Page 2 of 2

Re: Autofill / Auto complete metadata/keywording

PostPosted: Sat Jun 22, 2013 4:37 pm
by Maczero
Just hit this problem as well. I'll submit a feature request to allow autofill to be turned off.

My work round has been to keep TextEdit open to type up captions etc and then cut and paste them into the metadata panel

Andrew

Re: Autofill / Auto complete metadata/keywording

PostPosted: Sun May 25, 2014 2:55 am
by cooper
I have to say, CO7 autofill metadata is perhaps the single most annoying feature in any piece of software that I use. Whenever I try to fill in a description it constantly overwrites itself with other descriptions, and on the rare occasions when it doesn't it capitalizes every word. That is pure craziness! CO engineers, please at least make it so users can disable this feature. It is not well designed.

Re: Autofill / Auto complete metadata/keywording

PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2014 9:16 am
by NN8876122
Me too!

This is awful… some of my work in a Museum, where I have to add a Registration Number and description, and this is driving me nuts.

Yes I can do this properly in Photoshop, but if for any reason I have to "re-process" the capture in studio, when the object tag is in the museum its a right royal pain!

Come on Phase One - fix it please!

Peter

Re: Autofill / Auto complete metadata/keywording

PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2014 4:35 pm
by Paul_Steunebrink
To all who stumble across this thread, Phase One has added an option to the Metadata tool's context menu in CO7: Reset Metadata Completions.

Image

Re: Autofill / Auto complete metadata/keywording

PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:05 pm
by matt mckee
Reset but not turn off. Well, we got part way there!

Thanks for discovering this Paul.

M

Re: Autofill / Auto complete metadata/keywording

PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2014 10:18 pm
by Maczero
The reset option is helpful - and I have used it (I think pointed to it by one of IQ Professor's blog entries). However, it doesn't substitute for a better auto complete feature.

The real problem is the way that the autocomplete is implemented. In other programmes (including, from memory, MP), autocomplete offers suggestions which you are free to accept or disregard. In C1 the moment you do something that might possibly be construed as consent (hit the space bar, for example), it fills in its first suggestion without further ado. Thereby lies a world of metadata hurt.

C1 needs to be more like Jeeves, making a helpful suggestion, rather than the Great Dictator.

Re: Autofill / Auto complete metadata/keywording

PostPosted: Tue Jul 01, 2014 3:11 pm
by markmullen
I end up resetting the metadata completions every time before I start keywording an image.

Re: Autofill / Auto complete metadata/keywording

PostPosted: Tue Aug 12, 2014 10:55 am
by Simon Brown
I'm a switcher to C1 from Aperture; like all here I'm finding the metadata autocomplete a total pain. As I'm dyslexic it's a particular problem, auto complete is disabled on all my devices. I'm finding I need to use "reset metadata completions" several times during keywording. It's now part of my metadata workflow to reset as the first step for each file.

Tech support were very quick in responding and promise to pass on to development a feature request for a "stop blooming interfering" switch, I'm slightly ashamed to say I waved the dyslexia in their faces a little. In the meantime, keep hitting that reset switch chaps.

As a rider here though; as an image processor I'm really glad I switched. The tools feel like using a wet darkroom again, particularly the monochrome tab feels like using my cold cathode enlarger and split grade printing.