Fuji RAF: A lot of demosaicing artifacts - false moiré

Discussions, questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One PRO, Capture One PRO(For Sony), Capture One DB and Capture One Express(For Sony) 11.x for Mac

Fuji RAF: A lot of demosaicing artifacts - false moiré

Postby CCWH » Sun Dec 10, 2017 10:14 am

I have two Fuji X camera (X-E2, X-T1).
When i load a file with a lot of very sharp details i see a lot of moiré - demosaicing artifacts :

Image

Top part of picture: Capture One Pro 11 - default file
Bottom part of picture: Fuji JPEG
Fuji X-E2 - XF 35 1.4 (f:4) - 200% view

You can see this moiré for exemple on Dpreview studio scene too.
Image
Toppart of picture: Fuji JPEG
Bottom part of picture: Capture One Pro 11
200% view

I'm able to reduce a lot the moiré for the first picture, but i need to set a very big amount, near from 100 ! It's not perfect.
Image
Toppart of picture: Fuji JPEG
Bottom part of picture: Capture One Pro 11 - light tunning( WB adjusted but look a little bit green, Moiré)
100% view

I think the RAF demosaicing in C1 is too hard. It produce these artefact a lot.

With more tuning my results are better...
Image
Toppart of picture: Fuji JPEG
Bottom part of picture: Capture One Pro 11
100% view

But setting a too big amount (overprocesseded picture) is not a good idea because it can produce new artefacts.
Image
Toppart of picture: Capture One Pro 11 - no moiré correction
Bottom part of picture: Capture One Pro 11 - moiré corrected - hard correction.
200% view

See colors betwenn red and violet for exemple.

How can i reduce this ?
I have tested the same picture with v10 and i have the same artifacts.
Last edited by CCWH on Sun Dec 10, 2017 10:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
CCWH
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 6:43 pm
Location: Mulhouse - France

Re: Fuji RAF: A lot of moiré

Postby David532 » Sun Dec 10, 2017 6:49 pm

Are you sure you have moire in these pictures, I don't see the repeating pattern that causes it in the tree pictures. If it was me I would play around with Chromatic abberation in the Lens panel and the Defringe slider in the Purple Fringing panel
User avatar
David532
 
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 5:31 pm
Location: Thornbury, Uk

Re: Fuji RAF: A lot of moiré

Postby CCWH » Sun Dec 10, 2017 8:15 pm

It doesn't work. It's not a "normal" CA. or purple fringing.
Image
Zoom: 400%

When i move moiré slider i'm able to reduce a lot this artefact.

Check DPreview picture, you can see the same artefact. Nothing like a "optical aberration". Something like a demosaicing artifacts.
User avatar
CCWH
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 6:43 pm
Location: Mulhouse - France

Re: Fuji RAF: A lot of moiré

Postby David532 » Sun Dec 10, 2017 9:44 pm

Could well be demosaicing artifacts that the moire tool is blurring out.

Dave
User avatar
David532
 
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 5:31 pm
Location: Thornbury, Uk

Re: Fuji RAF: A lot of moiré

Postby CCWH » Sun Dec 10, 2017 10:29 pm

I agree.
The demosaicing engine for RAF Raw files need to be improved.
User avatar
CCWH
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 6:43 pm
Location: Mulhouse - France

Re: Fuji RAF: A lot of demosaicing artifacts - false moiré

Postby PavelH » Mon Dec 11, 2017 8:23 pm

I looked at similar motif (a dense bunch of tree branches) in a RAF image from my x-t20. In C1-v11, it seems free of the artifacts which are visible in your sample images. In some places, minor color spots appear but this is likely from partly uncompensated CA which is huge in my XF18-55 lens.

Maybe, you can try to suppress color noise. I suspect that the Fuji in-camera engine also performs such a job when saving JPGs. When I changed C1 color noise suppression over the full range there was practically no visible effect at 100% zoom but at 400% view, it was clear that various tiny color spots disappeared.

Pavel
PavelH
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 6:19 pm

Re: Fuji RAF: A lot of demosaicing artifacts - false moiré

Postby CCWH » Mon Dec 11, 2017 9:23 pm

I have used the razor sharp XF 35 1.4 lens and settled at is best aperture f:4.
I think this setting increase a lot these visible artifacts.
I think that Fuji process a lot the picture before saving it in JPEG.
User avatar
CCWH
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 6:43 pm
Location: Mulhouse - France

Re: Fuji RAF: A lot of demosaicing artifacts - false moiré

Postby gusferlizi » Fri Dec 15, 2017 8:46 pm

Can you go back to version 10.0.2 and see if that problem is not present there?

I reported X-trans sharpening/demosaicing issues since 10.1.x came out but support couldn't reproduce it...
Praise Kek.
User avatar
gusferlizi
 
Posts: 472
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2016 3:04 am
Location: London, England

Re: Fuji RAF: A lot of demosaicing artifacts - false moiré

Postby CCWH » Sat Dec 16, 2017 6:28 pm

I have try process v10 and i have the same issue.
I see these artefacts on my other pictures but it's smaller.
User avatar
CCWH
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 6:43 pm
Location: Mulhouse - France

Re: Fuji RAF: A lot of demosaicing artifacts - false moiré

Postby NNN636809861553290403 » Fri Jan 25, 2019 2:16 pm

I'm getting these demosaicing type artifacts in my fuji files, particularlty with higher ISOs.

If I open the same files in lightroom the noise seems to be handles in a better way, it just looks like a soft grain.

Is there a fix for it?

Jim
NNN636809861553290403
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2018 11:49 am

Re: Fuji RAF: A lot of demosaicing artifacts - false moiré

Postby SFA » Fri Jan 25, 2019 2:48 pm

NNN636809861553290403 wrote:I'm getting these demosaicing type artifacts in my fuji files, particularlty with higher ISOs.

If I open the same files in lightroom the noise seems to be handles in a better way, it just looks like a soft grain.

Is there a fix for it?

Jim


Have you tried V12?
SFA
 
Posts: 5988
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:32 pm

Re: Fuji RAF: A lot of demosaicing artifacts - false moiré

Postby NNN636809861553290403 » Fri Jan 25, 2019 2:56 pm

Yeah, I'm on v12
NNN636809861553290403
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2018 11:49 am

Re: Fuji RAF: A lot of demosaicing artifacts - false moiré

Postby SFA » Fri Jan 25, 2019 3:17 pm

NNN636809861553290403 wrote:Yeah, I'm on v12


OK, this thread is in the V11 section.

It might be worth reposting in the V12 section for potentially better views and less possible confusion.

There have been some reports for RAF files of strange artefacts that so far appear to be somehow related to in camera settings at the time the images were shot. However as I am not a Fuji user providing that information is about as far as I can offer assistance.

I would suggest you create a Support Case if you have not already done so.


Grant
SFA
 
Posts: 5988
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:32 pm


Return to Capture One 11.x Software



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 12 guests