Lag (and Rainbow wheel) when changing between Tool Menus

Discussions, questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One PRO, Capture One PRO(For Sony), Capture One DB and Capture One Express(For Sony) 8.x.

Lag (and Rainbow wheel) when changing between Tool Menus

Postby DarylOrillaza » Tue Oct 06, 2015 2:12 pm

I work as a digi-tech in Sydney, mostly in the fashion & advertising sectors — so I spend a lot of much of my day nose deep in CO.

I've started noticing that when I click between Tool Tab Menus, I sometimes get the Rainbow-Spinning Wheel, which hangs for a moment or two, before finally switching to the chosen menu. The program never really comes to a full stop/crash, and I'm more describing a bit of lag here - just an annoyance that seems to slow me down from time to time. It's not a major problem, but when you're trying to tech whilst under the pump - jumping from changing Capture Folder, to checking focus, to adjusting colour, and back again in literally seconds - the lag makes me feel a bit off the ball.

Now I can't seem to replicate the problem, so I'm having trouble isolating it— but I don't suspect that it is a computer ability thing as I run a pretty new & up to date set up, and have noticed it as well on other photographer's machines. I use a for-shoots-only MacBook, with a virtually empty SSD (453GBs free of 500GB). I close all unnecessary programs, widgets, background apps etc while shooting.

It's not happening right now: testing with an empty session with no pictures, and no camera tethered. But it did occur today tethering a Canon 5mkiii, in a session with <1000 frames. It didn't happen the other day working with bigger Nikon 810 files, in a much bigger session. Has happened with both 2nd monitors, and no external monitors running. The only other thing I can think of is in some instances like today (in studio), I kept a Lacie Rugged SSD also plugged in all day doing auto-backups through ChronoSync while we worked.
:?