Camera's timestamp out of sync.. need to fix

General discussion regarding photography practices and Capture One workflow as well as integration with third party applications.
Please DO NOT post to this thread regarding OS specific concerns or questions.
Forum rules
For the sake of being thorough, please remember to note if you are using Mac or Windows.
Hopefully this will keep any confusion to a minimum.

Camera's timestamp out of sync.. need to fix

Postby NNN636179069410610679 » Tue Sep 17, 2019 7:02 pm

Hi all, I have an event with 6K images that need sorting and upon exporting need to be synced. These cameras were not synced at the shoot, however, I cannot find out how to TimeSync or batch-edit the Date/Time in CP1.. did they actually leave this feature out??

Coming from Aperture.. this feature was on version 1 way back in 2005. I have been using CP1 for the past two years and still find it completely POS software in comparison and now Apple is forcing us to abandon Aperture with OS13 :cry: I'm not really sure what deal they made with Adobe but CP1 and LR both are trash in comparison.

If you guys tell me CP1 doesn't do this im going to loose my shit.
User avatar
NNN636179069410610679
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 9:49 am
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Camera's timestamp out of sync.. need to fix

Postby SFA » Tue Sep 17, 2019 7:49 pm

Phase have a principle of never editing an original image file and therefore there is no way in C1 to make the changes you seem to need.

Grant
SFA
 
Posts: 6956
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:32 pm

Re: Camera's timestamp out of sync.. need to fix

Postby Delwood » Tue Sep 17, 2019 8:01 pm

You can do it, but not in Capture One. I often work with images from multiple cameras and GPS tracks. It's essential that all the cameras are tracking in real time so the comparison to the GPS location is correct.

I have used HoudahGeo and EXIFtool the make these changes on the original files. If you are working in a session, it is possible to use one of these programs to revise the date and reread. (This can be very helpful when trying to estimate the offset!)

Good Luck from another Aperture refugee.
Delwood
Delwood
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 4:37 am

Re: Camera's timestamp out of sync.. need to fix

Postby NNN636179069410610679 » Tue Sep 17, 2019 8:26 pm

Your f'ng kidding me.. :shock:

CP1 isn't that good. Honest. Its interface is as close as it gets to Aperture, which was the main reason I choose it vs LR, but damn its got lots of issues and missing features that made Aperture such a dman good tool.

OK - So you say it won't do it because it doesn't want to alter the origial file.. as far as I recall in Aperture you had the choice of altering the original files or just in-app/session metadata.. humm, their engineers must be smarter I guess.

Also I found this Image So I think that excuse is clearly out the window since CP1 will rename the file outside of the app.

Fn'g CP1.. thinking maybe I should take a closer look at LR :roll:
User avatar
NNN636179069410610679
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 9:49 am
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Camera's timestamp out of sync.. need to fix

Postby NNN636179069410610679 » Tue Sep 17, 2019 8:28 pm

Delwood wrote:You can do it, but not in Capture One. I often work with images from multiple cameras and GPS tracks. It's essential that all the cameras are tracking in real time so the comparison to the GPS location is correct.

I have used HoudahGeo and EXIFtool the make these changes on the original files. If you are working in a session, it is possible to use one of these programs to revise the date and reread. (This can be very helpful when trying to estimate the offset!)

Good Luck from another Aperture refugee.
Delwood


So I've already culled and edited my images and the last bit I need to do is export.. what you're saying is.. I have to scrap my edits? Or does CP1 automatically re-read the metadata of the updated original files?
User avatar
NNN636179069410610679
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 9:49 am
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Camera's timestamp out of sync.. need to fix

Postby Delwood » Tue Sep 17, 2019 8:47 pm

NNN636179069410610679 wrote:
Delwood wrote:You can do it, but not in Capture One. I often work with images from multiple cameras and GPS tracks. It's essential that all the cameras are tracking in real time so the comparison to the GPS location is correct.

I have used HoudahGeo and EXIFtool the make these changes on the original files. If you are working in a session, it is possible to use one of these programs to revise the date and reread. (This can be very helpful when trying to estimate the offset!)

Good Luck from another Aperture refugee.
Delwood


So I've already culled and edited my images and the last bit I need to do is export.. what you're saying is.. I have to scrap my edits? Or does CP1 automatically re-read the metadata of the updated original files?


No, I'm saying that you didn't loose anything. You can reread metadata from disk from files or XMP side-cars. You can change in Capture One and revise what is written out via export. There are many, many options. It might require poking around in the manual?!
Delwood
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 4:37 am

Re: Camera's timestamp out of sync.. need to fix

Postby Alex1111 » Wed Sep 18, 2019 1:00 am

Delwood wrote: (This can be very helpful when trying to estimate the offset!)

I have tried to make it a habit to take a picture of this screen on a regular basis or before a session to avoid having to estimate. Some cameras seem to loose/gain seconds over months.
https://time.gov/
Alex1111
 
Posts: 305
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2005 6:13 pm

Re: Camera's timestamp out of sync.. need to fix

Postby NNN636179069410610679 » Wed Sep 18, 2019 1:02 am

I imported all the images into Lightroom and easily adjusted the timestamp. So my question now is how does CP1 recognize the change?? What do I have to do, it doesn't seem to be a program that would automatically recognize (much of anything :lol: ).
User avatar
NNN636179069410610679
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 9:49 am
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Camera's timestamp out of sync.. need to fix

Postby NNN636179069410610679 » Wed Sep 18, 2019 1:19 am

apparently what LR did was only in the app (HELLO CP1 is there anyone in there??)

The original file still has the original timestamp. What a bunch of monkies at CP1. Any other advice to fix this shit? I mean I could just start all over and edit in LR but that's not a fun idea; next time I'll think about LR more seriously.
User avatar
NNN636179069410610679
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 9:49 am
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Camera's timestamp out of sync.. need to fix

Postby NNN636179069410610679 » Wed Sep 18, 2019 2:03 am

Im shocked at how much time I've wasted trying to fix this. Found another frustrated CP1 user who made a blog post about it in 2016.. their solution (not a good one). USE APPLE PHOTOS.

Does anyone else know the stupidity working at PhaseOne? Maybe give them all a shout on this issue, seems like every other RAW manager (even apple Photos) can Batch change the timestamp.
User avatar
NNN636179069410610679
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 9:49 am
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Camera's timestamp out of sync.. need to fix

Postby Delwood » Wed Sep 18, 2019 3:16 am

Alex1111 wrote:
Delwood wrote: (This can be very helpful when trying to estimate the offset!)

I have tried to make it a habit to take a picture of this screen on a regular basis or before a session to avoid having to estimate. Some cameras seem to loose/gain seconds over months.
https://time.gov/


Hey Alex1111, I do the same thing with my GPS. Time, location locked in. It’s especially helpful when traveling.

To N*679, the key is to write your time changes back to the file ! It can be in the file or an XMP sidecar file. But ultimately it needs to be written to the file. There is lots of information on the web about how EXIF/IPTC data works. If you’re interested in learning I suggest running exiftool on the files you are revising.

Delwood
Delwood
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 4:37 am

Re: Camera's timestamp out of sync.. need to fix

Postby IanL » Wed Sep 18, 2019 5:02 pm

NNN636179069410610679 wrote:What a bunch of monkies at CP1. Any other advice to fix this shit?


That is highly inappropriate. Your attitude and language choices likely leave lots of people turned off of helping you. Also remember this is a user to user forum so no one form Phase one is likely reading your posts so you aren't even insulting them :D

This person already told you how to fix the times:
Delwood wrote:You can do it, but not in Capture One.

I have used HoudahGeo and EXIFtool the make these changes on the original files.


Use an external tool to adjust the time on the RAW files. The only thing missing is how to get C1 to update the data which you can do by getting C1 to re read (sync I think they call it) the metadata. How to do that is in the manual I am sure you can look it up.

Boom you are done.
IanL
 
Posts: 285
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 12:24 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Camera's timestamp out of sync.. need to fix

Postby Keith Reeder » Sun Sep 22, 2019 10:24 pm

NNN636179069410610679 wrote: What a bunch of monkies at CP1. Any other advice to fix this shit

Just trying to decide what would be best for you, princess - a hug, or a slap?
Keith Reeder
 
Posts: 1231
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 7:43 pm
Location: Blyth, NE England


Return to Workflow and Common Photography Exploration



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests