Macbook pro retina 15, with dedicated GPU?

Discussions, questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One PRO, Capture One DB and Capture One Express 8x and 7.x

Macbook pro retina 15, with dedicated GPU?

Postby NN634868051741997782UL » Fri Aug 08, 2014 10:22 pm

I'm planning the move from a 2010 imac (i7 24GB RAM, SSD, 1 GB AMD GPU) to a 15" retina macbook pro, I'm expecting to get at least the same performance and I'm trying to decide if it makes sense to get the one with the GT 750 or to stick with the base model and upgrade SSD and processor to match or even get the top of the line.

Main use will be tethering to capture one and retouching, so I'd like to know it openCL will work fine with the GT 750 It should work as it has 2GB of RAM but it may not be powerful enough compared to the iris pro :?:
NN634868051741997782UL
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 12:39 am

Re: Macbook pro retina 15, with dedicated GPU?

Postby Drew » Mon Aug 11, 2014 1:07 pm

At this time the GT 750M works, but performance increase is a minimum.
Unfortunately that particular chipset is not very powerful and the Laptops by nature restrict how much power the GPU can use and thus, how much performance gain you'll get.

If you're looking to replace an iMac with a stationary system, and OpenCL performance is where'd you like to see the most improvement, a MacPro is a much better alternative.
Drew
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 4370
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2008 2:34 pm
Location: Copenhagen, DK / NY, NY

Re: Macbook pro retina 15, with dedicated GPU?

Postby NN634868051741997782UL » Wed Aug 13, 2014 10:35 am

Thanks for the info Drew.

I'm eyeing the retina so I can use it on set and at home, the mac pro is impressive although I tested it a couple of days ago and rendering previews is "only" cutting 33% of the waiting time and I would expect more comparing a 4 year old 2.000€ imac to a new 4.000€ mac pro (exporting is a beast cutting 66% of the time, unfortunately that improvement is not so important for me)
NN634868051741997782UL
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 12:39 am

Re: Macbook pro retina 15, with dedicated GPU?

Postby Bill9 » Thu Aug 14, 2014 12:35 am

Drew, I'm about to buy a new MacPro. Is there any particular configuration you'd recommend for C1? It's what I use most on my computer so I'm kind of designing the MacPro around C1!.

Any advice on the best processor / amount of RAM etc will be gratefully received!

Thank, you,
Bill
Bill9
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 2:36 am

Re: Macbook pro retina 15, with dedicated GPU?

Postby Bill9 » Thu Aug 14, 2014 12:36 am

PS. I use an IQ180, if that's relevant. (Large files!)
Bill
Bill9
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 2:36 am

Re: Macbook pro retina 15, with dedicated GPU?

Postby Drew » Thu Aug 14, 2014 8:27 am

The best you can afford, that's always my recommendation. :wink:
Drew
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 4370
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2008 2:34 pm
Location: Copenhagen, DK / NY, NY

Re: Macbook pro retina 15, with dedicated GPU?

Postby SamC » Sat Aug 16, 2014 12:20 am

Perhaps you could give us an idea of what upgrades would make the most impact. What should we spend our money on when it comes to upgrades...

More cores?

More RAM?

Better graphics card?

If we only had enough money to upgrade one thing, what would it be? If we had enough money to upgrade two things, what would it be?
SamC
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:09 pm

Re: Macbook pro retina 15, with dedicated GPU?

Postby Drew » Wed Aug 20, 2014 9:24 am

SamC wrote:If we only had enough money to upgrade one thing, what would it be? If we had enough money to upgrade two things, what would it be?


The answer here would be the same for any software, any computer, any application (nearly)... the Processor is the most important, so the beefier the better. After that, the Graphic Card too with a large processor would be important and then, as RAM is cheap and abundant, just max out the machine (or stop when you hit 64GB because that's just silly).

The only personal advice I would give is to avoid multiple cores over individual core size. So, find a core size that almost fits your needs, then get the multicore that you can afford. For example, an 8 Core 3.0GHz will do the job just fine over a 12 Core 2.7GHz and save you a bit of $$.
Drew
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 4370
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2008 2:34 pm
Location: Copenhagen, DK / NY, NY


Return to Capture One 8.x and 7.x Software



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests