enable B/W option doesn't work

Discussions, questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One PRO, Capture One DB and Capture One Express 7.x

enable B/W option doesn't work

Postby NN161480UL1 » Thu Oct 25, 2012 7:43 pm

I have a lot of pictures processed into black and white with C1 6 pro. I did this by going to the b/w menu and select the b/w option.

Now I imported an old session into the catalog and noticed many shots weren't b/w any more. But they kept all the other adjustments.

Going to the b/w menu I found the"enable b/w" option is still on. But they aren't b/w.

Undoing the option and selecting it again doesn't do anything. One picture even went into b/w while I put "enable b/w" off.
Also pictures who wern't b/w before I can't make them b/w.
--
Robert
C1 pro 8, leica MM
NN161480UL1
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 6:38 pm
Location: Amsterdam; The Netherlands

Re: enable B/W option doesn't work

Postby NN161480UL1 » Thu Oct 25, 2012 10:18 pm

No one has the same issues?

BTW, those were picture with the leica M8.
--
Robert
C1 pro 8, leica MM
NN161480UL1
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 6:38 pm
Location: Amsterdam; The Netherlands

Re: enable B/W option doesn't work

Postby NN892561 » Fri Oct 26, 2012 12:49 am

Works for me on an image that was not previously a b/w. Haven't tried opening a session with b/w's from v6 yet.

BP
NN892561
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 7:43 pm

Re: enable B/W option doesn't work

Postby Jason131 » Sat Oct 27, 2012 12:20 pm

I noticed this same issue tonight, also on some M8 files. Haven't had time yet to get to the bottom of it but there could be a glitch.
Jason131
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 2:14 pm

Re: enable B/W option doesn't work

Postby Paul_Steunebrink » Sat Oct 27, 2012 12:35 pm

CO7 is clearly a more complex piece of software, since we now have more variables, which create even more possibilities when combining them. This is what I mean:

Catalog or session. CO6 or CO7 engine.

My brief experience:
Catalog: only CO6 engine does not enable B&W
Session: both CO6 and CO6 migrated to CO7 engine do not enable B&W; new import to CO7 engine do enable B&W.

Conclusion: a migration issue. I'll contact Phase One on this.
Best regards,
Paul E. Steunebrink, Image Alchemist (website All about Capture One), Capture One trainer
User avatar
Paul_Steunebrink
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
 
Posts: 9488
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: enable B/W option doesn't work

Postby Coach » Sat Oct 27, 2012 2:10 pm

Why isn't CO7 engine automatic? Is there a compatibility issue or lost features? I tested a file but updating it to the CO7 engine, then tried it again in CO6. I didn't notice any problems, but it was just a quick test.
Coach
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 2:14 am

Re: enable B/W option doesn't work

Postby NN890511 » Fri Nov 09, 2012 5:15 am

Is there any update on the "Enable B+W" issue. I also cannot convert images to B+W no matter what process engine is used. Very frustrating!
NN890511
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 11:23 pm

Re: enable B/W option doesn't work

Postby Nicolas17 » Fri Nov 09, 2012 10:48 am

Hi,

I have the same issue :( 'enable B&W' doesn't work with my Leica M8 files, plus the LCC 'Capture one 6 drop down menu (will exist after you imported according the new way in V7) doesn't appear (both issues are ok with M9 Files) , I alreday logged a support case few days ago ... :roll:
Nicolas17
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 10:45 pm

Re: enable B/W option doesn't work

Postby Drew » Fri Nov 09, 2012 1:56 pm

Nicolas has reported this issue in a support case and we cannot reproduce it with the M8 Files provided.

As such I would invite anyone having this issue to create a support case and provide us a System Profile as we think it must be specific to Hardware/Operating System. We'll need your help to get to the bottom of the issue.
Kind Regards,
Drew
Phase One
Drew
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 4370
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2008 2:34 pm
Location: Copenhagen, DK / NY, NY

Re: enable B/W option doesn't work

Postby NN890511 » Sat Nov 10, 2012 12:29 am

I think I found the problem to this B+W issue. It only happens to me with sessions that were created by earlier versions of C1 (6 and earlier). When clicking on the "Enable Black & White" box, there was no change or conversion. All the values in the color channels were solid black (no numerical values). If you click on each channel box and enter '0', then tab and repeat for all color channels, the image will convert to B&W and you will be able to adjust color channel values as normal. Copying and pasting the new adjustments will also now work.
This is definitely a migration issue. Creating new sessions in C17 and converting to B&W works perfectly (for me). Migrated sessions from the past do not "zero" or enter a value into the B&W channels boxes.
Hope this helps to solve the issue.
NN890511
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 11:23 pm


Return to Capture One 7.x Software



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests