in C1

Forum for developers of plugins to Capture One

Bridge stars and labels in C1

Postby Ganjagoblins » Thu May 07, 2020 6:44 am

Hello,

New to the forum. Photographer based in Mexico City. Looked for this question on the forum but had no luck.
I shoot close to 10,000 photos for a clothing company 4 times a year. Images are used in print and digital.
The selection process is a bit tedious because lots of people are involved. So all photos must be sent to a team that selects and then they are sent back to me to develop and retouch. My problem is reading their ratings/colors in C1.

The current workflow is the following:
Shoot on set using CaptureOne. All photos get basic light and color adjustments.
JPGs are exported for team that selects. This team uses Bridge to add stars and color labels.
They return photos to me and I open them up in Bridge and filter stars/colors on one monitor, look for the RAWs in Capture1 on another monitor. As you can imagine, this is too time consuming. :(
It would be much simpler to only open C1 and be able to see the stars and colors.

Is there any way to read those stars/colors in Capture1?

Thank you so much for your help!

Hope all are doing well.

Giancarlo
Ganjagoblins
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2015 6:31 pm

Re: Bridge stars and labels in C1

Postby -KL- » Sun May 17, 2020 5:22 pm

Hello Giancarlo,

I trust you are well - apologies for the late reply, I just subscribed to the forum today and saw your post.

Stubborn clients wanting to edit on Bridge is a pleasure I encountered before as well ! I'm sure there is a million ways to deal with this, and I don't know of any easy and streamlined method to have a full round-trip workflow between the two platforms. I tried to sync back edits through embedded IPTC and sidecar XMPs before, but this proved to be unreliable at best on my side.

However, a second-pass editing on the RAWs in Capture One by looking up their selects image by image sounds way too painful...
Given the number of images you are dealing with, here is how I would do it in one pass :

1 ) When you receive your edited Jpegs back from the clients, open Bridge. Navigate to the root folder where all their edited images are.

2 ) Still in Bridge, go into the "View" menu, then make sure "Show Items from Subfolders" is checked. You should see all the subfolders and all your Jpegs appear.

3 ) We are now going to keep the rated / final images to send to retouch only. On the left side, make sure that :
- File Type -> JPEG File is checked;
- and Ratings -> Whatever rating or label they used for the selects is checked as well.

4 ) You should now have only the clients selects on display. Select all the images (CMD+A), then go into Tools -> Batch Rename. Under "Destination Folder", select "Copy to other folder", then "Browse". Select and remember carefully your destination, we will see why this is important in a minute.

Under "New Filenames", delete all the fields with the "-" icons on the right until you only have 1 field left.

Make sure this last field is setup like this : "Current Filename" -> "Name" -> "Original Case".

When you are sure everything is set up correctly, hit "Preview". You should see a complete filename list of all your selects. Then, select "Export to CSV".

5 ) In the destination you selected earlier, you should now have a .CSV file with the complete filenames list of your clients selects.
Open it either with Numbers or Excel. You will see there are 2 identical columns of filenames; delete one of them. Then, select the remaining list and copy it (CMD+C).

6 ) Open your Capture One session. If you put all your shots folders in Favorites, great. Go in your "All Images" smart folder, and wait for all the images to load. This may take a while. When you are certain all the images are loaded up, go into "Select -> Select By -> Filename List". In the next window, paste the filename list from your .CSV file. Don't forget to set Delimiter on "new line", and check "Ignore File Extension". Click on OK.

7 ) If everything did go according to plan, all of your Clients selects should now be selected in Capture One. You can now either copy them to a dedicated Selects folder, rate them, export them for post, etc.

8 ) If you did not use Favorites when you were shooting, no worries. You can simply go in each shot folder, and repeat step #6. Capture One will only select the Images it can find from the list and ignore the rest. A bit more repetitive tho.

9 ) Congrats, with a bit of luck you should be able to have some time for a beer at the end of the day :)

Feel free to ask if I can help with anything else.

Cheers,

Kev
-KL-
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2016 12:07 pm
Location: New York City

Re: Bridge stars and labels in C1

Postby Ganjagoblins » Mon May 18, 2020 8:54 pm

Hello Kevin!

Before anything, thank you so much for taking the time to write your answer so careful and dedicated.
Your solution sounds great and logical. I have not used these features before.
Our next shoot appears to be scheduled for the end of June. I will definitely apply this method.
Also, will try it with old files I have to makes sure I understand it well.
I Will let you know as soon as I have done it.

Thank you so much!

Giancarlo
Ganjagoblins
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2015 6:31 pm

Re: Bridge stars and labels in C1

Postby Jim_DK » Mon May 25, 2020 12:53 pm

As this is the SDK forum...

Bridge supports Extendscript (Javascript) within the Bridge SDK so you could theoretically design a script to get this file name list for you.

I found an existing example script pack in the Adobe marketplace: two of the scripts within it get you most of the way there - "FileNameToTitle" will parse file name to Title field in metadata and the other ("FolderListExport...") will export a folder list as .CSV (with the option to include Title) - with a bit of extra work you could get it talk to CO directly.

Might be worth a gander:
https://exchange.adobe.com/creativecloud.details.101130.utility-script-pack-for-bridge.html

/2c
Jim_DK
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 674
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2009 10:00 pm

Re: Bridge stars and labels in C1

Postby Ganjagoblins » Mon May 25, 2020 4:10 pm

Thank you!
Not much of a programmer even though I dabbed in C++ and Javascript as a teen!
Will talk about it with my IT buddies.

Best!
Ganjagoblins
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2015 6:31 pm


Return to Capture One Plugin SDK



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests