Applescript errors with CO20 after upgrade from CO11

Discussion regarding all scripting related questions
Please DO NOT post to this thread anything that is not directly related to scripting of Capture One.

Applescript errors with CO20 after upgrade from CO11

Postby rollbahn » Mon Apr 13, 2020 6:00 am

I just upgraded from CO11 to CO20 yesterday and I am getting errors when running some of my simple Applescripts including one that enters EXIF data into my scans and also another that pulls Google PIcasa face data into CO keywords.

The errors state: "execution error: Capture One 20 got an error: Error: File not found - 63083 (1)" and "execution error: Capture One 20 got an error: Warning: Error opening file - 63118 Error: File not found - 63118 (1)"

Here's the EXIF one for the scans:

Code: Select all
tell application "Capture One 20"
   set selectedVariants to get selected variants
   repeat with i from 1 to number of items in selectedVariants
      set this_item to item i of selectedVariants
      set theID to id of (parent image of this_item)
      do shell script "/usr/local/bin/exiftool -Make='Pentax' -Model='MZ-S' -Lens='Pentax-FA 31mm f/1.8 Limited' -m -overwrite_original_in_place " & quoted form of theID
                --log theID
      reload metadata this_item
   end repeat
   display dialog "EXIF data has been updated"
end tell


The files are all where they should be and the scripts still work if I go back to CO11 so there must be something in CO20 that I am referencing in the script that has changed but I can't see what. I have searched for the error numbers but nothing comes up either.

Any help would be appreciated - thanks :D

UPDATE: Got some more info from the logs in Script Debugger:

Code: Select all
get selected variants
{variant id "63127" of collection id "5377" of collection id "4283" of collection id "4276" of document "Capture One Catalog"}

get id of parent image of variant id "63127" of collection id "5377" of collection id "4283" of collection id "4276" of document "Capture One Catalog"
"63118"

do shell script "/usr/local/bin/exiftool -Make='Pentax' -Model='MZ-S' -Lens='Pentax-FA 31mm f/1.8 Limited' -m -overwrite_original_in_place '63118'"
Error: a privilege violation occurred (errAEPrivilegeError:-10004)
rollbahn
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2012 6:37 am

Re: Applescript errors with CO20 after upgrade from CO11

Postby Eric Nepean » Mon Apr 13, 2020 2:48 pm

Are you running these scripts from Apples Script Editor of from Capture One?

IMO your Applescript is not broken, either your script or the script's parent doesn't have permission to use exiftool or possibly to use the do shell script comand.

Which Operating System are you on, 10.14 or 10.15?

I'm om 10.14.6,

I note that I have enabled both Capture One 12 and Capture One 20 in the following panels
  • System Preferences> Security & Privacy> Full Disk Access
  • System Preferences> Security & Privacy> Automation
  • System Preferences> Security & Privacy> Accessibility

In addition my standalone scripts are in the Automation and Accessability panels
Eric Nepean
 
Posts: 677
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2014 8:02 am
Location: Ottawa

Re: Applescript errors with CO20 after upgrade from CO11

Postby rollbahn » Mon Apr 13, 2020 11:17 pm

Sorry Eric - I should have mentioned all that in my post.

I am on 10.13.6 (nice and stable so not keen to upgrade until Catalina improves) and have been running these scripts via Capture One's menu for 2-3 years without an issue.

As I am using 10.13 there are no settings for Automation and Full Disk Access that I am aware of but there is an Accessibility setting. I added in Capture One 20 (still doesn't work) but I didn't have that set for CO11 and it worked fine.

In my Google searches I did come across what you said which was an issue with the do shell script command but I can't think how to fix it.

I am wondering if CO20 added in the additional permission requirements because of 10.14 and 10.15's new security features but because I am on 10.13 I have no way to set that and therefore have the issue. I'd be ok to move to Mojave if I know that is the issue but surely there's another way around it for now.

Thanks for your help.

Jason
rollbahn
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2012 6:37 am

Re: Applescript errors with CO20 after upgrade from CO11

Postby Eric Nepean » Tue Apr 14, 2020 1:07 am

Its good that you are on 10.13 for now. I was on 10.12 for a long time, moved to 10.14.6 in November.

10.14.5 was the start of the new OSX security structure.

Applications like Capture One cannot change the Operating System security, like Full Dusk access and so forth, they can only trigger security mechanisms that already exist to act. The errror message you got comes from OSX's security system.

Fortunately for you (in this case) 10.13 does not have a very complex security mechanism, I assume its much like 10.12 although I have no direct experience with it.

Lets try this:
I assume
  • That the security mechanism is the same as in 10.12 and earlier releases
  • That you have one OSX account, and it has admin privileges
  • That in this OSX account, you down loaded and installed Capture One 20
  • Because you run the script from Capture One 20, its an issue with Capture One's own permissions. In any case, we make sure these are OK first.

Just to "clean" all the system settings and remove anything that might cause issues, do a safe boot. (I learned this from Apple support when we were debuggong a strange problem with my Mac)
  • Shut down the Mac
  • Start the Mac
  • Immediately after pushing the start button, press and hold the left shift key (right may work too, but I always use left and haven't tried right)
  • Hold the shift key until the boot sequence is completed and you can sign into your account (this may be 3 minutes or more)
  • You will see Safe Boot in small red letters at top right
  • Sign into your account. Do some trivial operations. The screen may flicker a bit.
  • Restart normally and sign into your account

Now lets remove any quarantine flags on Capture One 20 (this is one of the fundamental security measure on that generation of OS X)

Find the Capture One 20 application with Finder
Right click (or control click) on the application. In the menu that pops up, select "Open"
If there was a quarantine set, then a pop up appears that asks something like "Do you trust this Application? It was downloaded blah blah blah". Of course you will select OK or Yes.

(If Capture One was installed by another Account on this Mac, this may not be effective. But I am perhaps unusual because I have multiple accounts on my Mac for different people and diffferent purposes. Likely nothing for you to worry about.)

Then Capture One will start, use it for something trivial. Stop it, start it again. Now try your script and see if it works.

If it doesn't work, then it may be that Capture one has made a private copy of the script application, and the issue is with the copy, or possibly there is a new version of ExifTool and th issue is there.

Please try the following and report back:
  • Does the Script still work in Capture One 11?
  • Does the script work in Standalone mode?
    Can you run the script from script Editor?
Eric Nepean
 
Posts: 677
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2014 8:02 am
Location: Ottawa

Re: Applescript errors with CO20 after upgrade from CO11

Postby rollbahn » Tue Apr 14, 2020 8:06 am

Thanks again Eric for your comprehensive error it is much appreciated!

I had an inkling that the error was more to do with Applescript than the system so I did a bunch of testing and retesting today and solved the issues and will post below in case anyone has similar problems in the future.

Here's the new code and there's only two small changes. Apparently the privilege error comes from the use of the "do shell script" inside the "tell application" loop. If you need to do the loop inside the "tell" loop then the way to solve that causing an error is just to put "tell current application to " in front of the command.

The other thing I did along the way is add in the "iName" variable and stipulate the file path directly for the exiftool line and that solved the " Error: File not found".

I still have no idea why this all changed with Capture 20 but now I'll have to update all my scripts I guess. :D

Code: Select all
tell application "Capture One 20"
   set selectedVariants to get selected variants
   repeat with i from 1 to number of items in selectedVariants
      set this_item to item i of selectedVariants
      set theID to id of (parent image of this_item)
      set iName to path of (parent image of this_item)
      --display dialog "my variable: " & iName
      tell current application to do shell script "/usr/local/bin/exiftool -Make='Pentax' -Model='MZ-S' -Lens='Pentax-FA 31mm f/1.8 Limited' -m -overwrite_original_in_place " & quoted form of iName
                --log theID
      reload metadata this_item
   end repeat
   display dialog "EXIF data has been updated"
end tell
rollbahn
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2012 6:37 am

Re: Applescript errors with CO20 after upgrade from CO11

Postby Eric Nepean » Tue Apr 14, 2020 1:22 pm

Wow, I completely missed that one.

I don't understand why the previous version of the script ever worked.
Eric Nepean
 
Posts: 677
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2014 8:02 am
Location: Ottawa

Re: Applescript errors with CO20 after upgrade from CO11

Postby rollbahn » Tue Apr 14, 2020 10:58 pm

Thanks Eric - yes me too :D
rollbahn
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2012 6:37 am

Re: Applescript errors with CO20 after upgrade from CO11

Postby Jim_DK » Wed Apr 15, 2020 11:52 am

Small tip (also):

The line
Code: Select all
set myVars to selected variants
is old, problematic syntax and best avoided.
Better to use the newer (from CO11.1 on)
Code: Select all
set myVars to variants whose selected is true


/2c
Jim_DK
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 673
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2009 10:00 pm

Re: Applescript errors with CO20 after upgrade from CO11

Postby rollbahn » Wed Apr 15, 2020 11:21 pm

Jim_DK wrote:Small tip (also):

The line
Code: Select all
set myVars to selected variants
is old, problematic syntax and best avoided.
Better to use the newer (from CO11.1 on)
Code: Select all
set myVars to variants whose selected is true


/2c


Thanks very much for the tip Jim - I couldn't find that line in my script.

Should I be changing this one

Code: Select all
set selectedVariants to get selected variants


to

Code: Select all
set selectedVariants to variants whose selected is true
rollbahn
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2012 6:37 am

Re: Applescript errors with CO20 after upgrade from CO11

Postby Jim_DK » Thu Apr 16, 2020 7:57 am

Apologies I used my own variable name. But yes - you got it.
Jim_DK
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 673
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2009 10:00 pm

Re: Applescript errors with CO20 after upgrade from CO11

Postby rollbahn » Thu Apr 16, 2020 10:29 pm

No worries - thanks Jim!
rollbahn
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2012 6:37 am


Return to Scripting



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests