Page 1 of 1

Layered tif export

PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2017 6:46 pm
by Steve Mac
We updated to C1 11 today and we are encouraged by the new features. On initial assessment we have a couple of concerns.

1: In our current workflow we export tifs. With an annotation layer the file can only be exported as a PSD. The difference in file size is considerable.
9.4Mb tif vs 206Mb PSD. Is there any way to export a layered tif?

2: Is it possible to turn off the annotation or put it on a layer? Once the annotations are made they remain on the image. The only way to turn it off is to do an option reset which reverts back as soon the the mouse is released.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Re: Layered tif export

PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2017 9:36 pm
by SFA
Steve Mac wrote:We updated to C1 11 today and we are encouraged by the new features. On initial assessment we have a couple of concerns.

1: In our current workflow we export tifs. With an annotation layer the file can only be exported as a PSD. The difference in file size is considerable.
9.4Mb tif vs 206Mb PSD. Is there any way to export a layered tif?

2: Is it possible to turn off the annotation or put it on a layer? Once the annotations are made they remain on the image. The only way to turn it off is to do an option reset which reverts back as soon the the mouse is released.

Any advise would be greatly appreciated.


Steve,

This being a User to User forum and the feature being new you may not get a very complete response to the questions.

Have you created a Support Case to ask them officially?

Re: Layered tif export

PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2017 9:36 pm
by Paul_Steunebrink
1) No. In CO 11 only via PSD you have layered output.

2) Yes. Both in the Annotations tool as well as in the Annotation cursor tools, there is an toggle 'Always Display Annotation'. When you uncheck it (OFF state) the annotations are not shown as soon as you choose another cursor tool.

Re: Layered tif export

PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2017 10:07 pm
by Steve Mac
Paul_Steunebrink wrote:1) No. In CO 11 only via PSD you have layered output.

2) Yes. Both in the Annotations tool as well as in the Annotation cursor tools, there is an toggle 'Always Display Annotation'. When you uncheck it (OFF state) the annotations are not shown as soon as you choose another cursor tool.


Paul,

1: Will there be any consideration in the future to export as layered tifs due to the excessive file size?

2: We were thinking the annotation would toggle on and off when checked and unchecked. The key is to switch to another tool then it will toggle. Thanks for the info.



SFA wrote:
Steve Mac wrote:We updated to C1 11 today and we are encouraged by the new features. On initial assessment we have a couple of concerns.

1: In our current workflow we export tifs. With an annotation layer the file can only be exported as a PSD. The difference in file size is considerable.
9.4Mb tif vs 206Mb PSD. Is there any way to export a layered tif?

2: Is it possible to turn off the annotation or put it on a layer? Once the annotations are made they remain on the image. The only way to turn it off is to do an option reset which reverts back as soon the the mouse is released.

Any advise would be greatly appreciated.


Steve,

This being a User to User forum and the feature being new you may not get a very complete response to the questions.

Have you created a Support Case to ask them officially?


SFA,

It seems the toggle for annotations will now work, once you change tools.

Overall, liking the update. Hopefully the PSD export will be in the next update!

Thanks to all, for the information!

Re: Layered tif export

PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 11:55 am
by Paul_Steunebrink
Steve Mac wrote:Paul,

1: Will there be any consideration in the future to export as layered tifs due to the excessive file size?

Perhaps you would like to make a feature request in a support case? At least this is the way to have it logged @Phase One.

I am a bit surprised about the huge size difference you mentioned in the original post. I can not reproduce such difference.
At 8bit, both PSD and TIF have the same size, and TIF compressed is a bit smaller, but not by such a big margin as you gave in your example. Are you sure they have the same amount of pixels?

Re: Layered tif export

PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 5:14 pm
by Steve Mac
Paul_Steunebrink wrote:
Steve Mac wrote:Paul,

1: Will there be any consideration in the future to export as layered tifs due to the excessive file size?

Perhaps you would like to make a feature request in a support case? At least this is the way to have it logged @Phase One.

I am a bit surprised about the huge size difference you mentioned in the original post. I can not reproduce such difference.
At 8bit, both PSD and TIF have the same size, and TIF compressed is a bit smaller, but not by such a big margin as you gave in your example. Are you sure they have the same amount of pixels?


Paul,
My error, I was initially looking at a 1 layer tif. The comparable file is 25.9Mb to 206Mb using LZW compression, still considerably lager. This is a file with large amounts of white space which is helping reduce the compressed tif. I'll try exporting a wider variety of subjects. I will create a support case and feature request. Impressed with the update so far. Thanks for your help!