How avoid loading all the previous catalogues ?

General discussion regarding photography practices and Capture One workflow as well as integration with third party applications.
Please DO NOT post to this thread regarding OS specific concerns or questions.
Forum rules
For the sake of being thorough, please remember to note if you are using Mac or Windows.
Hopefully this will keep any confusion to a minimum.

How avoid loading all the previous catalogues ?

Postby isjn » Sat Aug 04, 2018 1:20 pm

How to avoid C1 to load all the previously opened projects ? When opening C1 I want nothing to be opened, only what I decide after opening.
isjn
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 8:15 am

Re: How avoid loading all the previous catalogues ?

Postby RobiWan » Sat Aug 04, 2018 8:52 pm

The easiest way - close all sessions and catalogs do not want before close C1. (all times the same procedure)
If you want to start with specific or new Session/ catalog holt down "Alt" key and klick on C1 icon.
RobiWan
 
Posts: 392
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2012 1:42 pm

Re: How avoid loading all the previous catalogues ?

Postby Ian3 » Sat Aug 04, 2018 9:02 pm

And, in Preferences, uncheck the box that says Catalog and Session "Open in new window" (2nd item down on the General tab). If it is checked, you can have multiple sessions and catalogs open at once. if it is unchecked, then when you open another session or catalog, the previous one is closed.

Ian
Ian3
 
Posts: 2857
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 3:52 pm
Location: Bristol, England

Re: How avoid loading all the previous catalogues ?

Postby SFA » Sat Aug 04, 2018 9:43 pm

violin108 wrote:How to avoid C1 to load all the previously opened projects ? When opening C1 I want nothing to be opened, only what I decide after opening.


Capture One (a Pro version) only opens as either a Session or a Catalog.

By default it will be the last session or catalogue closed. You can override that to be an empty session or catalogue as described above.

There is no concept of opening C1 as "nothing" and then deciding you want a catalogue or a session.

You can, however, easily open one session or catalogue and proceed to use a different one for you work, closing the orginally opened catalogue or session thereafter.

Or you could always force C1 to open as a new session or catalogue - but I'm not sure you really want to do that either based on what you wrote.

On the other hand if you know that you want to open a specific catalogue or session and it is not the last one you were working on, you can consider finding the catalogue or session file in your file system and click on it to select is for opening and use the operating system file association to chose Capture One as the software to open it.


Grant
SFA
 
Posts: 6711
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:32 pm

Re: How avoid loading all the previous catalogues ?

Postby cdc » Sat Aug 04, 2018 10:36 pm

SFA wrote:There is no concept of opening C1 as "nothing" and then deciding you want a catalogue or a session.


Actually there is, if the last session open was on an external hard drive and that hard drive is not connected to the computer Capture One will open a "Recents" dialog box where you can choose from recent sessions and catalogs as well as make a new session or catalog, or browse. Also, if you close the session window without closing Capture One it will open the "Recents" Dialog box as well.

Personally I would like CO to open like this every time unless you were to click directly on the session that you'd like to open.

On the other hand if you know that you want to open a specific catalogue or session and it is not the last one you were working on, you can consider finding the catalogue or session file in your file system and click on it to select is for opening and use the operating system file association to chose Capture One as the software to open it.


Even when you do this it will open the the last session as well as the one you clicked on if you have "Open in new window" selected.
cdc
 
Posts: 505
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2015 12:15 am

Re: How avoid loading all the previous catalogues ?

Postby SFA » Sat Aug 04, 2018 10:50 pm

CDC,

My point was that the user interface is either a catalogue or a session no matter how you get there.


Grant
SFA
 
Posts: 6711
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:32 pm

Re: How avoid loading all the previous catalogues ?

Postby cdc » Sun Aug 05, 2018 6:03 am

SFA wrote:CDC,

My point was that the user interface is either a catalogue or a session no matter how you get there.


Grant



CO behaves slightly different on Mac vs Windows. On a Mac it can be running without an active session or catalog interface, just a row of menus at the top of the screen. This is also how it is running when the "Recents" dialog box is open that I mentioned earlier. I suspect the OP is asking if there is a way to make it always open in this fashion as opposed to opening the last session.
cdc
 
Posts: 505
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2015 12:15 am

Re: How avoid loading all the previous catalogues ?

Postby Edgephoto » Wed Aug 08, 2018 2:18 am

If you are on a Mac hold down the option key when clicking the program Icon. It will open the "recents" window. This does not work on Windows.
Edgephoto
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2015 6:22 am

Re: How avoid loading all the previous catalogues ?

Postby isjn » Sun Aug 12, 2018 1:13 am

It can easily happen that you open more catalogues. Closing C1 is then quite annoying because you are asked to "backup" each catalogue separately etc. And when opening C1 again, each of the previously opened catalogue, keeps opening again and lets you waiting for a long time, while you don't want any of these catalogues to be open now but you are forced to. Not really user friendly attitude.
isjn
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 8:15 am

Re: How avoid loading all the previous catalogues ?

Postby SFA » Sun Aug 12, 2018 1:28 am

violin108 wrote:It can easily happen that you open more catalogues. Closing C1 is then quite annoying because you are asked to "backup" each catalogue separately etc. And when opening C1 again, each of the previously opened catalogue, keeps opening again and lets you waiting for a long time, while you don't want any of these catalogues to be open now but you are forced to. Not really user friendly attitude.


Do you have multiple catalogues open when you close C1?

If so C1 will open them for you as a courtesy when you restart.

If you close them individually (Using File > Close Window or the Mac equivalent in your case) only the last one that might have been open when C1 was previously closed will be opened as a courtesy. And you can override that as discussed previously.

In the Preferences maintenance window, General Tab, in the section for "Catalogue and Session" if you ensure that there is no tick in the box for "Open in a new Window" you should never end up with more than one Catalog or Session open which should solve at least part of your problem.

HTH.


Grant
SFA
 
Posts: 6711
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:32 pm

Re: How avoid loading all the previous catalogues ?

Postby Smiles » Wed Jun 19, 2019 8:45 am

It's hard to understand why this is different than the PC version. I've had to waste my time looking for an option to change this on the mac version because the mac version is trying to open multiple catalogs on a networked drive that resides on my PC that i'm accessing from my macbook pro. The images themselves are 'offline' ...

So having the mac version looking for images from multiple catalogs ... wastes a lot of my time. It seems the two versions should be build the same way. I'll try the workaround now that I spent time searching for awhile for this thread and don't want to waste more time.

... my thought is this "feature / curse" depending on the users perspective needs a checkbox. (Other than 'only open one window at a time')
Smiles
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2015 2:05 am

Re: How avoid loading all the previous catalogues ?

Postby Ian3 » Wed Jun 19, 2019 8:54 am

Smiles wrote:It's hard to understand why this is different than the PC version.

One of the reasons is the difference between the way Windows and MacOS work. In Windows (if I remember correctly back to my Windows days) if any app whether Capture One, Microsoft Word, etc has more than one document open (In C1 terms that means sessions and/or catalogs) then clicking the x button top right closes each document in turn until the last one when it closes both the document and the app. Whereas in MacOS, the red button top left does not work in quite the same way. Even when you close the last document with the red button, the app is still open.

By the way, I believe you can do the same thing with Windows as with Mac by holding down a key while you open the app - if it isn't Alt, perhaps it's Shift?

Ian
Ian3
 
Posts: 2857
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 3:52 pm
Location: Bristol, England

Re: How avoid loading all the previous catalogues ?

Postby Smiles » Wed Jun 19, 2019 7:50 pm

Ian3 wrote:
Smiles wrote:It's hard to understand why this is different than the PC version.

One of the reasons is the difference between the way Windows and MacOS work. In Windows (if I remember correctly back to my Windows days) if any app whether Capture One, Microsoft Word, etc has more than one document open (In C1 terms that means sessions and/or catalogs) then clicking the x button top right closes each document in turn until the last one when it closes both the document and the app. Whereas in MacOS, the red button top left does not work in quite the same way. Even when you close the last document with the red button, the app is still open.

By the way, I believe you can do the same thing with Windows as with Mac by holding down a key while you open the app - if it isn't Alt, perhaps it's Shift?

Ian


I can see why someone would want to open multiple catalogs at a time. I can also see how the developers might view this as a desirable "feature" and justify it by pointing out that you can close multiple windows on the mac by simply closing the app which close ALL the windows and associated catalogs.

I don't know of a way to do that on the PC since one window - on logical instance of the program, and generally closing on window = closing that instance on a PC.

I'm not sure the inconsistency between that difference between windows and a mac on how windows are CLOSED really justifies creating a difference in how the software OPENS? if you want to create an inconsistency to give some users convenience, then give me a preference box to check to turn that "feature" off.

I'll use the work around for now until i figure some other way to deal with it.
Smiles
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2015 2:05 am

Re: How avoid loading all the previous catalogues ?

Postby Ian3 » Wed Jun 19, 2019 8:01 pm

Unless I am misunderstanding something, I don't think there is any inconsistency in the way that the Windows version and the Mac version open, except that possibly the modifier key that you need to hold down to get a list to choose from instead of opening the previous session(s) or catalog(s) may be different - Alt in the case of a Mac, and I am not sure what in the case of Windows.

Ian
Ian3
 
Posts: 2857
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 3:52 pm
Location: Bristol, England


Return to Workflow and Common Photography Exploration



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests