Phase One Sony Raw files and cos

Discussions, questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One PRO, Capture One PRO(For Sony), Capture One DB and Capture One Express(For Sony) 11.x for Mac

Phase One Sony Raw files and cos

Postby NNN636557240804858847 » Sat May 19, 2018 2:45 pm

Hi everyone,
i got some problems understanding how raw and cos files are generated in C1 Sony.
To understand what I want to do: Work with raw files at my laptop, generate jpgs and move both (raw + settings + jpg) to my NAS.

What I do is importing RAWs into capture one (sony 11.0.1.30). When I export the files (via Export/originals) I get RAWs + COS files. That is what I want.

But is there a way to get the COS files without generating a new file of the RAWs? I already have those files - I just need to copy them and need the settings (COS files). Other point – when I import the exported files again (RAW + COS) from my NAS (for changes etc.) it works fine. But when I make changes to settings, the COS files are not updated. I have to export Originals again to get new COS files (and then I get another copy of my RAWs).

Is there anything I am missing to get my COS updated? I would be really happy for any help – I got a bit frustrated about not figuring out how it works.
NNN636557240804858847
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2018 2:34 am

Re: Phase One Sony Raw files and cos

Postby HansB » Sat May 19, 2018 3:25 pm

I'll give it a try.

A remark first: when transferring adjustments, you may need to transfer more than the .cos files. Keep in mind that there can be masks (.comask) and LCC's (.lcc).

When exporting with adjustments, the .cos file reflects the adjustments at the moment of exporting. The .cos file will not be updated unless you edit the exported file itself in a session.

When processing from a session, a .cos file will be created whenever you export into one of the session folders (Favorite, Selects, Output.). Again, the .cos file will not be updated unless you edit the exported file itself in a session.

In a session, the corresponding .cos file for your image will be updated with each adjustment made.

A catalog doesn't update .cos files, because settings are stored in it's database.


Regards,
Hans
HansB
 
Posts: 892
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 2:59 pm

Re: Phase One Sony Raw files and cos

Postby NNN636557240804858847 » Sat May 19, 2018 4:40 pm

Thanks a lot Hans !
So, basically I got to switch to Sessions to get that what I want. I just saw that Sessions are not included in the Sony Version of C1. So I can stick with my workaround or get an upgrade and work with sessions.
Thanks again,
Joe
NNN636557240804858847
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2018 2:34 am

Re: Phase One Sony Raw files and cos

Postby RobiWan » Sat May 19, 2018 4:56 pm

NNN636557240804858847 wrote:What I do is importing RAWs into capture one (sony 11.0.1.30). When I export the files (via Export/originals) I get RAWs + COS files. That is what I want.


That is not possible. Its old feature request but since years nothing happens :(
RobiWan
 
Posts: 392
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2012 1:42 pm

Re: Phase One Sony Raw files and cos

Postby Christian Gruner » Sun May 20, 2018 11:10 am

RobiWan wrote:
NNN636557240804858847 wrote:What I do is importing RAWs into capture one (sony 11.0.1.30). When I export the files (via Export/originals) I get RAWs + COS files. That is what I want.


That is not possible. Its old feature request but since years nothing happens :(


That is absolutely possible and working :)
Test-Manager, Capture One, Phase One A/S
Christian Gruner
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 1828
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 9:48 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: Phase One Sony Raw files and cos

Postby RobiWan » Sun May 20, 2018 2:39 pm

@Christian,

Christian Gruner wrote:That is absolutely possible and working :)


For real? That would be new to me. Did you also read his question about this?

NNN636557240804858847 wrote:But is there a way to get the COS files without generating a new file of the RAWs?
RobiWan
 
Posts: 392
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2012 1:42 pm

Re: Phase One Sony Raw files and cos

Postby SFA » Mon May 21, 2018 4:58 pm

NNN636557240804858847 wrote:Thanks a lot Hans !
So, basically I got to switch to Sessions to get that what I want. I just saw that Sessions are not included in the Sony Version of C1. So I can stick with my workaround or get an upgrade and work with sessions.
Thanks again,
Joe


If you are using the free Sony Express version you are stuck with catalog use. Pro for Sony offers additional features and the option to use Sessions - which, judging from my brief scan of your questions and responses, is probably something you would prefer to use since, in effect, you would just be adding the edit information to your existing RAW files.

HTH.


Grant
SFA
 
Posts: 6618
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:32 pm


Return to Capture One 11.x Software



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron