Exported 16bit Tif Bug

Discussions, questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One PRO, Capture One PRO(For Sony), Capture One DB and Capture One Express(For Sony) 9.x

Exported 16bit Tif Bug

Postby NN635763134542939057UL » Sat Jul 23, 2016 4:46 am

Curious if anyone else is experiencing this. Since the last update, when I process a file out as a 16 bit Tif, I can not open it within Preview. The thumbnail in Finder also doesn't display. That said, I can open the file in Photoshop fine and once I save it from there, it's then treated as a regular Tif file within OSX.

Anyone else?
NN635763134542939057UL
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2015 12:04 am

Re: Exported 16bit Tif Bug

Postby adrianchapman » Sat Jul 23, 2016 10:29 am

It works as expected for me,opens perfectly in preview and there is a thumbnail in Finder. Sorry, but I can't think of any reason for your issue.

What version of OS X are you using?
adrianchapman
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 12:37 am

Re: Exported 16bit Tif Bug

Postby FL » Sat Jul 23, 2016 1:30 pm

Same here: TIFFs do not show any thumbnail, preview shows a black image
FL
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Mon May 18, 2015 10:11 pm

Re: Exported 16bit Tif Bug

Postby tenmangu81 » Sat Jul 23, 2016 1:51 pm

Did you try to create a new variant for external edition, e.g. PS or SEP ?
tenmangu81
 
Posts: 578
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 6:33 pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: Exported 16bit Tif Bug

Postby NN635763134542939057UL » Sat Jul 23, 2016 10:53 pm

@adrianchapman: Running the latest version of OSX and C1

@tenmangu81: Just tried an 8bit Tif of the same file and it works fine.

I'll submit a bug report.
NN635763134542939057UL
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2015 12:04 am

Re: Exported 16bit Tif Bug

Postby NNN635395821784104056 » Sun Jul 24, 2016 3:48 pm

I too am experiencing Black thumbnails on export with 16bit. Photo matrix Pro crashes when trying to load those files in its stand alone program. Not sure if related still testing.
NNN635395821784104056
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2014 8:56 pm

Re: Exported 16bit Tif Bug

Postby HDRmeurer » Tue Aug 02, 2016 8:23 pm

Hi everybody,

same problem here. Any solutions so far?

Greetings
Achim
User avatar
HDRmeurer
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2014 11:32 am

Re: Exported 16bit Tif Bug

Postby zoemax » Wed Aug 03, 2016 1:27 pm

A quick google search of 'can't open tif file on mac' or 'cant open 16 bit tiff on mac' reveals many folks with the same issue from many different programs.

There are many different suggestions as to what to try & test. I've also seen 'blank/black' previews on my system, however my current running beta ( 10.12 Sierra release 3) does not appear to have that issue.

# sips -g all _DSF0987.tif
../_DSF0987.tif
pixelWidth: 4896
pixelHeight: 3264
typeIdentifier: public.tiff
format: tiff
formatOptions: default
dpiWidth: 300.000
dpiHeight: 300.000
samplesPerPixel: 3
bitsPerSample: 16
hasAlpha: no
space: RGB
profile: Adobe RGB (1998)
creation: 2016:08:02 11:35:57
make: FUJIFILM
model: X100T
software: Capture One 9 Macintosh
copyright:
artist:

If you'd like - tell me a process recipe & I'll give it a test on my iMac.

dan
zoemax
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2015 10:17 pm

Re: Exported 16bit Tif Bug

Postby tenmangu81 » Wed Aug 03, 2016 7:07 pm

Hi all,
Just for your info : I am not sure C1 works well when using Sierra:
https://captureintegration.com/macos-si ... blic-beta/

Robert
tenmangu81
 
Posts: 578
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 6:33 pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: Exported 16bit Tif Bug

Postby HDRmeurer » Wed Aug 03, 2016 8:09 pm

Hi everybody,

the support team send me a work around for that problem: I set tiling (any size) on in the recipe for the 16-bit TIFF and I'll get a thumbnail now. They said it must be a 10.11.6 issue with rendering 16-bit images.

The file size increases depending on the tiling setting. I have no clue what that means, but it works ;)

Greetz
Achim
User avatar
HDRmeurer
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2014 11:32 am

Re: Exported 16bit Tif Bug

Postby zoemax » Wed Aug 03, 2016 9:58 pm

Also, another command you can use to check your tif output ( aside from sips ) is tiffutil.

DeskMac:Downloads$ tiffutil -verboseinfo _DSF0987.tif

Directory at 0x5b71008
Image Width: 4896 Image Length: 3264
Resolution: 300, 300
Resolution Unit: pixels/inch
Bits/Sample: 16
Compression Scheme: none
Photometric Interpretation: RGB color
Date & Time: "2016:08:02 11:35:57"
Software: "Capture One 9 Macintosh"
Make: "FUJIFILM"
Model: "X100T"
Orientation: row 0 top, col 0 lhs
Samples/Pixel: 3
Rows/Strip: 1024
Number of Strips: 4
Strips (Offset, ByteCount):
8, 30081024
30081032, 30081024
60162056, 30081024
90243080, 5640192
Planar Configuration: Not planar
Profile Name: Adobe RGB (1998)
Directory at 0x5b72986
Subfile Type: reduced-resolution image (1 = 0x1)
Image Width: 160 Image Length: 107
Bits/Sample: 8
Compression Scheme: none
Photometric Interpretation: RGB color
Samples/Pixel: 3
Rows/Strip: 17
Number of Strips: 7
Strips (Offset, ByteCount):
95889936, 8160
95898096, 8160
95906256, 8160
95914416, 8160
95922576, 8160
95930736, 8160
95938896, 2400
Planar Configuration: Not planar

No clue on what most items are, but if you are 'staring/comparing' on different output files - and looking at whats different between 'works' & 'doesn't work' - you may see some difference.

sips: scriptable image processing system.
tiffutil: manipulate tiff files.

Both should be on you mac & available at command line.


cheers!
dan
zoemax
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2015 10:17 pm

Re: Exported 16bit Tif Bug

Postby Jon » Thu Aug 04, 2016 1:58 pm

This is a bug with Apple's image core in 10.11.6 so it will show up when using Preview, quick look (file icons and preview in finder) and any other program using Apple's built in rendering. You will not see the same issue on Macs with 10.11.5.

Specifically 10.11.6 breaks compatibility with non-tiled 16-bit Tiff files with a dimension larger than 3000px on the short side.. smaller files will be OK.

The workaround solution is to change the options in Capture One. When you have selected Tiff as your process recipe format an options field appears below the format field. Click on it and select a Tile dimension of 128.
Kind Regards,
Jon Gilbert
Phase One
Jon
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 1228
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 6:48 pm
Location: New York, USA

Re: Exported 16bit Tif Bug

Postby HansB » Thu Aug 04, 2016 4:20 pm

Is this related to any specific camera, Mac configuration, ratio, or anything else?
I am using 1DX raw files, 3456x5184 pixel, processed into 16bit TIFF (not tiled), and a MBPr 2014 with 10.11.6.
Finder thumbnails are available and Preview shows the processed image.


Regards,
Hans
HansB
 
Posts: 854
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 2:59 pm

Re: Exported 16bit Tif Bug

Postby AlexJones » Fri Mar 09, 2018 3:23 pm

Jon's fix above works perfectly.

I'm running OS 10.11.16 and Capture One 9.3 I was getting a black preview and blank icon in Finder.
Process Recipie>Options>Tile Dimension>128 (This fixed it.)

Thanks Joe!!

Alex
AlexJones
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 9:35 pm


Return to Capture One 9.x Software



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests