Which iMac 5k option is the best for C1?

Discussions, questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One PRO, Capture One PRO(For Sony), Capture One DB and Capture One Express(For Sony) 8.x.

Re: Which iMac 5k option is the best for C1?

Postby eavesphoto » Sun May 15, 2016 8:27 pm

Faith,

Are you experiencing a slow rendering of the Main image or thumbnails when shooting tethered?
What resolution do you have your iMac 5k, late 2015 model with 4GB Ram, 4Ghz CPU and 24GB Ram with 512GB SSD.
set at?
Also what size do you have set for previews in Capture 9.1.1? and your getting good image rendering with OpenCL off, correct.


Thanks. I'm considering purchasing this same late 2015 27in iMac but with 1 TB SSD and 32GB of Ram


Brian
eavesphoto
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2004 5:54 am
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: Which iMac 5k option is the best for C1?

Postby fatihayoglu » Thu May 19, 2016 11:42 pm

eavesphoto wrote:Faith,

Are you experiencing a slow rendering of the Main image or thumbnails when shooting tethered?
What resolution do you have your iMac 5k, late 2015 model with 4GB Ram, 4Ghz CPU and 24GB Ram with 512GB SSD.
set at?
Also what size do you have set for previews in Capture 9.1.1? and your getting good image rendering with OpenCL off, correct.


Thanks. I'm considering purchasing this same late 2015 27in iMac but with 1 TB SSD and 32GB of Ram


Brian


Hi Brian,

I'm not shooting tethered so can't answer your question, but others, I'll try my best.

My screen resolution is set to optimal settings, so I'm using the display as 5k. Previews are set to to maximum as well, which was recommended by PO. Sadly, I've head to turn off all the OpenCL settings as it was causing lagging while I'm drawing masks. PO is aware of this issue and will fix it with one of the next releases. Obviously turning off the OpenCL causes a slight decrease in the speed but I can live with that for now. At least DAM part of the software is much improved. Just as a note, buy your RAM separately instead of paying Apple excessive money, in fact iMacs are supporting faster RAMs than what Apple is providing. If you put 2133 MHz RAMs, they work brilliantly.

Cheers,

Fatih
Late 2015 iMac 5K, 4Ghz, 40GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 4GB GPU
Nikon D750, 20 f/1.8G, 35 f/2D, 50 f/1.8D, 85 f/1.8D, 24-70 f/2.8E, 70-200 f/2.8G
Leica M10, 35 Summicron, 50 Summilux, 90 Summicron
fatihayoglu
 
Posts: 221
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 5:57 pm

Previous

Return to Capture One 8.x Software



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests