Tip: PC (!) graphics card for Mac Pro (tower)

Discussions, questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One PRO, Capture One DB and Capture One Express 7.x

Tip: PC (!) graphics card for Mac Pro (tower)

Postby Jeroen11 » Sat Aug 30, 2014 7:31 pm

For those interested, I bought a PC-videocard (!), a Gigabyte R9 280X (GV-R928XOC-3GD Rev. 2.0) to replace the original HD-5770 in my 2010 Mac Pro 5.1 - 3.33GHz 6-Core. Works like a charm right out of the box (unflashed bios) running on 6>6-pin power cable (came with Mac) + 6>8-pin power cable (bought on eBay). I have dual 24" Eizo's running from the card, no glitches, 100% stable.

The boot screen (grey with apple logo) doesn't show, but the login-screen does. C1pro is indeed utilizing the OpenCL, as proven from ~/Library/Logs/CaptureOneICOCL.log & ~/Library/Logs/CaptureOneICP.log with a benchmark of 0.111 (lower is better) :-)

Luxmark 2.1 (tests OpenCL performance):
Sala scene GPU only: 2348
Room scene GPU only: 1223
That's just as fast a the new 2013 Mac Pro with d500 video cards!

C1pro v7.2.3 (prefs > General > Hardware Acceleration: auto, auto):
20 x raws from D800e (14 bit lossless compression, full size 24x36mm) convert to 16-bit Tiff's in 38", or less than 2" each.
Image previews generate really, really fast.

If you want to keep you Mac Pro tower running C1pro smoothly for a few more years, this is an excellent upgrade for only €250 (new, or buy used for ~€150) + €10 for the extra power cable, especially compared to the Nvidea cards the Apple Store still offers (much slower OpenCL, thus C1pro also, and really expensive at €909 and €2259).

Notes:
1] A 280x may not work on OS-X 10.8.x or lower. I run 10.9.4 Mavericks (added benefits: faster OS than 10.8x, memory-compression and OpenCL is ~10% faster)
2] 280x-cards from other manufacturers like XFX are not always working. Lots of info on http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/board,6.0.html
3] Fan noise at idle is ~45db, identical to the original videocard (HD-5770). Never goes up in Photoshop or C1pro, only in Luxmark to ~48-49db, and even that is perfectly acceptable to my sensitive ears.
4] No boot screen may present a problem if you run OS-X and windows from Bootcamp. Same with Apple Hardware Test, so keep your old videocard or flash the new card yourself (how-to's on http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/board,6.0.html but too complicated IMHO) or have it done by http://macvidcards.com for US$ 115.
5] C1 may not offer support if you experience problems running C1pro, see recommended cards by C1 http://www.phaseone.com/en/search/artic ... nguageid=1 Again, keep that original graphics card.
Jeroen11
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 12:17 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Tip: PC (!) graphics card for Mac Pro (tower)

Postby Mario152 » Tue Sep 02, 2014 6:49 pm

Hi Jeroen11,
I am looking for a new graphic card for my MacPro 4,1 which is similar to your MacPro 5,1.

May I ask you some questions?

1. You are using the internal power connectors - right?
Is there enough power for using all 4 hard drive bays, one optical bay for a sad drive and the original optical drive?

2. Are all the monitor connectors are working?

3. Any troubles using different monitor resolutions?

5. Does it run stable under much load? Meaning C1+some graphic card benchmark tools?

Thanks for answers.
Mario152
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 6:31 pm

Re: Tip: PC (!) graphics card for Mac Pro (tower)

Postby Jeroen11 » Wed Sep 03, 2014 6:50 pm

Hi Mario,

Your 4.1 should work just as well with this card.

1. Yes, I'm using 2 internal 6-pin connectors. I have 2 hdd's and 3 ssd's in my MP, plus the dvd drive.
2. I have 1 screen connected through VGA and the other via Mini DisplayPort <-> VGA Adapter. Didn't try HDMI.
3. Both screens run at max res 1920x1200px, haven't tried other resolutions.
5. I ran Furmark benchmarking software which *really* stresses out the graphics card. No stability issues at various settings, but I didn't run other software at the same time.

By the way, the 6 > 8 pin power connector can be bought here: http://www.ebay.de/itm/1x-Mac-Pro-G5-mi ... OU:NL:3160

Hope this helps!
Jeroen11
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 12:17 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Tip: PC (!) graphics card for Mac Pro (tower)

Postby Mario152 » Thu Sep 04, 2014 1:49 pm

Hi Jeroen11,

I assume that you haven't flashed your card, if so can you please check one thing in the system profiler of your mac pro:

Under hardware -> PCI-Cards:

Name of the grafic card:

Name: ATY,MotMot
Typ: Monitor-Controller
Treiber installiert: Ja
MSI: Ja
Bus: PCI
Steckplatz: Slot-1
Hersteller-ID: 0x1002
Geräte-ID: 0x9440
Subsystem-Hersteller-ID: 0x106b
Subsystem-ID: 0x00b2
Versions-ID: 0x0000
Link-Breite: x16
Link-Geschwindigkeit: 5.0 GT/s

Please check the Link-Speed. Can you send me a screen shot?
Thanks again.
Mario152
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 6:31 pm

Re: Tip: PC (!) graphics card for Mac Pro (tower)

Postby Jeroen11 » Fri Sep 05, 2014 8:55 am

Mine is unflashed. It has PCI-1 speed (2,5 gbs) but the lower speed only affects 3D-software and games like MS Flight, C1pro an PS are not affected. The card does not show up in 'system profiler > PCI-cards', but it does under 'video':

Screenshot: https://www.dropbox.com/s/ewrfy1200hsxkdd/280x.png?dl=0
Jeroen11
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 12:17 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Tip: PC (!) graphics card for Mac Pro (tower)

Postby Mario152 » Fri Sep 05, 2014 3:52 pm

What do you mean
Jeroen11 wrote:The card does not show up in 'system profiler > PCI-cards'


There is nothing written in the system profiler?
Because there should be the Link-speed which should be 5.0 GT/s. If not the card is running slower than it could.

May I ask you again for a screen shot. Or can you check the link speed some where else?
Thanks!
Mario152
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 6:31 pm


Return to Capture One 7.x Software



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests