Batch renaming origina files stopped

Discussions, questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One PRO, Capture One PRO(For Sony), Capture One DB and Capture One Express(For Sony) 11.x for Mac

Batch renaming origina files stopped

Postby NNN636574639761827944 » Fri Apr 20, 2018 3:19 am

Hi folks,

I'm down to the last few days of my month evaluation.

All of a sudden, C1 stopped batch renaming the original files. I can rename within C1, but not the originals.
As of April 11th, I was able to change the original file which is necessary for me. I have 4 decades of photos organized this way.

I checked and the primary and edited variants is still selected. I haven't changed my presets (for both import and the batch renaming) at all.

I'm new to the program so baffled.
I've checked youtube videos, but everything is explained at a top level (which is great), but I need something that says 'check these settings' first.

Cheers,
Brian
NNN636574639761827944
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2018 5:52 am

Re: Batch renaming origina files stopped

Postby Ian3 » Fri Apr 20, 2018 9:28 am

Session or catalog? And if catalog, are the images stored in the catalog (managed) or in their original locations (referenced).

Ian
Ian3
 
Posts: 2651
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 3:52 pm
Location: Bristol, England

Re: Batch renaming origina files stopped

Postby NNN636574639761827944 » Fri Apr 20, 2018 12:35 pm

Hi Ian,

I use a catalog with referenced images.
I import my images from the card to a folder on an external media server.
Folders are organized by year - month - date.
ie. 2018 > 4 April > 2018-04-20

Once I cull, I open C1 in which I've created the same folder structure where the years are catalogs (I think) and the months are groups and then the days are albums.

After I create the album, then I've been using the import button on the top left corner of the screen.

I'm on a Mac - High Sierra 10.13.4 and I just downloaded the latest C1 update to 11.1

I don't recall changing any settings in C1, but maybe I did without knowing what I did?

All I know is it worked on April 11th and when I tried for April 13th, it stopped renaming the original files.

Cheers,
Brian
NNN636574639761827944
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2018 5:52 am

Re: Batch renaming origina files stopped

Postby NNN636574639761827944 » Fri Apr 20, 2018 9:48 pm

Hi Ian,

I figured out my mistake - upon importing, I had accidentally chosen 'store in catalog' where before, I had them as referenced. Sorry about that - all previous imports were from their current location.

Whew!

Thanks for your help and taking the time. Sorry I'm a newbie, but give me time and I'll be rocking it.

Cheers,
Brian
NNN636574639761827944
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2018 5:52 am

Re: Batch renaming origina files stopped

Postby SFA » Fri Apr 20, 2018 9:57 pm

Brian,

Just for your relief ....

A new Point Release - e.g. a 11.1 rather than 11.0.1 - means a new 30 day clock starts so you have more time now to be sure about the answers to your questions.

HTH.


Grant
SFA
 
Posts: 6468
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:32 pm


Return to Capture One 11.x Software



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests