Need a script to automate processing

Discussion regarding all scripting related questions
Please DO NOT post to this thread anything that is not directly related to scripting of Capture One.

Need a script to automate processing

Postby NN170844UL » Tue Nov 12, 2019 8:28 pm

I am hoping to find someone to write a script for me. I am looking for a script to watch the CAPTURE folder, apply a recipe and process to another folder as long as the script is running. I can not find a way to do this out of the box, but someone suggested I try to find someone here to help me.

Thanks in advance
NN170844UL
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 8:19 am

Re: Need a script to automate processing

Postby emorydunn » Thu Nov 14, 2019 6:45 am

Hi, I'd be happy to help you out with that. Capture One has a feature that isn't terribly well documented that will let you set a script to be triggered on certain events, one of which is capturing a photo. From there you can get the latest captured photo, apply any adjustments you need, and process.

I've written a plugin that makes setting background scripts a bit easier: https://lostcause.photo/projects/scriptsetter/
User avatar
emorydunn
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 7:36 am
Location: San Francisco, California

Re: Need a script to automate processing

Postby NN170844UL » Thu Nov 14, 2019 7:47 am

I see you are in SF as well. Would you be open to writing a script with this functionality? Possible to have it keep running until stopped so that all images incoming are found by the script, have a recipe applied and output to a destination folder?
NN170844UL
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 8:19 am

Re: Need a script to automate processing

Postby NN170844UL » Thu Nov 14, 2019 7:51 am

I see you are in SF as well. Would you be open to writing a script with this functionality? Possible to have it keep running until stopped so that all images incoming are found by the script, have a recipe applied and output to a destination folder?

Also I can not install your software and get an error when trying -
NN170844UL
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 8:19 am

Re: Need a script to automate processing

Postby emorydunn » Sun Nov 17, 2019 8:28 pm

Yeah, I live over in the East Bay. I can write a script for that. The script wouldn't so much run in the background as be called by Capture One every time a photo is taken. Do you want to apply adjustments to new images or just process them with a specific recipe?

What error are you getting when installing the plug-in?
User avatar
emorydunn
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 7:36 am
Location: San Francisco, California

Re: Need a script to automate processing

Postby NN170844UL » Sun Nov 17, 2019 8:44 pm

I can not now recreate the error. What would you charge to write the script and could it be made to run in the background, would that be disadvantageous and if C1 is called every time a photo comes in, woudl it strain resources significantly if we are shooting say 10-20 at a time?
NN170844UL
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 8:19 am

Re: Need a script to automate processing

Postby NN170844UL » Sun Nov 17, 2019 8:45 pm

Also, is there a way to DM in this forum?
NN170844UL
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 8:19 am

Re: Need a script to automate processing

Postby rapdigital » Fri Nov 22, 2019 12:45 pm

Hey Emery
Nice plugin congrats.

Have you noticed speed differences between setting a capture done script and have a script in the background scripts folder that gets passed arguments directly from the app, with "on CO_BatchJobFinished(jobUUID, rawFilePath, outputPathList)" ?

I'm seeing a second or two slower if using a capture done script.
rapdigital
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
 
Posts: 185
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2009 1:52 pm

Re: Need a script to automate processing

Postby emorydunn » Fri Nov 22, 2019 7:21 pm

Thanks, I hope people are finding the plugin helpful.

Where are you seeing the slowdown? Did you find that a script set via "capture done script" runs slower/ slows Capture One down over the background script handler?

Also, do you know if there's any definitive documentation on the background script handlers? I've only seen a few references made by you over the years about them. A little spelunking shows that there are several, some of which have 0 results on Google. I specifically can't get "CO_CaptureStarted" working.
User avatar
emorydunn
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 7:36 am
Location: San Francisco, California

Re: Need a script to automate processing

Postby murphysm2342 » Thu Jan 23, 2020 8:23 pm

emorydunn wrote:Hi, I'd be happy to help you out with that. Capture One has a feature that isn't terribly well documented that will let you set a script to be triggered on certain events, one of which is capturing a photo. From there you can get the latest captured photo, apply any adjustments you need, and process.

I've written a plugin that makes setting background scripts a bit easier: https://lostcause.photo/projects/scriptsetter/


Hi Emory,
This is a really cool plugin you've made. Can't wait to try it out. Is it still the case where you can only have one script active for each of these action triggers? And they always run when set until you clear the script associate with the action?

I am exploring using the Processing Done script but our users will not always want it run. Probably 10% of the time they need to process out without the Process Done script. Wondering what kinds of workarounds there might be for this.
Thanks
Sean
murphysm2342
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2015 10:23 pm

Re: Need a script to automate processing

Postby emorydunn » Thu Jan 23, 2020 9:28 pm

murphysm2342 wrote:
emorydunn wrote:Hi, I'd be happy to help you out with that. Capture One has a feature that isn't terribly well documented that will let you set a script to be triggered on certain events, one of which is capturing a photo. From there you can get the latest captured photo, apply any adjustments you need, and process.

I've written a plugin that makes setting background scripts a bit easier: https://lostcause.photo/projects/scriptsetter/


Hi Emory,
This is a really cool plugin you've made. Can't wait to try it out. Is it still the case where you can only have one script active for each of these action triggers? And they always run when set until you clear the script associate with the action?

I am exploring using the Processing Done script but our users will not always want it run. Probably 10% of the time they need to process out without the Process Done script. Wondering what kinds of workarounds there might be for this.
Thanks
Sean


Thanks! I'm glad you find it helpful. You're correct, each trigger can only have one script and it will be called every time. Your script can call other scripts, though.

That being said, what your script does doesn't have to happen on every call. Are there any repeatable conditions for that 10% that would allow you to filter? Or you could use an external setting that would temporarily disable the action (but not unset the script).
User avatar
emorydunn
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 7:36 am
Location: San Francisco, California


Return to Scripting



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest