Media Pro refugees: What are our DAM demands?

Discussions, questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One PRO, Capture One PRO(For Sony), Capture One DB and Capture One Express(For Sony)012. x and 11.x

Re: Media Pro refugees: What are our DAM demands?

Postby tenmangu81 » Wed Aug 29, 2018 5:41 pm

syncrasy wrote:[*]Save Slide Show as Movie[/list]


Yes !! And edit an album or a picture set as a pdf file, as can be done in other software (no name...).
tenmangu81
 
Posts: 926
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 6:33 pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: Media Pro refugees: What are our DAM demands?

Postby Eric Nepean » Wed Aug 29, 2018 9:14 pm

syncrasy wrote:
Eric Nepean wrote:Capture One does not allow writing annotations by script (only reading) so those functions are not possible.


Writing/copying/moving annotations in batches I consider basic functions of any decent database, so not having those capabilities would be a deal breaker for me.


Last year CO didn't have annotations, they are new in CO 11.2.

If you are willing to be patient, and request features (the squeaky wheel gets the grease) then many of these features will likely appear.

But as of now, the short answer is that you have a deal breaker issue.
Eric Nepean
 
Posts: 637
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2014 8:02 am
Location: Ottawa

Re: Media Pro refugees: What are our DAM demands?

Postby SFA » Wed Aug 29, 2018 11:16 pm

Does the word "Annotations" have the same meaning in both applications?

Glancing at a Media Pro user guide I suspect not in terms of the long time use of the terminology in Media Pro.
SFA
 
Posts: 7545
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:32 pm

Re: Media Pro refugees: What are our DAM demands?

Postby syncrasy » Wed Aug 29, 2018 11:28 pm

SFA wrote:Does the word "Annotations" have the same meaning in both applications?

Glancing at a Media Pro user guide I suspect not in terms of the long time use of the terminology in Media Pro.


Good catch, SFA.


Eric N wrote:Last year CO didn't have annotations, they are new in CO 11.2.


Eric N, I think you might be mixing terminology. In CO the "annotations" feature added last year is in fact a "note pad" style collaboration tool. I think annotations as we know them in Media Pro (IPTC tags, keywords, etc.) are called "metadata" in CO.
syncrasy
 
Posts: 383
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 6:05 am
Location: USA

Re: Media Pro refugees: What are our DAM demands?

Postby Eric Nepean » Thu Aug 30, 2018 12:35 am

syncrasy wrote:
SFA wrote:Does the word "Annotations" have the same meaning in both applications?

Glancing at a Media Pro user guide I suspect not in terms of the long time use of the terminology in Media Pro.


Good catch, SFA.


Eric N wrote:Last year CO didn't have annotations, they are new in CO 11.2.


Eric N, I think you might be mixing terminology. In CO the "annotations" feature added last year is in fact a "note pad" style collaboration tool. I think annotations as we know them in Media Pro (IPTC tags, keywords, etc.) are called "metadata" in CO.

Indeed I did misunderstand the terminology. Capture Ones IPTC Tags and keywords are writeable and readable by Applescript; this is how I started using AppleScript when I was migrating from Aperture to Capture One.

It is also possible in CO to copy the IPTC Tags from an image and make a Metedata preset, and this preset can then be applied to one or many images (without a script). Keywords can also be manipulated for groups of images without a script.

One big gap that I see in Capture One is the ability to define image sequences; it exists only for Phase One cameras. I am working on a set of AppleScripts to extend that capability to other cameras.

I have asked that Capture One make those tags related to image sequence writeable by Applescript.
Eric Nepean
 
Posts: 637
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2014 8:02 am
Location: Ottawa

Re: Media Pro refugees: What are our DAM demands?

Postby Paul Dymond » Thu Aug 30, 2018 1:28 pm

I am a long time user of Media Pro, like many of you since the Expression Media days. A large part of my work is helping organisations organize their image libraries using Media Pro. I’m really in trouble now as no more Media Pro means no more cataloguing business. I see that Media Pro catalogs can be imported into Capture 1 but will all the Catalog Sets, and sunsets transfer across? This is the main function my clients use. I also use the software to find duplicates, and transfer all the keywords to an original high res file before deleting all the rest. Does anybody know if this is possible in CO? Other functions I always use are the email button and the Convert Image function. Are these in Capture One? See8ng as my whole business revolves around Media Pro I’m really panicking.
Paul Dymond
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 6:56 am

Re: Media Pro refugees: What are our DAM demands?

Postby Paul Dymond » Thu Aug 30, 2018 1:29 pm

Sorry, posting again to receive email updates
Paul Dymond
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 6:56 am

Re: Media Pro refugees: What are our DAM demands?

Postby SFA » Thu Aug 30, 2018 1:35 pm

Paul Dymond wrote:I am a long time user of Media Pro, like many of you since the Expression Media days. A large part of my work is helping organisations organize their image libraries using Media Pro. I’m really in trouble now as no more Media Pro means no more cataloguing business. I see that Media Pro catalogs can be imported into Capture 1 but will all the Catalog Sets, and sunsets transfer across? This is the main function my clients use. I also use the software to find duplicates, and transfer all the keywords to an original high res file before deleting all the rest. Does anybody know if this is possible in CO? Other functions I always use are the email button and the Convert Image function. Are these in Capture One? See8ng as my whole business revolves around Media Pro I’m really panicking.


Paul,

You really need to contact Phase directly if you have not already done so.

Unless you are a partner or have contact with a Phase partner I think your best bet would be to create a Support Case and ask to be put in touch with someone who can discuss your concerns.

Direct contact would be better if you have the information but if not finding the right person could be a challenge unless one of the Crew who are fairly frequent visitors here can help out.

HTH.

Grant
SFA
 
Posts: 7545
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:32 pm

Re: Media Pro refugees: What are our DAM demands?

Postby Paul Dymond » Thu Aug 30, 2018 1:53 pm

Thanks Grant, I have started a ticket but still wanted to reach out to the form as I knew it would be quicker, and hopefully people with experience with CO’s database capabilities might be able to help. If it was just me using the software I’d be happy to just keep on using Media Pro, but because I use it to create catalogs for clients, and can no longer do so, I’m just a little stressed. I’m supposed to have a big job start next week and have no idea what to do. I feel like Phase One has thrown us under a bus with no advance warning at all.
Paul Dymond
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 6:56 am

Re: Media Pro refugees: What are our DAM demands?

Postby Ian3 » Thu Aug 30, 2018 2:53 pm

Paul Dymond wrote:Thanks Grant, I have started a ticket but still wanted to reach out to the form as I knew it would be quicker, and hopefully people with experience with CO’s database capabilities might be able to help. If it was just me using the software I’d be happy to just keep on using Media Pro, but because I use it to create catalogs for clients, and can no longer do so, I’m just a little stressed. I’m supposed to have a big job start next week and have no idea what to do. I feel like Phase One has thrown us under a bus with no advance warning at all.

Of course, Media Pro won't stop working next week! My plan, I think, is to keep using MP while I can and while I get the hang of how C1 catalogs work. (I'm a Sessions user apart from a little experimenting with Catalogs.) And, you never know, the next iteration of C1 may come with some new catalog features - I certainly hope so.

Ian
Ian3
 
Posts: 3415
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 3:52 pm
Location: Bristol, England

Re: Media Pro refugees: What are our DAM demands?

Postby Eric Nepean » Thu Aug 30, 2018 3:25 pm

Hi Paul
Paul Dymond wrote:I am a long time user of Media Pro, like many of you since the Expression Media days. A large part of my work is helping organisations organize their image libraries using Media Pro. I’m really in trouble now as no more Media Pro means no more cataloguing business. I see that Media Pro catalogs can be imported into Capture 1 but will all the Catalog Sets, and sunsets transfer across?

Can you clarify what are Catalog Sets, and Sunsets? I'm wondering if you have nade a typo and are referring to Capture sets? but Sunsets?

Capture Sets might be an issue as the equivalent feature is currently only available in Capture One for PhaseOne cameras. But I have developed a workaround, and Capture One might decide to extend this feature to non-PhaseOne cameras. Some user Input to Capture One R&D would be valuable here.
This is the main function my clients use. I also use the software to find duplicates, and transfer all the keywords to an original high res file before deleting all the rest. Does anybody know if this is possible in CO?


Capture One is highly scriptable with AppleScript. Custom AppleScripts can can be imported into the Capture One Scripts menu. I have previously published an AppleScript for find duplicates, also one for mimicing the Capture Sets feature, and several other functions. Transferring keywords to original files should be quite possible with Applescript and a utility called EXIFtool. Might even be possible with COs built in Metadata Sync
Other functions I always use are the email button and the Convert Image function. Are these in Capture One?

CO has the ability to email a single image. An Applescript can doubtless be developed to email multiple images. A feature request here to Capture One might well have postive results.
I don't know what Convert Image does, but Capture One has an export feature with recipes that which will convert an editted image into any file type. Both export and import are scriptable.
Seeing as my whole business revolves around Media Pro I’m really panicking.

If you have any ability to handle scripting it would stand you in good stead to learn a little bit of AppleScript. Capture One has extensive and powerful Applescript features that continue to be developed.

(Check out the Phase One scripting forum)
Eric Nepean
 
Posts: 637
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2014 8:02 am
Location: Ottawa

Re: Media Pro refugees: What are our DAM demands?

Postby syncrasy » Thu Aug 30, 2018 3:49 pm

Just a quick terminology primer to make sure Media Pro and Capture One folks can talk to each other (if I missed any, let me know):

Annotations in MP = Metadata in CO
Notepad in MP = Annotations in CO (just a collaboration tool; nothing to do with metadata)
Catalog Sets in MP = User Collections: Albums in CO
(Controlled) vocabulary editor in MP = Keyword libraries in CO
Update folders in MP = Sync folders in CO
Reset paths in MP = Locate in CO
Convert Image Files in MP = Export variants in CO
Last edited by syncrasy on Tue Sep 11, 2018 5:56 am, edited 1 time in total.
syncrasy
 
Posts: 383
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 6:05 am
Location: USA

Re: Media Pro refugees: What are our DAM demands?

Postby Eric Nepean » Thu Aug 30, 2018 4:48 pm

That clarifies a lot.
Paul Diamond referrs to "sunsets" - any idea? Typo?
Paul Dymond wrote:I see that Media Pro catalogs can be imported into Capture 1 but will all the Catalog Sets, and sunsets transfer across?
Eric Nepean
 
Posts: 637
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2014 8:02 am
Location: Ottawa

Re: Media Pro refugees: What are our DAM demands?

Postby syncrasy » Thu Aug 30, 2018 4:56 pm

Eric Nepean wrote:That clarifies a lot.
Paul Diamond referrs to "sunsets" - any idea? Typo?
Paul Dymond wrote:I see that Media Pro catalogs can be imported into Capture 1 but will all the Catalog Sets, and sunsets transfer across?


Possibly he meant "subsets" but just a guess. (E.g., child Catalog Sets).
syncrasy
 
Posts: 383
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 6:05 am
Location: USA

Re: Media Pro refugees: What are our DAM demands?

Postby Eric Nepean » Thu Aug 30, 2018 5:46 pm

syncrasy wrote:
Eric Nepean wrote:That clarifies a lot.
Paul Diamond referrs to "sunsets" - any idea? Typo?
Paul Dymond wrote:I see that Media Pro catalogs can be imported into Capture 1 but will all the Catalog Sets, and sunsets transfer across?


Possibly he meant "subsets" but just a guess. (E.g., child Catalog Sets).

That makes sense. So Catalog sets and child Catalog sets.

That should all map pretty well to Capture One user collections and sub-collections. Have to adapt to the Capture One paridigm that you can't put an album inside another album, but you can put albums inside projects and inside groups.
Eric Nepean
 
Posts: 637
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2014 8:02 am
Location: Ottawa

PreviousNext

Return to Capture One 12.x and 11.x Software



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest