Where to, now?

Discussions about Phase One Media Pro and Media Pro SE

Re: Where to, now?

Postby Paul Dymond » Thu Sep 13, 2018 12:05 am

Thanks Mark, apparently the 30 day trial lets you use just the Library module after it expires but I'm not sure what happens to the ability to sync to the app. If you wouldn't mind letting me know in 30 days that would be great. I'll also get in touch with Adobe but have a feeling they might be reluctant to tell me how I can use their software for free!

For anybody else thinking of swapping to Lightroom I've been experimenting and found that I can sync my catalogue to two different iPads at once as long as I am logged in to my account on both. The syncing is incredibly slow though so probably not feasible for large libraries but you can choose which Collections to sync. So if having stuff available on your iPad is a handy feature for you then you would have to limit it to a smaller number of images.

Also I re-ran the Catalog Sets to Collections script for Photosupreme and while it is now doing it automatically it's been running for two days non-stop and has still only done 3% of a 60,000 image catalogue. Certainly easier than doing it manually but a very long process.

The search continues...
Paul Dymond
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 6:56 am

Re: Where to, now?

Postby C-F » Thu Sep 13, 2018 4:30 am

Paul Dymond wrote:....
.....
Also I re-ran the Catalog Sets to Collections script for Photosupreme and while it is now doing it automatically it's been running for two days non-stop and has still only done 3% of a 60,000 image catalogue. Certainly easier than doing it manually but a very long process.

The search continues...



Well, I am on a MacBook Pro and installed Parallels desktop, Windows10, and iMatch2018 (all on trial for now) and ingested 31372 images (after initial smaller testing sizes of course) - NEF, tiff, jpg, ARW, ORF, iPhone and iPad images... (just picked my 2016 folder) and the whole process took give and take 4 hours. Now, I have no Catalog sets nor Collections and little I have tried, the program is VERY powerful and deep (the software has Attributes, Collections [both system and user driven], and Categories [ also both user and system defined]! So far I know I just scratched the surface but it looks like I found a new home for my hobby...- there will be a learning curve, but it can be done in 'steps'...
It has image versioning and image stacking...
I am very impressed with its capabilities and excellent documentation. My main surprise was in its responsiveness considering the 'virtual' setup through Parallels. I chose coherence mode and iMatch is running in its own desktop with access to all my folders, files, and external hard drives.(I just swipe to it just like any other MAC desktop in full screen mode) - impressive!

After looking a little closer at the ingested image sample I realized what a 'Metadata mess' a lot of them contained that didn't even show up in other software I am using - will take me a while to clean all that up but this software makes for a pleasant and fast work environment...

@Ian3 - it did import my structured keywords of my files... and has what seems to be a sophisticated key wording system implemented.

Overall, I am very pleased with my decision to give it a real try - still have about a week on my timer to make a final decision but for me it looks like the right thing to do ( if it just wasn't for having to deal with windows again it'd be 'perfect' for me ...lol :lol: :wink: )
My personally greatest difficulties I am actually having is with windows (have not used it in 10 years) and its weird ways of handling some of the details... - Apple users are just 'spoiled' that things just 'work'...
C-F
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2011 6:34 pm

Re: Where to, now?

Postby RobiWan » Thu Sep 13, 2018 5:22 am

Paul Dymond wrote:Also I re-ran the Catalog Sets to Collections script for Photosupreme and while it is now doing it automatically it's been running for two days non-stop and has still only done 3% of a 60,000 image catalogue. Certainly easier than doing it manually but a very long process.


I'm not sure what are you doing, but its not normal.
Maybe is the script buggy. In that case, I'd do it differently.
RobiWan
 
Posts: 382
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2012 1:42 pm

Re: Where to, now?

Postby Paul Dymond » Thu Sep 13, 2018 5:51 am

I’m not sure either. I just ran the script and it’s slowly doing its thing. But having a closer look I’ve realized that the software has failed to load thumbnails for a little over 50,000 or so of the pictures so that might have been slowing it down. It’s slowly going through and loading the thumbnails but it’s very, very slow, particularly with the big TIFF files.
Paul Dymond
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 6:56 am

Re: Where to, now?

Postby HansDeZomers » Thu Sep 13, 2018 6:41 am

Photo Supreme is building thumbnails AND previews. To create these larger previews it loads the full image. That of course is a lot slower than loading thumbnails only. It’s a one time inconvenience and it runs in the background. No need to wait for it to finish.
On occasions I just stopped the thumb building process, to start it again at a more convenient time. There’s a menu item for that.
HansDeZomers
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 12:11 pm

Re: Where to, now?

Postby HansDeZomers » Thu Sep 13, 2018 6:47 am

Paul Dymond wrote:Also I re-ran the Catalog Sets to Collections script for Photosupreme and while it is now doing it automatically it's been running for two days non-stop and has still only done 3% of a 60,000 image catalogue. Certainly easier than doing it manually but a very long process.

The search continues...

That doesn’t sound like it’s supposed to run that long. Did you report it?
HansDeZomers
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 12:11 pm

Re: Where to, now?

Postby Paul Dymond » Thu Sep 13, 2018 9:17 am

No, I just gave up. The thumbnail building was taking way too long. Up to a minute for one large TIFF. I’m sure it might work for some people but I didn’t have any luck with it.

Oh and I asked John Beardsworth about the LR Sync and he said that that is one of the functions that you lose when the subscription runs out, along with Develop and Map modules.
Paul Dymond
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 6:56 am

Re: Where to, now?

Postby HansDeZomers » Fri Sep 14, 2018 2:21 pm

Paul Dymond wrote:No, I just gave up. The thumbnail building was taking way too long. Up to a minute for one large TIFF. I’m sure it might work for some people but I didn’t have any luck with it.


I've seen quite a few TIFF files in my life while working in the printing industry and I found that Photo Supreme has among the best TIFF support of all the tools that I've used. It hasn't failed on me yet to load the few exotic flavors from my many years old archive. 8 bit, 16 bit, 32 bit, compressed, uncompressed, multiple alpha channels, RGB, CMYK, CieLab, and I probably forgot a few.
With the full preview once built in Photo Supreme, you won't have to wait for the display of that file again. Building these thumbnails and previews is a one time operation and I never had issues with excessive long file loading times.

Just for the fun of it, did a comparison to check how the loading time of large TIFF compare between MediaPro and Photo Supreme. Then at least we'll have quantified what we're talking about.

My test file is a 554.8MB TIF file. Details about the file (ExifTool):
3 channels, 16bit
LZW compressed
11520x7920 (w x h)
Chunky Planar
RGB photometric interpretation

Loading times:
1. Windows 10 takes 12 seconds to load the file in Photos
2. High Sierra takes 14 seconds to load the file in Preview
3. Photo Supreme takes 8 seconds to load the file in the Viewer
4. MediaPro takes 8 seconds to load the file in the Viewer

PSU and MediaPro score identical and so they have similar TIFF loading times. Then I rebuilt the thumb and preview for this file in PSU (ctrl+alt+t). That also takes 8 seconds. That was expected because to build the preview it needs to load the full image.

Then I removed the file from the PSU catalog and import it again with Import Single Files. This time, the thumbnail building after import takes 25 seconds. That's about 3 times as slow :shock:

I have no explanation for that and will report this.
HansDeZomers
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 12:11 pm

Re: Where to, now?

Postby HansDeZomers » Fri Sep 14, 2018 7:39 pm

HansDeZomers wrote:Then I removed the file from the PSU catalog and import it again with Import Single Files. This time, the thumbnail building after import takes 25 seconds. That's about 3 times as slow :shock:

I have no explanation for that and will report this.

Just learned that this is fixed in the next 1675 build. Speedy as always.
HansDeZomers
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 12:11 pm

Re: Where to, now?

Postby JimPogo » Mon Oct 08, 2018 3:45 pm

I've been reading this thread with sadness... Started iView in 1998 or so! (the last version of iView works fine for me in High Sierra by the way -- good work Yan and team!). I also use the current Phase One Media Pro, and am finally used to it's black and orange Halloween scheme...

I've never had to think of a replacement because it always worked. How is this app not more popular!?!

Anyway, after reading all this, it seems there are a handful or other similar products. I do web work rather than photography and share assets with myself all over the place. I'm so used to having multiple catalogs open at once, being able to drag between clients and projects. Is there a list somewhere of those that are db based (one image set open at a time), and those that are Catalog based (as many as you want open at a time)?
JimPogo
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2017 9:57 pm

Re: Where to, now?

Postby NNN635209198550339456 » Wed Oct 17, 2018 5:30 am

Adobe Bridge CC still completely free and seems like most futureproof choice, of cause Adobe can change their money policy
NNN635209198550339456
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2013 8:57 pm

Re: Where to, now?

Postby Ian3 » Wed Oct 17, 2018 8:16 am

But it won't show Capture One edits, will it?

Ian
Ian3
 
Posts: 1890
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 3:52 pm
Location: Bristol, England

Re: Where to, now?

Postby NNN635209198550339456 » Wed Oct 17, 2018 9:03 am

No, edits inside IIQ file are not processed, changes to workflow are required
NNN635209198550339456
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2013 8:57 pm

Re: Where to, now?

Postby Ian3 » Wed Oct 17, 2018 9:22 am

... so it may be that learning to love the C1 catalog is better.

Ian
Ian3
 
Posts: 1890
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 3:52 pm
Location: Bristol, England

Previous

Return to Media Pro / Media Pro SE



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests