Nikon D810 SDK

Discussions, questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One PRO, Capture One DB and Capture One Express 8x and 7.x

Nikon D810 SDK

Postby brucehead » Tue Aug 12, 2014 12:00 pm

Had a look on https://sdk.nikonimaging.com/apply/ and the sdk for the D810 is not released yet, perhaps this might be holding up an update for C1, the NEF RAW SDK is up on this site, that's presumably why Adobe has a result with Camera RAW 8.6. The SDK for the D4s was released by Nikon on the 16/05/2014, camera was released front end of March so two months after the camera, guess we may have a wait…. :(
brucehead
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2004 10:32 am
Location: UK

Re: Nikon D810 SDK

Postby Drew » Tue Aug 12, 2014 12:34 pm

... maybe!

Again, I can't say it enough... we're working on it and everyones patience is appreciated.
Drew
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 4370
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2008 2:34 pm
Location: Copenhagen, DK / NY, NY

Re: Nikon D810 SDK

Postby brucehead » Wed Aug 13, 2014 8:00 pm

Ok bearing in mind that the SDK has been released for the file format, hence Adobe camera RAW 8.6. It would be just amazing if we could process our captured to memory card images in C1Pro, therefore keeping our work flow intact, I may speak for myself, but tethered would be just great, but have no immediate expectations, bearing in mind that the SDK has not been released. Hey Drew, any chance of this….? :D
brucehead
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2004 10:32 am
Location: UK

Re: Nikon D810 SDK

Postby NNN635125228139971356 » Wed Aug 13, 2014 9:13 pm

Lightroom 5.0 has support for the D810 according to its website.
NNN635125228139971356
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 4:26 pm

Re: Nikon D810 SDK

Postby brucehead » Wed Aug 13, 2014 9:42 pm

Hi,

Yes it does it's Adobe, so uses the Camera RAW 8.6 Plugin, utilised by photoshop, bridge etc.
brucehead
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2004 10:32 am
Location: UK

Re: Nikon D810 SDK

Postby brucehead » Fri Sep 05, 2014 7:03 am

The SDK is now available from Nikon.

https://sdk.nikonimaging.com/apply/

So a C1 Pro that works with the D810, hopefully sometime soon….? :D
brucehead
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2004 10:32 am
Location: UK

Re: Nikon D810 SDK

Postby NNN635427605552427095 » Fri Sep 05, 2014 12:50 pm

Support just told me there were unable to give any indication as to the timing of D810 support. Can anyone from Phase One provide a very rough indication - not a commitment, not something you need to be held to, just the broadest of guesstimates (i.e. something just a little bit more specific than 'as soon as we can'). I completely understand you're working as hard and as fast as possible, it would just be very helpful for planning purposes to get some idea.

Out of interest, why don't the camera manufacturers work with the important software companies in this space before the launch of a new model? This may not be the correct analogy but it's not as if Intel would put a new chip into the market without giving Microsoft more than just a heads up...
NNN635427605552427095
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2014 3:49 pm

Re: Nikon D810 SDK

Postby Drew » Fri Sep 05, 2014 1:01 pm

Soon. Thats as specific as I can be. :wink:
The SDK was JUST made available yesterday so, we're having a look at it now and will release an update when we can successfully implement support.

NNN635427605552427095 wrote:Out of interest, why don't the camera manufacturers work with the important software companies in this space before the launch of a new model?

Some certainly do, Sony for example is quite good to us. However, not all companies like to cooperate for the greater good :(
Drew
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 4370
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2008 2:34 pm
Location: Copenhagen, DK / NY, NY

Re: Nikon D810 SDK

Postby NNN635427605552427095 » Fri Sep 05, 2014 5:14 pm

Some certainly do, Sony for example is quite good to us. However, not all companies like to cooperate for the greater good :(


Do you think there is anything we (the Nikon customer) can do in terms of feedback to encourage greater cooperation in the future? I suspect I'm being naive but it is a ridiculous situation. I've been modifying the metadata of my D810 files to get CO7 to import them (I know, you don't approve!). It's crazy to think this kind of crude hacking is required to develop photos from a new Nikon model, just because they haven't invested more time in working with PhaseOne in advance.
NNN635427605552427095
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2014 3:49 pm

Re: Nikon D810 SDK

Postby Gregory » Sun Sep 07, 2014 3:05 am

The beta supports the D810 so how are you saying you are just barely going to look at D810 support now that the SDK is out? DxO didn't need the SDK. Adobe didn't need the SDK. And it doesn't appear that Phase One needs the SDK since you already support it in a beta that was released before the SDK was available.
Last edited by Drew on Sun Sep 07, 2014 3:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Links deleted. Prerelease software not allowed on the forum... sorry.
Gregory
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 6:18 am

Re: Nikon D810 SDK

Postby Jimmy D Uptain » Sun Sep 07, 2014 6:52 am

Gregory wrote:The beta supports the D810 so how are you saying you are just barely going to look at D810 support now that the SDK is out? DxO didn't need the SDK. Adobe didn't need the SDK. And it doesn't appear that Phase One needs the SDK since you already support it in a beta that was released before the SDK was available.


I normally don't respond to these type of posts, but I'm gonna make an exception.
There is a reason why folks tend to use C1 vs LR or DXO. Its about the look that C1 gives.
If it takes 'em a little longer to get the recipe right, then so be it.

I have a good feeling that Nikon is harder to deal with in general. Look how long it took Profoto to get Nikon TTL in their air remote. Same goes for Pocket Wizard.

Do ya want it fast or right?
Last edited by Drew on Sun Sep 07, 2014 3:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Links deleted. Prerelease software not allowed on the forum... sorry.
User avatar
Jimmy D Uptain
 
Posts: 312
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 10:51 pm

Re: Nikon D810 SDK

Postby photohq » Sun Sep 07, 2014 7:25 am

Jimmy D Uptain wrote:Do ya want it fast or right?


BOTH!

The forced workflow change has cost me dearly. RAW file support should be a separate update to version upgrades.
photohq
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 2:05 pm

Re: Nikon D810 SDK

Postby NN635429690439986810UL » Sun Sep 07, 2014 12:09 pm

Where is this update, i Bought this software in the hope that the Nikon D810 raw update would be released shortly. :(
NN635429690439986810UL
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 1:44 am

Re: Nikon D810 SDK

Postby Keith Reeder » Sun Sep 07, 2014 2:56 pm

NN635429690439986810UL wrote:Where is this update, i Bought this software in the hope that the Nikon D810 raw update would be released shortly. :(

Would it kill you to actually read what has been said by Phase One on this thread? You'll get the update when you get it.

Phase One never pre-announces, and there was no basis whatsoever for you to assume that you should buy the software because there'd be a release "shortly".

If you want to guarantee support from your converter of choice, wait until support is delivered before you buy your new camera. It's that simple, and Phase One didn't force you to buy a D810.
Keith Reeder
 
Posts: 1281
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 7:43 pm
Location: Blyth, NE England

Re: Nikon D810 SDK

Postby Keith Reeder » Sun Sep 07, 2014 2:57 pm

photohq wrote:RAW file support should be a separate update to version upgrades.

And it would still take as long as it takes. The process itself takes time, and that won't change simply because Phase One chooses a different delivery mechanism.

There are also a slew of logistical and resourcing reasons why this idea is a non-starter, but they should be obvious enough not to go into here.
Keith Reeder
 
Posts: 1281
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 7:43 pm
Location: Blyth, NE England

Next

Return to Capture One 8.x and 7.x Software



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests