Folder view

Discussions, questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One PRO, Capture One PRO(For Sony), Capture One DB and Capture One Express(For Sony) 10.x and 9.x

Folder view

Postby Meh1999 » Tue Nov 21, 2017 1:23 pm

I am currently reviewing my trial version of Capture One Pro for Mac considering switching from Lightroom. This is my first time I use Capture One so bare with me.

I have a folder structure build like this:
20150116 event
20150119 event
20150208 event
20150306 event
20150317 event
20150321 event

aso

I have imported these folders into a Capture One catalogue. The only folders with pictures are the folder with events. In Lightroom when I select a month folder, I see all photos stashed in events in that particular month. In Capture One I only see pictures when I select an event folder. When I don't exactly know when I took a particular picture but I know I took it in March 2015, I select the folder 3 within folder 2015 and I see all photos that I took in March.
Is there a way to make Capture One show all photos stashed in the subfolders when I select the folder holding these subfolders?

Thanks very much.
Meh
Meh1999

Re: Folder view

Postby John Doe » Tue Nov 21, 2017 1:36 pm

Why don't you use filters? Select "All Images" then in the Filters tool click on the relevant criteria.
John Doe

Postby nbirkett » Tue Nov 21, 2017 2:56 pm

I asked the same question a couple of weeks ago and was told 'no'. You can do this by setting up albums, etc. I have submitted a feature request asking Phase One to consider adding in a 'view photos in sub-folders' option.
nbirkett

Postby syncrasy » Tue Nov 21, 2017 3:03 pm

By the way, Phase One's Media Pro does this. It's called "Union of Folder Hierarchies."
syncrasy

Postby Meh1999 » Tue Nov 21, 2017 4:22 pm

Thanks everyone. It's really appreciated.

About these "albums": is there a way to import a Lightroon library / folder structure in such a way I automatically have such albums?