Output naming bug in CO7 exporting

Discussions, questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One PRO, Capture One DB and Capture One Express 8x and 7.x

Output naming bug in CO7 exporting

Postby NN13970 » Tue Nov 20, 2012 11:37 pm

tl;dr - when exported filenames get truncated after the 'dot'
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

i name my projects like this YYYY.MM.DD-PROJECTNAME
that means that filenames after import/tethered shooting look like this

YYYY.MM.DD-PROJECTNAME0001.NEF
YYYY.MM.DD-PROJECTNAME0002.NEF
YYYY.MM.DD-PROJECTNAME0003.NEF
...


i always set Output naming as [Image name] so naturally when exported to TIFF (or JPEG) in CO6 the resulting files would look like this

YYYY.MM.DD-PROJECTNAME0001.TIF
YYYY.MM.DD-PROJECTNAME0002.TIF
YYYY.MM.DD-PROJECTNAME0003.TIF
...


but now in CO7 something changed and with the same [Image name] in Output naming i get this

YYYY.TIF
YYYY 1.TIF
YYYY 2.TIF
...


PLEASE FIX IT!!!
NN13970
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 5:27 pm

Re: Output naming bug in CO7 exporting

Postby SFA » Wed Nov 21, 2012 4:09 am

I have never found anyone who would recommend using "." in a file name anywhere except between the intended name and the extension file type identifier. In fact going back to the early days of Windows the advice was to never use a dot on a file since many programs (Utilities and so on) would assume, rightly or wrongly, that the dot was always a name/extension separator. I often use a similar naming convention but mostly use underscore rather than dot.

Interesting that V6 has not caused any problems for you. That's quite positive I think.

Have you opened a support case for this? I ask because that is the best way to make your problem visible to the support team.
SFA
 
Posts: 6707
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:32 pm

Re: Output naming bug in CO7 exporting

Postby NN13970 » Wed Nov 21, 2012 5:48 am

The magic word is 'early days of Windows'. But it's 2012 so I expect my software to understand what the dot means. And thanks for the advice to open a support ticket. I'm gonna do it right now.
NN13970
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 5:27 pm

Re: Output naming bug in CO7 exporting

Postby Drew » Wed Nov 21, 2012 9:32 am

Thanks for the support case.
It's a verified bug and has been fixed in the upcoming service release.

:wink:
Kind Regards,
Drew
Phase One
Drew
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 4370
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2008 2:34 pm
Location: Copenhagen, DK / NY, NY

Re: Output naming bug in CO7 exporting

Postby NN13970 » Wed Nov 21, 2012 2:09 pm

Thanks, Drew.

It was driving me crazy =)
NN13970
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 5:27 pm

Re: Output naming bug in CO7 exporting

Postby SFA » Thu Nov 22, 2012 2:20 pm

NN13970 wrote:The magic word is 'early days of Windows'. But it's 2012 so I expect my software to understand what the dot means. And thanks for the advice to open a support ticket. I'm gonna do it right now.



I agree - but it can still be a brave assumption! (And in some other things I deal with away from image processing it really helps quite often if one can rely on consistency of how the "." is used .... but that's another story)

Good to see the ticket looks like it will have worked out for you soon.


Grant
SFA
 
Posts: 6707
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:32 pm

Re: Output naming bug in CO7 exporting

Postby brycall » Fri Nov 23, 2012 12:54 am

Hopefully this is fixed. I was beta testing and put in a support case. I use imagename . camera counter and then rename the camera counter. The period terminates everything after it is processed, but will re name raw files. I just got word that they fixed the issue of the termination from the . on. Wait till the next update!
brycall
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 10:30 pm


Return to Capture One 8.x and 7.x Software



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest