Importing RAW when available, JPEG otherwise

General discussion regarding photography practices and Capture One workflow as well as integration with third party applications.
Please DO NOT post to this thread regarding OS specific concerns or questions.
Forum rules
For the sake of being thorough, please remember to note if you are using Mac or Windows.
Hopefully this will keep any confusion to a minimum.

Importing RAW when available, JPEG otherwise

Postby msundman » Tue Dec 03, 2019 12:56 am

I sometimes shoot RAW+JPEG and sometimes JPEG only. For the pictures that have RAW+JPEG I want to import only the RAW, and for the JPEG only I want to import the JPEG (obviously).
How can I do this without having to manually go through all files one-by-one?
msundman
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 8:00 pm

Re: Importing RAW when available, JPEG otherwise

Postby LarsH » Tue Dec 03, 2019 6:37 am

Your camera has only one slot? In Finder you can sort files.
LarsH
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2018 12:46 pm
Location: Berlin, Ger

Re: Importing RAW when available, JPEG otherwise

Postby msundman » Tue Dec 03, 2019 11:07 am

LarsH wrote:Your camera has only one slot?

That's irrelevant. I'm not importing from the cards, I'm importing from the folders where I store the photos (and leaving the photos where they are).

LarsH wrote:In Finder you can sort files.

I'm not usually using macs, but even if I did, how would sorting files help me?
msundman
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 8:00 pm

Re: Importing RAW when available, JPEG otherwise

Postby LarsH » Tue Dec 03, 2019 11:50 am

You can pickup all JPG and/ or all RAW with one click and set it to the right folder. The windows browser can do the same, I believe.
LarsH
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2018 12:46 pm
Location: Berlin, Ger

Re: Importing RAW when available, JPEG otherwise

Postby msundman » Wed Dec 04, 2019 3:45 am

LarsH wrote:You can pickup all JPG and/ or all RAW with one click and set it to the right folder. The windows browser can do the same, I believe.

Did you even read my original question?

Let's say I have the following files in a folder:
  • P001.JPG
  • P002.JPG
  • P002.DNG
  • P003.JPG
  • P003.DNG
  • P004.JPG
Now, how do I import P001.JPG, P002.DNG, P003.DNG, and P004.JPG (but NOT P002.JPG or P003.JPG) to a Capture One Catalogue (without moving any files anywhere)?
msundman
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 8:00 pm

Re: Importing RAW when available, JPEG otherwise

Postby LarsH » Wed Dec 04, 2019 8:09 am

Ja, my english is to less.
LarsH
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2018 12:46 pm
Location: Berlin, Ger

Re: Importing RAW when available, JPEG otherwise

Postby SFA » Wed Dec 04, 2019 1:27 pm

I can think of some ways that might help but that would be useless if you might ever use the "Synchronise" option.

When I used to shoot RAW + JPG I just imported all of them (sessions not catalogue but no real difference in this respect) and mostly ignored the jpgs that also had RAW files.

There are way to import only RAW or only JPG but no obvious "only when" option.

You can, however, use a filter to select images in a folder even on import. So if you can make a filter in some way then you may be able to achieve what you want.

Whether doing that is more effective than simply importing and eliminating the JPGs where DNGs exist is probably a question of how many images you are likely to have needing the segregation.


HTH.


Grant
SFA
 
Posts: 7079
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:32 pm

Re: Importing RAW when available, JPEG otherwise

Postby msundman » Wed Dec 04, 2019 3:07 pm

SFA wrote:I can think of some ways that might help but that would be useless if you might ever use the "Synchronise" option.

That's ok, I don't need to synchronize the imports. Also, I don't mind importing twice, like once for raws and once for jpegs, if that would make the problem easier. I also wouldn't mind importing all and then removing the duplicate jpegs, if that makes it easier.

SFA wrote:When I used to shoot RAW + JPG I just imported all of them (sessions not catalogue but no real difference in this respect) and mostly ignored the jpgs that also had RAW files.

I really don't want thousands of duplicates in my catalogue/session and having to manually check for each if it has a raw or not.

SFA wrote:You can, however, use a filter to select images in a folder even on import. So if you can make a filter in some way then you may be able to achieve what you want.

Any ideas on how to do that?
Can filters use code-snippets? For example, I would have no problem at all doing this in bash:
Code: Select all
[ -f "${filename%.*}.JPG" ] && [ "${filename##*.}" != "JPG" ]
Or can CaptureOne filters only have patterns without any logic?
msundman
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 8:00 pm

Re: Importing RAW when available, JPEG otherwise

Postby SFA » Wed Dec 04, 2019 10:06 pm

If you are on a Mac you might look at Applescript.

I'm a Windows person so have no useful knowledge of Applescript in this context but there are people in the forum who might be able to suggest something.

I would guess that importing all and then running a script that would check for duplicate names ignoring file type, create a list and then delete (using C1) the duplicates listed but only the jog versions would be one approach.

Obviously import all then go through and delete duplicates manually would be an options though perhaps a little tedious.

Maybe import the RAWs to their own folder, create a file name list comma separated and save it.

Then import the jpgs (possibly to their own folder for now) and work out a filter approach that would allow the list to be used to exclude jpgs with those file names as part of the import process?

Failing that there is an option use a list for 'selection' purposes. For example for selecting a list of images to process based on a client's choices. It's not something I have need to look at for a while but that might be usable to create a separation of already imported images in order to make deletion easier.

There may be another approach based on any special import naming you may be using and the "Pair Raws and jpgs" option in "Naming". However, as that is not something I have ever used I'm not sure if it could be set up in such a way that it would make identification and elimination of unwanted jpgs, post import, a viable approach for your needs.

Sorry I can't offer more - this is a subject that I cannot recall ever seeing discussed during my years of using this forum.


Grant
SFA
 
Posts: 7079
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:32 pm

Re: Importing RAW when available, JPEG otherwise

Postby msundman » Wed Dec 04, 2019 11:52 pm

SFA wrote:If you are on a Mac you might look at Applescript.

My CrapBook Pro is really horrible, so I'm mostly using windows for CaptureOne (only because it's not available for linux).

SFA wrote:I would guess that importing all and then running a script that would check for duplicate names ignoring file type, create a list and then delete (using C1) the duplicates listed but only the jog versions would be one approach.

I can easily get a list of duplicates (for example using the bash snippet above), but how will that help me? How can I tell C1 to remove a list of files from a catalogue/session?

SFA wrote:Failing that there is an option use a list for 'selection' purposes. For example for selecting a list of images to process based on a client's choices.

That sounds interesting. Any idea where I can find out more about using a list (in text form, one line per file?) to select those in C1?

SFA wrote:There may be another approach based on any special import naming you may be using and the "Pair Raws and jpgs" option in "Naming".

Do you mean something like renaming the files above like
  • J001.JPG
  • R002.JPG
  • R002.DNG
  • R003.JPG
  • R003.DNG
  • J004.JPG
and then importing all J*.JPG and R*.DNG?
That's not a bad idea at all. However, I really prefer not to let my software dictate how I name my files. I prefer to use yyyymmdd-hhmmss,n.??? [*] format, and really want to keep it that way.
Maybe if I could rename them temporarily, then import, then rename them back, then have C1 find and re-link the correct files again, but will it?

[*] Instead of '???' I tried to write 3 x's, but that got censored. Why the heck is 3 x's censored?!?

SFA wrote:this is a subject that I cannot recall ever seeing discussed during my years of using this forum.

Thanks for your input. I have seen a similar question from someone who was trying to match pictures from 2 different cards (shooting JPEGs to one card and RAWs to another). Usually people do ridiculously labor-intensive and/or error-prone tasks by hand without complaining. To me that's like accepting getting raped, and I prefer not to be raped by my software if at all possible.
Any which way, I think opening the right files is such a basic task that any half-decent image processor should implement that before anything else. Seems like PhaseOne either disagrees or is still at phase zero in their C1 development..
msundman
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 8:00 pm

Re: Importing RAW when available, JPEG otherwise

Postby SFA » Thu Dec 05, 2019 1:21 am

It's possible to do some fairly powerful file naming on import - token based and/or free text.

If you could come up with some identification method that you could insert into the name at input time and then use to ID the "duplicate" file names with the jpg file type that would make the unwanted files easy to select.

C1 has some powerful renaming features so removing the temporary identifier and setting your preferred convention should be easy enough if you can make it work in the first place. Do the renaming in C1 after import and all of the changes should be carried through to the catalogue or session database. Don;t do the renaming of a C1 active image outside C1 unless you feel a need to add to your workload.

Imports can be selected for specific file types (by exclusion) or by the full filtering/search functionality.
So Only DNG file types or only jpg file types would be easy.

You should be able to use the "Select by Filename List" function if you have a list of the unwanted jpgs. Once you have the selection you can do what you want with it - presumably delete them? Or at least move them away from the files you want to work with.

So if the duplicate come up in fairly large sequences it's probably not too difficult to simply import all, select the large sequence, filter it to select only the jpgs and remove them.

If it's all random then you might well benefit from scripting a list and then using the list to select and remove as required.

Does that take your thinking a little further?


Grant
SFA
 
Posts: 7079
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:32 pm

Re: Importing RAW when available, JPEG otherwise

Postby msundman » Thu Dec 05, 2019 2:45 am

SFA wrote:It's possible to do some fairly powerful file naming on import - token based and/or free text.

Actually it seems to be one of the least powerful I've seen in my life.
I thought you might be on to something, but once again the extreme limitations of this software thwarts any attempt to do something useful.

SFA wrote:If you could come up with some identification method that you could insert into the name at input time and then use to ID the "duplicate" file names with the jpg file type that would make the unwanted files easy to select.

Yes, something like that could work great if C1 wasn't so incredibly limiting.
Let's say I have the files from before:
  • P001.JPG
  • P002.JPG
  • P002.DNG
  • P003.JPG
  • P003.DNG
  • P004.JPG
This could be done at import preferably, or as in-Catalog rename:
  1. First I would import/rename the DNG files' references in the Catalog to (Image Name).BEST:
    • P002.DNG -> P002.BEST
    • P003.DNG -> P003.BEST
  2. Then I would import/rename the JPEG files the same, but excluding duplicates:
    • P001.JPG -> P001.BEST
    • P002.JPG -> nothing because P002.BEST already exists.
    • P003.JPG -> nothing because P003.BEST already exists.
    • P004.JPG -> P004.BEST
  3. Then depending on how P002.JPG and P003.JPG would end up I'd figure out how to remove them from the Catalog
Already at step 1 we run into idiotic problems:
  • Pictures can't be renamed without renaming the actual files on disk! Whyyyy, PhaseOne, whyyy? It's like forcing a symlink to have the same name as the node it's pointing to. *facepalm*
  • C1 doesn't allow me to change/remove the extension, so I can't make the files clash! Whyyy?? Why on earth do I need to include the *existing* (or *any*) extension in the picture's name?!? *facepalm*
It's like PhaseOne has added arbitrary limitations and restrictions into C1 for no purpose other than to make life difficult for users. A few of these things I'd understand could have been accidents, but I'm encountering these idiocies All! The! Time! It seems unlikely that they could make so many "accidents" without deliberate sabotage. PhaseOne, one of your project managers is a mole from a competing company, working against you!

SFA wrote:C1 has some powerful renaming features so removing the temporary identifier and setting your preferred convention should be easy enough if you can make it work in the first place. Do the renaming in C1 after import and all of the changes should be carried through to the catalogue or session database.

How? Where would you put that identifier? How would you then select the JPEG duplicates?

SFA wrote:You should be able to use the "Select by Filename List" function if you have a list of the unwanted jpgs. Once you have the selection you can do what you want with it - presumably delete them? Or at least move them away from the files you want to work with.

I would remove the files from the Catalog, but where can I find this "Select by Filename List" function?
msundman
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 8:00 pm


Return to Workflow and Common Photography Exploration



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests