C1 7.2.3 + MacPro D700 + OpenCL auto

Discussions, questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One PRO, Capture One DB and Capture One Express 7.x

C1 7.2.3 + MacPro D700 + OpenCL auto

Postby dale11833 » Fri Aug 01, 2014 4:57 am

= artifacts all over processed files. :(
7.2.2 works :)

MacOS 10.9.4
dale11833
 
Posts: 247
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 9:44 pm
Location: L.A. CA

Re: C1 7.2.3 + MacPro D700 + OpenCL auto

Postby dale11833 » Sun Aug 03, 2014 6:28 am

Just wanted to give y'all the heads up. (I am sure Phase is aware of this issue.) :D
dale11833
 
Posts: 247
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 9:44 pm
Location: L.A. CA

Re: C1 7.2.3 + MacPro D700 + OpenCL auto

Postby Drew » Mon Aug 04, 2014 2:59 pm

Hey Dale, we are awaiting some more updates from Apple.
Seems the 10.9.4 Update fixed one issue with the D300/D500 but not the D700.

We'd certainly welcome a support case with a System Profile so we can add it to the information in our communications with the big guys.
Kind Regards,
Drew
Phase One
Drew
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 4370
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2008 2:34 pm
Location: Copenhagen, DK / NY, NY

Re: C1 7.2.3 + MacPro D700 + OpenCL auto

Postby dale11833 » Thu Aug 21, 2014 9:32 pm

update,
Apple did an on-site replacement, (Applecare required), of my D700 cards and that fixed the problem. They agreed to replace the cards because of my video rendering problems in Resolve, but it seems to have fixed the problem in C1 too.
dale11833
 
Posts: 247
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 9:44 pm
Location: L.A. CA

Re: C1 7.2.3 + MacPro D700 + OpenCL auto

Postby Drew » Fri Aug 22, 2014 12:22 pm

It be interesting to know what was wrong with it, specifically.
Perhaps there are others out there too with bad hardware?
Kind Regards,
Drew
Phase One
Drew
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 4370
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2008 2:34 pm
Location: Copenhagen, DK / NY, NY

Re: C1 7.2.3 + MacPro D700 + OpenCL auto

Postby dale11833 » Fri Aug 22, 2014 1:46 pm

Early builds with the d700's have the video card issue. Taking the computer in to service for diagnostics does not catch the problem. They told me it might be a driver or software conflict. Not true, it's definitely hardware.
dale11833
 
Posts: 247
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 9:44 pm
Location: L.A. CA


Return to Capture One 7.x Software



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests