Page 1 of 1

no icon to collapse variants

PostPosted: Wed Jun 03, 2015 2:14 am
by NN634867799481371016UL
I justed watched a recorded PhaseOne webinar where David used a tiny icon in the upper left of variant #1's preview to collapse a group of variants. I don't have such a "collapse variants" icon. ??

Re: no icon to collapse variants

PostPosted: Wed Jun 03, 2015 8:01 am
by Jim_DK
Have you cloned the original? F2 for default, F3 for copy...

Re: no icon to collapse variants

PostPosted: Wed Jun 03, 2015 6:32 pm
by NN634867799481371016UL
Jim_DK wrote:Have you cloned the original? F2 for default, F3 for copy...


I did not use these shortcuts, but rather a right-click on the image to create variants. They are duly numbered "1", "2" and so on. But I have never had an icon to collapse a group of variants - yet David did so on this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SeUedX6 ... J&index=22 at 58:55. I do not have this "collapse variants" icon.

Re: no icon to collapse variants

PostPosted: Wed Jun 03, 2015 8:18 pm
by Paul_Steunebrink
NN634867799481371016UL wrote:
Jim_DK wrote:Have you cloned the original? F2 for default, F3 for copy...


I did not use these shortcuts, but rather a right-click on the image to create variants. They are duly numbered "1", "2" and so on. But I have never had an icon to collapse a group of variants - yet David did so on this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SeUedX6 ... J&index=22 at 58:55. I do not have this "collapse variants" icon.

This is a (known?) issue since the last few updates. The expand/collapse function through either the menu or on the thumbnail is missing when you have selected the All Images Collection or the Folders > Catalog.

With other collections - Recent Imports/Captures, Albums, Smart Albums - it still works as advertised.

Re: no icon to collapse variants

PostPosted: Wed Jun 03, 2015 10:07 pm
by NN634867799481371016UL
Paul_Steunebrink wrote:
NN634867799481371016UL wrote:
Jim_DK wrote:Have you cloned the original? F2 for default, F3 for copy...


I did not use these shortcuts, but rather a right-click on the image to create variants. They are duly numbered "1", "2" and so on. But I have never had an icon to collapse a group of variants - yet David did so on this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SeUedX6 ... J&index=22 at 58:55. I do not have this "collapse variants" icon.

This is a (known?) issue since the last few updates. The expand/collapse function through either the menu or on the thumbnail is missing when you have selected the All Images Collection or the Folders > Catalog.

With other collections - Recent Imports/Captures, Albums, Smart Albums - it still works as advertised.


Thanks, I did not know that. However, it also does not work in my Smart Albums either. After re-checking, the only place I've used variants where the icons works properly is a "dumb" album. I only use a few of those and hadn't noticed it there before. But definitely it does not work in any of my Smart Albums.

Re: no icon to collapse variants

PostPosted: Mon Sep 21, 2015 8:07 pm
by NN635060257268196872UL
Hi, I submitted this issue to PhaseOne Support, Case ID 186118, with the following answer:

Hello,
This is actually how the feature is designed. Collapsing is not possible in both smart albums, filtered states, and All images (which is actually a smart album). The reason is that the vairant for which an image gets included in a filter should be visible when using that filter.
Best regards,
Team Phase One Support


Although they closed the case, I replied again:
Sorry, but this explanation does not make any sense to me and for your information, in various C1 forums it's posted that this is a confirmed bug. The community is awaiting a fix and the communities ask their members to submit this defect to increase the pressure for a fast fix.
What I would expect is that independent or with the filter, as soon as there are multiple variants in the result set, you would have the option available to collapse.
Please reconsider.
Thanks Reto


Please submit a case to PhaseOne/CaptureOne if you want to join in. You may even reference the case ID above.

Re: no icon to collapse variants

PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2015 9:23 pm
by NN635060257268196872UL
Last update from PhaseOne: ".... it has been closed by R&D with the statement that this is not a bug but rather how it is designed."

Re: no icon to collapse variants

PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2016 11:10 pm
by NN635060257268196872UL
This seems to be working now again consistently, at least in my Windows version 9.3. Such much for a feature. They have fixed the bug.

Re: no icon to collapse variants

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2018 1:56 pm
by FM
Thanks to all for having posted this...

If this is a "feature" it should be clearly stated somewhere, don't ya think??

Tore out my hair for a couple hours over this.

Ever since adding Fuji GFX support (thank you! thank you!) I have committed to learning Capture One and adopting it as my primary editing software.

Capture One support, tutorials and webinars are great, but I hate banging my head against a wall like this.

Re: no icon to collapse variants

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2018 7:12 pm
by Paul_Steunebrink
FM wrote:Thanks to all for having posted this...

If this is a "feature" it should be clearly stated somewhere, don't ya think??

Tore out my hair for a couple hours over this.

Ever since adding Fuji GFX support (thank you! thank you!) I have committed to learning Capture One and adopting it as my primary editing software.

Capture One support, tutorials and webinars are great, but I hate banging my head against a wall like this.

If you have an issue or question, just ask, don't wait. Walls have a different purpose. :mrgreen:

You'd probably are on CO11 or 12, so you can ask in one of these forums.