Page 1 of 1

importing from another C1 Catalog

PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2014 10:04 pm
by NN635341192453337550UL
Hello all, I am new to the forum, started to work with C1 a few weeks ago - migrating from Aperture. I am a Press-Photographer and have one main Problem: I am working with 2 Computers, on my Desktop-mac resides the main Catalogue, in "Aperture-times" I just synchronized from time to time the Laptop Catalog with the Desktop Catalog (so all the Images including Adjustements have been transformed to the Catalog on the desktop-Computer) I know that this synchronization can not be done with C1, but is there a way to import the laptop- RAW-pictures incl. Adjustements in the Desktop-Computer Catalog? (I do not need/want 2 different Catalogs, just 1 in order to have all the pictures finally in the same location)

any help appreciated, Charles

Re: importing from another C1 Catalog

PostPosted: Sun Aug 10, 2014 9:16 am
by Paul_Steunebrink
Hi,

This is not a feature CO7 currently can deliver. The best workaround is to use session for temporary storage and import either the session or the images file into the collecting catalog.

Re: importing from another C1 Catalog

PostPosted: Sat Aug 16, 2014 9:47 am
by NN635341192453337550UL
Hi, thank you for your information.

Connected my laptop with the Desktop-Machine and imported a session into the catalog. This worked so far (catalog imported/shows up folder incl. the subfolders and number of images) but no images were imported from the laptop.

Re: importing from another C1 Catalog

PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2014 9:33 am
by Drew
NN635341192453337550UL wrote:...but no images were imported from the laptop.


Nor should they be. A session is a referenced workflow. Thus, when importing a session it creates a Referenced Catalog to the files location, no images will be moved/migrated. They will only be referenced.

Re: importing from another C1 Catalog

PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2014 12:22 pm
by SFA
NN635341192453337550UL wrote:Hi, thank you for your information.

Connected my laptop with the Desktop-Machine and imported a session into the catalog. This worked so far (catalog imported/shows up folder incl. the subfolders and number of images) but no images were imported from the laptop.


If I understand correctly you have the files in a Session on the laptop and want to copy/move them to the desktop and then add them to a referenced Catalog?

I don't use catalogs but my understanding is that you could import the source files to the catalog along with the edits (creating a large catalog most likely) in one process. But if you want the catalog to used locally referenced files on the same machine you either need to add them to the catalog and then copy the files over to the desktop and re-link the catalog references to the new location OR copy the entire session to the desktop machine and then import from the copied session.

I would copy the session as a complete entity and then import to the catalog. It is a safe way to make sure you have a copy of the session and becomes a simple 2 step process.


HTH.


Grant

Re: importing from another C1 Catalog

PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2014 2:44 pm
by NN635341192453337550UL
Hi Grant

thanks very much for your advice. I made a test with "copy the session as a complete entity to the desktop machine" and then "import to the catalog" It is a little bit laborious, but seems to work so far. :D