Tethering issue: how to capture to computer and card togethe

General discussion regarding photography practices and Capture One workflow as well as integration with third party applications.
Please DO NOT post to this thread regarding OS specific concerns or questions.
Forum rules
For the sake of being thorough, please remember to note if you are using Mac or Windows.
Hopefully this will keep any confusion to a minimum.

Tethering issue: how to capture to computer and card togethe

Postby NNN637063867915126012 » Tue Dec 10, 2019 2:48 pm

I have Capture One Pro 20 and I'm tethered to MacBook Air, but I can't figure out how to capture to both the computer's hard drive as well as capturing to the camera's (EOS 5D MK4) CF and SD cards at the same time?

When tethered I only capture to the computer hard drive, but I'd like to record the files to the camera's card too for back up in case computer hard drive dies during a shoot.

Anybody know how I do this?
NNN637063867915126012
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2019 11:33 am

Re: Tethering issue: how to capture to computer and card tog

Postby Ian3 » Tue Dec 10, 2019 2:54 pm

Generally speaking, you can’t. (I don’t use tethering myself, but that’s my understanding.)

Ian
Ian3
 
Posts: 3421
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 3:52 pm
Location: Bristol, England

Re: Tethering issue: how to capture to computer and card tog

Postby NNN637063867915126012 » Tue Dec 10, 2019 3:34 pm

You can with Canon EOS Utility, it's a basic feature. Most other tethering software allow this, just wondering why Capture One does not, if you can't?
NNN637063867915126012
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2019 11:33 am

Re: Tethering issue: how to capture to computer and card tog

Postby Ian3 » Tue Dec 10, 2019 4:10 pm

I believe that the usual explanation is to do with writing to the card being a speed bottleneck.

Ian
Ian3
 
Posts: 3421
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 3:52 pm
Location: Bristol, England

Re: Tethering issue: how to capture to computer and card tog

Postby NNN637063867915126012 » Tue Dec 10, 2019 4:14 pm

So it can't be done with Capture One?

I wish they would write the code in to give it as an option so we can choose to have bottle-neck or not. With Canon EOS Utility software I write to computer and both cards in camera and the speed is identical.
NNN637063867915126012
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2019 11:33 am

Re: Tethering issue: how to capture to computer and card tog

Postby Ian3 » Tue Dec 10, 2019 4:16 pm

As far as I know it can't be done, though it's possible it can be done with some camera makes. As I said, I don't use tethering myself, so I am no expert. Perhaps someone with experience of tethering will participate on this thread soon.

Ian
Ian3
 
Posts: 3421
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 3:52 pm
Location: Bristol, England

Re: Tethering issue: how to capture to computer and card tog

Postby SFA » Tue Dec 10, 2019 7:00 pm

NNN637063867915126012 wrote:So it can't be done with Capture One?

I wish they would write the code in to give it as an option so we can choose to have bottle-neck or not. With Canon EOS Utility software I write to computer and both cards in camera and the speed is identical.


Which editor does EOS Utility load to and how does it control the camera?

Are you sure there is no speed reduction? Is is maximising the speed options?

You are writing to 2 cards (which will have their individual limitations) plus the computer via a connection speed the may vary AND rely on the write speed available at the computer end. An then loading into some editing software.

That also means you have to rely on the camera generated file names I assume.

You could continue to work that way using the Hot Folder functionality but that is somewhat different to C1 tethering where C1 takes control of the camera rather then waiting for the camera controlled files to be delivered to it.

Might work best for you though.


Grant
SFA
 
Posts: 7570
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:32 pm

Re: Tethering issue: how to capture to computer and card tog

Postby Paul_Steunebrink » Tue Dec 10, 2019 9:46 pm

Until recently, tethering to Capture One means 'not writing to card'. To safeguard your images, you could have a backup utility running between shoots, or during the shoot if it is not eating to many resources from your computer. For Mac, ChronoSync is often mentioned.

More recently, Phase One's IQ4 150 can write to card while tethering. Also selected Fujifilm and Sony cameras have an option to write to card during tethering. Note that this is a feature of the hardware, not the software, and must be configured explicitly.
User avatar
Paul_Steunebrink
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
 
Posts: 9933
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Tethering issue: how to capture to computer and card tog

Postby NNN637063867915126012 » Fri Dec 13, 2019 10:33 am

Ok, thank you for the replies so far, but there is a tad of confusion so far, so, to clarify.

Canon EOS Utility allows me to tether to computer and record images to computer's hard drive while, simultaneously, recording the same RAW images to both cards in camera. EOS Utility controls the camera, just like C1 does. There might be a slight bottleneck, but I have not noticed, and even if there was I don't mind, I do studio stuff so only need one frame every 2 seconds and I only shoot about four or five shots during any 10 seconds then I stop for a minute.

Yes, I could set up EOS Utility to use C1 as the 'export to' software, but this is long-winded and I'd rather just use one piece of software.

Come on Capture One developers, write this feature in as we need it for back-up purposes. I like RAW files to go to card and computer HD at same time.
NNN637063867915126012
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2019 11:33 am

Re: Tethering issue: how to capture to computer and card tog

Postby NNN637063867915126012 » Fri Dec 13, 2019 10:36 am

Paul_Steunebrink wrote: For Mac, ChronoSync is often mentioned.


Not sure about ChonoSync as it is $50 and Apple's own, free built in 'Time Machine' is a back up device. I have a 250GB portable Sandisk SSD connected to my Laptop while tethering using C1, but the only trouble with Time Machine is it only auto backs up every hour and while on location I'd do an entire shoot during an hour and nail 100 plus shots with a model on location so I'd rather the auto back up did it's thing every 5 minutes. That would not take up too much strain on laptop resources as that, plus C1, would be the only two programmes running and I would set the Time Machine to only back up my 'images' folder and to ignore everything else.

Course, I could just hit the 'back up Time Machine now' button every 5 minutes, but I would not remember.
NNN637063867915126012
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2019 11:33 am

Re: Tethering issue: how to capture to computer and card tog

Postby NNN637063867915126012 » Fri Dec 13, 2019 11:06 am

Just downloaded and tried demo of Chronosync, it's no good as, like Time Machine, you can only set it to back up every 1 hour at the fastest, not every 10 minutes.
NNN637063867915126012
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2019 11:33 am

Re: Tethering issue: how to capture to computer and card tog

Postby ClauS » Fri Dec 13, 2019 11:24 am

NNN637063867915126012 wrote:Ok, thank you for the replies so far, but there is a tad of confusion so far, so, to clarify.

Canon EOS Utility allows me to tether to computer and record images to computer's hard drive while, simultaneously, recording the same RAW images to both cards in camera. EOS Utility controls the camera, just like C1 does. There might be a slight bottleneck, but I have not noticed, and even if there was I don't mind, I do studio stuff so only need one frame every 2 seconds and I only shoot about four or five shots during any 10 seconds then I stop for a minute.

Yes, I could set up EOS Utility to use C1 as the 'export to' software, but this is long-winded and I'd rather just use one piece of software.

Come on Capture One developers, write this feature in as we need it for back-up purposes. I like RAW files to go to card and computer HD at same time.


EOS utility is a proprietary software so it is supposed to be able to access every camera feature. That doesn't mean Capture can do it. Also EOS Utility is obviously targeted to Canon cameras only. Capture One is not, the list is very long, so it couldn't be convenient for them to add specific cameras features for every model. You could submit a request to support but consider that Capture One studio is already able to perform an automatic backup when shooting tethered, so...
ClauS
 
Posts: 192
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 1:29 pm

Re: Tethering issue: how to capture to computer and card tog

Postby NNN637063867915126012 » Fri Dec 13, 2019 2:32 pm

ClauS wrote:
NNN637063867915126012 wrote:... but consider that Capture One studio is already able to perform an automatic backup when shooting tethered, so...


How do you set C1 to do auto backup when shooting tethered?
NNN637063867915126012
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2019 11:33 am

Re: Tethering issue: how to capture to computer and card tog

Postby NNN637063867915126012 » Fri Dec 13, 2019 2:52 pm

Paul_Steunebrink wrote:Until recently, tethering to Capture One means 'not writing to card'. To safeguard your images, you could have a backup utility running between shoots, or during the shoot if it is not eating to many resources from your computer. For Mac, ChronoSync is often mentioned.

More recently, Phase One's IQ4 150 can write to card while tethering. Also selected Fujifilm and Sony cameras have an option to write to card during tethering. Note that this is a feature of the hardware, not the software, and must be configured explicitly.


ChronoSync is no good as only backs up every hour and during a busy tethered shooting sessioin that's too long, need it to do every 15 minutes.

Re your comment about hardware feature at the end, doe you mean I have to set this up via my EOS 5D MK4 camera/laptop? Can't be done. If the software does not do it, end of story...

Somebody said, later in this thread, that Capture One can do an 'automatic backup' while shooting tethered. How does this work and can I set C1 to shoot to two hard drives on the computer at the same time when tethered?
NNN637063867915126012
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2019 11:33 am

Re: Tethering issue: how to capture to computer and card tog

Postby ClauS » Fri Dec 13, 2019 4:13 pm

NNN637063867915126012 wrote:
ClauS wrote:
NNN637063867915126012 wrote:... but consider that Capture One studio is already able to perform an automatic backup when shooting tethered, so...


How do you set C1 to do auto backup when shooting tethered?


Probably you missed that it's a feature of Capture One Studio (or Enterprise) only. And somewhere I read only for Mac. It's aimed to big studios and costs almost 900€/year. You can read about its exclusive features on Paul's blog:

https://imagealchemist.net/capture-one-12-1-review/

I meant that probably they would be reclutant to develop something they already implemented in a different way and ask a lot of money for. But you can submit a request nontheless.
ClauS
 
Posts: 192
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 1:29 pm

Next

Return to Workflow and Common Photography Exploration



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MarkPhotophart and 2 guests