Aperture to Capture1Pro and back via Catapult - Working

Discussions, questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One PRO, Capture One DB and Capture One Express 7.x

Aperture to Capture1Pro and back via Catapult - Working

Postby Eric Nepean » Fri Jul 25, 2014 8:37 pm

I finally got it to work, am able to send a Panasonic Raw from Aperture to C1P and back repeatedly, and keep the edits.

Here's how you do it. Its still a little complex, can be made better, but this method shows the key details and dependencies. I've written this assuming that RAW files are sent from Aperture to C1P for RAW conversion and editing, and then back to Aperture as TIFs to be managed along with a much larger library of images. I don't think one has to use these formats but I've assumed that for simplicity.

Setup

File Structure:
Set up the following file paths:
    /Pictures/Capture1Pro/C12Aperture/C1CatalogIn
    /Pictures/Capture1Pro/C12Aperture/C1CatalogOut
    /Pictures/Capture1Pro/C12Aperture/C1P4ApertureCatalogFiles

Now start a new C1P Catalog in /Pictures/Capture1Pro/C12Aperture, lets call it "C1P4Aperture", and arrange that it shall store its files in C1P4ApertureCatalogFiles.

Now put a dummy raw file in the C1CatalogIn folder, import it into the new catalog, with the file located in C1P4ApertureCatalogFiles, change it arbitrarily (to be safe) and export it as an orginal with adjustments into C1CatalogIn and then into C1CatalogOut. The purpose of this is to establish the CaptureOne special folder structure in each of those those directories, and establish for C1P where files live, and where imports and exports are.

Now delete from C1CatalogIn and C1CatalogOut and all of it subfolders, all of the files just created except for the .cos files in the "Settings70" folders (there are two such folders). Rename the .cos file left in C1CatalogIn/CaptureOne/Settings70 as "In.cos", and the .cos file left in C1CatalogOut/CaptureOne/Settings70 as "Out.cos" - these will be a useful marker for later work.

Now start Aperture, pick an arbitrary raw file for export, and choose the catapult plugin. Set the options for the plugin to export the RAW but not the edited file. Then configure the Catapult plugin as follows:
    Export image files to /Pictures/Capture1Pro/C12Aperture/C1CatalogIn
    Import image files from /Pictures/Capture1Pro/C12Aperture/C1CatalogOut
    Settings files are in /Pictures/Capture1Pro/C12Aperture/C1CatalogIn/CaptureOne/Settings70
    Setting files are of type "cos", remove all other types from the list

Now we are ready.

First Edit Operation

From Aperture select one or more files (raw or otherwise) to transfer, "edit" them with the Catapult plugin, export them to the C1CatalogIn folder , C1P will start, allow C1P to import them into the C1P4ApertureCatalogFiles folder.

You will notice the C1CatalogIn folder is populated with copies of the master files you selected in Aperture. There no cos files, since there are no previous settings from C1P.

Make your raw conversions and any edits you want.

As you finish each file in C1P, first export the variant as a tiff (or what format you want) and then export the originals with adjustments, both to the C1CatalogOut folder. Now back to Aperture, with catapult still running. PITA#1 Change the folder designated for settings from where it is (you should see the marker file "In.cos" ) to C1CatalogOut/CaptureOne/Settings70 - you should now see the marker file "Out.cos" and some others, one for each export.

In the Catapult Interactive mode, associate each Raw Image in Aperture with the TIFF file in C1CatalogOut and a COS file in the Settings70 folder, and import into Aperture. In each imported image (which should be stacked with the original RAW image) you should be able to find a Metadata Item called "Attached Settings Data" with alot of random text - the C1P setting info (from the cos file), encrypted and zipped. I suppose Catapult batch import mode works, but I haven't tried it yet.

When you have finished all those raw conversions, edits and exports, and imported with Catapult into Aperture,
    delete the imported and edited files from C1P (using C1P)
    Shut down C1P
    delete all the .RW2 and TIF and COS files, in C1CatalogIn and C1CatalogOut, except for those useful COS marker files.

Second and later Edit Operations

From Aperture select one or more edited files to transfer (for re-editting), "edit" them with the Catapult plugin. Make sure the folder designated for settings files is C1CatalogIn/CaptureOne/Settings70 - you should now see the marker file "In.cos"

Now start Catapult's export to the C1CatalogIn, C1P will start, don't let it import yet.

You will note that although you selected the TIF edit files in Aperture, Catapult retrieved the corresponding RAWS, and put them in the C1CatalogIn folder, and corresponding COS files in the C1CatalogIn/CaptureOne/Settings70 folder (but with a missing extended attribute that is needed for C1P to work properly.)

To fix the attribute problem, open Terminal (from the utilities folder

Code: Select all
cd  ~/Pictures/Capture1Pro/C12Aperture/C1CatalogIn/CaptureOne/Settings70 
xattr -w com.apple.TextEncoding "utf-8;134217984"  *.cos
ls -@l[/list]


You should now see that all the .cos file have an extended attribute com.apple.TextEncoding which is 15 characters long. Some of them may also have an Apple Quarantine extended attribute, I don't think it matters, but in my testing so far I removed it.

Mainlobe:Settings70 ev$ ls -@l
total 32
-rw-r--r--@ 1 ev staff 5862 25 Jul 13:15 In.cos
com.apple.TextEncoding 15


Now back to C1P and allow the import to start, with the new files stored into the C1P4ApertureCatalogFiles folder. The files should be your originals, with the previous edits already configured.

Make any edits you want.

Export back to Aperture the same way as written above.

This cycle works repeatedly, as far as I have tested it with Panasonic G5 RAWs.
Cheers
Eric
(OSX 10.12, iMac and MacBook Air, Panasonic GX7,GM5,G5, Olympus E-M1)
Eric Nepean
 
Posts: 385
Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2014 8:54 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Aperture to Capture1Pro and back via Catapult - Working

Postby Eric Nepean » Mon Jul 28, 2014 5:11 am

Brushed Pixel have updated their Catapult plugin to 1.2.1 (18) to preserve the extended attributes of the settings file (.cos). Consequently, the Unix commands to set the file extended attributes are no longer needed.
Cheers
Eric
(OSX 10.12, iMac and MacBook Air, Panasonic GX7,GM5,G5, Olympus E-M1)
Eric Nepean
 
Posts: 385
Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2014 8:54 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Aperture to Capture1Pro and back via Catapult - Working

Postby CAPTURE NIKON D700 » Mon Jul 28, 2014 8:29 am

Sorry ! This Workflow which you are posting hear is very complicated and not for Profis Work.

i think some peopel her have to stopp thinking about Apple Aperture, this Program is daid from my imac , when
Apple dont give intresting about it why me:lol:
just waiting for Update from Phase One, they will do grad job for ther custemers
and Think Diffrent pleace !
CAPTURE NIKON D700
 
Posts: 294
Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2014 11:57 pm

Re: Aperture to Capture1Pro and back via Catapult - Working

Postby Eric Nepean » Tue Jul 29, 2014 3:54 am

NN635395930471775600UL wrote:Sorry ! This Workflow which you are posting hear is very complicated and not for Profis Work.

i think some peopel her have to stopp thinking about Apple Aperture, this Program is daid from my imac , when
Apple dont give intresting about it why me:lol:
just waiting for Update from Phase One, they will do grad job for ther custemers
and Think Diffrent pleace !


Hi, your suggestion to immediately drop Aperture and think CaptureOne is sensible if one has a small amount of images or no ongoing projects in Aperture. But that's not so practical for those who have 5 to 7 years of work, 10's of thousand of images and ongoing projects in Aperture. While the tool will be dead in about 2 years, we don't accept that our previous work should be dead, that our current work should be completely restarted nor that we should take 3 months off from regular activities to transfer and redo previous work in another tool. If I'm going to take a vacation, this is not how I want to spend it :lol:

Most desirable is if we can use the old and new side by side for a while (in my case COP does not support my newest camera yet) and as COP develops and we develop our skill in COP toolset we move our work over as part of our regular work.

If a workflow can be developed that transfers images between the two tools, then my hope is that we can attract more of those leaving Aperture as CaptureOne Customers. With more revenue and more customers, CaptureOne will have a better chance against two strong competitors.
Cheers
Eric
(OSX 10.12, iMac and MacBook Air, Panasonic GX7,GM5,G5, Olympus E-M1)
Eric Nepean
 
Posts: 385
Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2014 8:54 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Aperture to Capture1Pro and back via Catapult - Working

Postby CAPTURE NIKON D700 » Tue Jul 29, 2014 1:57 pm

sorry i dont know what are missing in Cp1 vrs. to Aperture,
CP1 give you the best RAW Workflow als Aperture and athours Programs , the Problem you have is how do you transfer your 10 000... Pictures which you don in Aperture bevor in Cp1 ! or how to use the Nik Plug ins or Pixelmator, Photoshop !
I've been useing Aperture since moor then 5 Years and got about mor then10 000 Pictures in the Mediathek, they are all know in CP1 Catalog with Oginal Metadate, nothing ist been lost, my Nik Software and Pixelmator are still working gread , all you have to do is to mark the pictures you want to add finel edition to and export them as Tiff to a Output folder then do what you want.to do !
my bee this Workflow is know difficult but i beleve for comming update :D
CAPTURE NIKON D700
 
Posts: 294
Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2014 11:57 pm

Re: Aperture to Capture1Pro and back via Catapult - Working

Postby Maczero » Tue Jul 29, 2014 2:49 pm

I guess what makes it complicated is all the deleting etc of files after the C1 processed file has been reimported into Aperture. But surely you don't need to do this? First you can get Catapult to automatically clear the drop and pickup folders. Also, provided you don't mind keeping a duplicate of your raw files in a C1 catalogue or session can't you pretty much follow this workflow, but leave the files inside C1 (assuming that these are your best files it maybe a useful duplication) and when Catapult invokes the import dialogue simply cancel out of it, go to the desired file, re-edit and output as normal?

Of course, I may be missing something.
Maczero
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 8:58 pm

Re: Aperture to Capture1Pro and back via Catapult - Working

Postby Eric Nepean » Tue Jul 29, 2014 3:38 pm

Maczero wrote:I guess what makes it complicated is all the deleting etc of files after the C1 processed file has been reimported into Aperture. But surely you don't need to do this?
Good feedback .. I was wondering what seemed complicated from the perspective of others
Maczero wrote:First you can get Catapult to automatically clear the drop and pickup folders.
Catapult says it only cleans up when Aperture closes ... will have to do some checking of who automatically cleans up what and when
Maczero wrote:Also, provided you don't mind keeping a duplicate of your raw files in a C1 catalogue or session can't you pretty much follow this workflow, but leave the files inside C1 (assuming that these are your best files it maybe a useful duplication) and when Catapult invokes the import dialogue simply cancel out of it, go to the desired file, re-edit and output as normal?

Yes I've started doing that. Also, you can start catapult and do no export, only import, also start catapult and export but do not trigger COP import.

Maczero wrote:Of course, I may be missing something.
I am sure we are both missing something - but missing different things :D that's why these comments are helpful.
Cheers
Eric
(OSX 10.12, iMac and MacBook Air, Panasonic GX7,GM5,G5, Olympus E-M1)
Eric Nepean
 
Posts: 385
Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2014 8:54 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Aperture to Capture1Pro and back via Catapult - Working

Postby Peter Gutbrod » Tue Apr 07, 2015 9:47 pm

Hi Eric,

found your post as I was searching for resources about AppleScript, Aperture and Capture One.

My plan is to do pretty much what you are outlining with Catapult. A workflow to send masters from Aperture to Capture One, make edits and get back JPEGs/TIFFs and the Capture One adjustments file and store those in Aperture for later non-destructive round-trips to Capture One again.

I wasn't aware of the Catapult plugin. Unfortunately with Capture One 8 there is another type of "adjustment files" in the mix. The .comask file that holds the masks for any local adjustments. So with local adjustments Catapult has to save 2 files but the current version is limited to store just one adjustment file.

I've made some tests whether Aperture can store the much larger .comask file as well. I've combined the .cos and the .comask file into a single zip file manually and stored that via Catapult in the Aperture database. When exporting the edit to Capture One and manually extracting the zip file, all local adjustment and masks where still intact. So even with local adjustments and masks the Catapult workflow could work, if Brushed Pixel would allow to store 2 files zipped and encoded in the metadata field of Aperture.

I've contacted Brushed Pixel several times over the last weeks via the sale@ email address given on their website but didn't get any reply, not even a "sorry, we don't do any further development".

As they seemed to have reacted quickly after your initial post and updated Catapult, I'd like to ask, whether you know of another way to contact the developer? I think it would be quite easy to add this 2-files support to Catapult and I expect they could sell quite some licenses to people who like to stick a bit longer with Aperture's superior DAM functions but use Capture One's develop module.

Cheers

Pete
Peter Gutbrod
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 5:50 pm


Return to Capture One 7.x Software



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests