Page 1 of 1

Profoto A1 on XF

PostPosted: Thu Sep 21, 2017 10:00 am
by Fernando92
Profoto announced the new A1 flash that could be mounted directly on the XF slide.
Does anyone know if this is possible?
Will TTL and HSS features be available?

thanks

fernando

Re: Profoto A1 on XF

PostPosted: Fri Sep 22, 2017 3:50 pm
by FPL
Profoto A1 should work as any other AirTTL light controlled remotely from XF, with TTL and HSS.

But they announced only Nikon and Canon version and I don't have idea what kind of conflict could happen when you mount it into hot shoe on XF.

Re: Profoto A1 on XF

PostPosted: Sat Sep 23, 2017 9:06 am
by eisbaer
My idea would be to put a dummy hot shoe between camera and flash and control the a1 over the profoto controller built in the camera. Have not tested it but called Profoto Germany and they said it should probably work but they didn't tested it either...

Frank

Re: Profoto A1 on XF

PostPosted: Sun Sep 24, 2017 3:03 pm
by Fernando92
Yes, it's a good idea.
looking for a dummy hot shoe.

thank you,
fernando

Re: Profoto A1 on XF

PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 7:27 pm
by Jon
We tested an early unit in our office this week (Nikon spec). There is no conflict with the hotshoe of the XF. Works the same when mounted and unmounted. Just enable the Profoto Air on the body and both the manual and TTL controls of the XF work with the A1.

Re: Profoto A1 on XF

PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2017 11:35 am
by Paul Richards Leeds UK
Thats good news I use Nikon equipment besides PhaseOne :D

Re: Profoto A1 on XF

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 10:15 am
by Ulf
Here is the knowledge base article about the Profoto A1
https://www.phaseone.com/en/Search/Arti ... nguageid=1