CO 7

Discussions, questions, comments and suggestions regarding Capture One PRO, Capture One DB and Capture One Express 8x and 7.x

CO 7

Postby Krzysztof23 » Thu Oct 25, 2012 12:45 pm

Just received an email noifying about release of CO 7. $99 for upgrade is not bad. Anyone already upgraded? Any "quirks"? Issues?
Krzysztof23
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 1:52 am

Re: CO 7

Postby Jim MSP » Thu Oct 25, 2012 1:19 pm

I will later, but it appears that the server is down.
Jim MSP
 
Posts: 704
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 5:20 pm

Re: CO 7

Postby Drew » Thu Oct 25, 2012 1:23 pm

Jim MSP wrote:I will later, but it appears that the server is down.


The server is up but is certainly strained at the moment. Check back occasionally as demand fluctuates.
Drew
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 4370
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2008 2:34 pm
Location: Copenhagen, DK / NY, NY

Re: CO 7

Postby SFA » Thu Oct 25, 2012 1:27 pm

Looks like a good update from the description.

No mention of 32bit though - is this going to force me to upgrade my hardware ... ? (At last )

I probably should anyway but it makes it a costly decision on 2 devices. The upgrade cost is hardly notable in that context!



Grant
SFA
 
Posts: 7223
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:32 pm

Re: CO 7

Postby Drew » Thu Oct 25, 2012 1:35 pm

SFA wrote:No mention of 32bit though - is this going to force me to upgrade my hardware ... ? (At last )


"Unfortunately" not :) . Please see the release below;

Microsoft® Windows® minimum requirements
• Intel Core 2TM Duo or better.
• 4GBofRAM
• 10 GB of free hard disk space
• Calibrated color monitor with 1280 x 800, 24 bit resolution at 96dpi screen ruling
• Windows Vista® SP2 64bit, Windows 7® SP1 64bit, Windows 8® 64bit
• Microsoft® .NET Framework version 4.0 (will be installed if not present)
• A PDF reader is needed to read the Release Notes
• Flash is required to view the intro video
• An Internet connection when activating Capture One
Drew
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 4370
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2008 2:34 pm
Location: Copenhagen, DK / NY, NY

Re: CO 7

Postby Krzysztof23 » Thu Oct 25, 2012 1:43 pm

SFA wrote:Looks like a good update from the description.

No mention of 32bit though - is this going to force me to upgrade my hardware ... ? (At last )

I probably should anyway but it makes it a costly decision on 2 devices. The upgrade cost is hardly notable in that context!



Grant


I did it a year ago. Intel i7, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD, coul dnot be happier! CO 6 PRO flies! Best investment I could have done ;)


Excluding my investment into Cadillac CTS-V race track lab experience :)
Krzysztof23
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 1:52 am

Re: CO 7

Postby SFA » Thu Oct 25, 2012 2:05 pm

Drew wrote:
SFA wrote:No mention of 32bit though - is this going to force me to upgrade my hardware ... ? (At last )


"Unfortunately" not :) . Please see the release below;

Microsoft® Windows® minimum requirements
• Intel Core 2TM Duo or better.
• 4GBofRAM
• 10 GB of free hard disk space
• Calibrated color monitor with 1280 x 800, 24 bit resolution at 96dpi screen ruling
• Windows Vista® SP2 64bit, Windows 7® SP1 64bit, Windows 8® 64bit
• Microsoft® .NET Framework version 4.0 (will be installed if not present)
• A PDF reader is needed to read the Release Notes
• Flash is required to view the intro video
• An Internet connection when activating Capture One



Hmm. "Thanks" Drew - I think ...

To be honest I was expecting this and I had ready the spec sheet .... but I was kind of hoping that it might have inadvertently forgotten to mention 32bit ... ;)

I might just be able to upgrade the notebook. Will have to do both as I try to keep all PDF/Flash/Whatever products off the dedicated desktop system.


Grant
SFA
 
Posts: 7223
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:32 pm

Re: CO 7

Postby NNN634320717969338257 » Thu Oct 25, 2012 2:18 pm

Yea, sound interesting.

But, it did not came clear to me how much DAM featureas are included into CO7. I just wonder if I could live with CO7 withou Media Pro and do some management in CO7. DOes anybody know?

-Mark
NNN634320717969338257
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 2:20 pm

Re: CO 7

Postby tgphoto » Thu Oct 25, 2012 2:53 pm

And now I know why Phase One has been so aggressive in their Capture One 6 pricing. I "just" bought C1 6 Pro on October 2 of this year. I'm guessing Phase One doesn't offer a similar upgrade policy to Apple?
tgphoto
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 6:46 pm

Re: CO 7

Postby nggalai » Thu Oct 25, 2012 3:08 pm

Mark,

I’m still playing around with the DAM features / Catalog Mode. First impression is “Lightroom light” with certain nods to MediaPro (e.g. the bubbles to select standard filters). I probably should explain the Lightroom thing.

Basically, it makes it easy to tag keywords, and last imports / captures, Smart Collections etc. are reminiscent of how Lightroom works. Also, there’s an option to check catalog integrity, make catalog backups etc. Sensible stuff. It’s not the Lightroom bloat or usability (or lack thereof), rather the better bits of LR1.x rolled into CaptureOne. It’s not Lightroom and hopefully will never be, but it’s possible that for many this level of “DAM” functionality is enough.

I don’t think the Catalog will try to replace MediaPro. There’s too much missing, e.g. no controlled vocabulary, no XML thingies, and the only output options seem to be process recipes, print, and web contact sheet. Also, question is how spiffy it runs with some 10.000 images. I only tried with a couple of hundred and it worked well enough, but some of us have hundreds of thousands of images in need of a DAM.

Oh, and there’s still the “Create MediaPro catalog” option in the File Menu. So I guess we’re bound to getting a reboot of that one, too.

Cheers,
-sascha
nggalai
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 7:52 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: CO 7

Postby Drew » Thu Oct 25, 2012 3:13 pm

tgphoto wrote:And now I know why Phase One has been so aggressive in their Capture One 6 pricing. I "just" bought C1 6 Pro on October 2 of this year. I'm guessing Phase One doesn't offer a similar upgrade policy to Apple?


You should have a Free Upgrade in your Key if you purchased it that recently. :wink:
Drew
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 4370
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2008 2:34 pm
Location: Copenhagen, DK / NY, NY

Re: CO 7

Postby Gromit44 » Thu Oct 25, 2012 4:03 pm

Drew wrote:
tgphoto wrote:And now I know why Phase One has been so aggressive in their Capture One 6 pricing. I "just" bought C1 6 Pro on October 2 of this year. I'm guessing Phase One doesn't offer a similar upgrade policy to Apple?


You should have a Free Upgrade in your Key if you purchased it that recently. :wink:


Hi Drew,

I too purchased Capture One Pro 6 recently (late September 2012) - am I supposed to have a Free Upgrade to Capture One Pro 7?
Gromit44
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 2:35 am

Re: CO 7

Postby Drew » Thu Oct 25, 2012 4:05 pm

Gromit44 wrote:Hi Drew,

I too purchased Capture One Pro 6 recently (late September 2012) - am I supposed to have a Free Upgrade to Capture One Pro 7?


Please see the post below;
viewtopic.php?f=46&t=12998&p=59609#p59609
Drew
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 4370
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2008 2:34 pm
Location: Copenhagen, DK / NY, NY

Re: CO 7

Postby Gromit44 » Thu Oct 25, 2012 4:50 pm

Drew wrote:
Gromit44 wrote:Hi Drew,

I too purchased Capture One Pro 6 recently (late September 2012) - am I supposed to have a Free Upgrade to Capture One Pro 7?


Please see the post below;
viewtopic.php?f=46&t=12998&p=59609#p59609


Thanks Drew. I purchased v6 on 18th September and received the license/activation key on the 19th September. Since this was only seven days before your 26th Sept free upgrade cutoff date, can I have v7 without paying the fee?
Gromit44
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 2:35 am

Re: CO 7

Postby Drew » Thu Oct 25, 2012 5:08 pm

Gromit44 wrote:Since this was only seven days before your 26th Sept free upgrade cutoff date, can I have v7 without paying the fee?


Please direct any sales related questions to the link below;
http://www.anp.se//content.asp?account= ... A5F417740&

Requests such as this will be handled on a Case by Case basis.
Drew
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 4370
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2008 2:34 pm
Location: Copenhagen, DK / NY, NY

Next

Return to Capture One 8.x and 7.x Software



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 6 guests