ETTR feature in Feature update 8. Please explain

Questions, comments and suggestions regarding Phase One IQ4, IQ3, IQ2 and IQ1 series digital camera backs.

ETTR feature in Feature update 8. Please explain

Postby Rogerxnz » Sat Dec 12, 2020 7:39 am

I am disappointed that there is no explanation as to how to use the ETTR feature or what cameras it will work with. I know the feature is experimental but how are we supposed to send feedback if we do not know how to use the feature in the first place?

Although the release note refers to the feature, not under the headings for XF and XT cameras and states"The Phase One Lab offers a “Beta proving ground” for all IQ4 customers." [Emphasis added], I am disappointed to read that some users consider the feature only works with P1 cameras.

Would you please advise whether the ETTR feature will work with IQ4 backs even if used with non-P1 cameras.

If ETTR will work with non-P1 cameras, such as, a Linhof Techno, how does one use it and what is it supposed to do.
Roger
Rogerxnz
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2014 12:33 pm

Re: ETTR feature in Feature update 8. Please explain

Postby rread » Mon Dec 28, 2020 10:08 pm

Yes, I would like to see how to use this and confirmation on what backs it works with. I've updated my IQ4 100 and I can't find the option.

The virtual horizon tool on the IQ4 is gone, too, or did that move somewhere else?
rread
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2015 7:27 am
Location: New York, NY

Re: ETTR feature in Feature update 8. Please explain

Postby Denverphotoscapes » Sat Jan 02, 2021 11:13 pm

I selected ETTR on the IQ4 150MP on the XF and it does nothing.

I selected ETTR on the IQ4 150MP attached to the XT and it switches from M to AP and takes an image.

The best exposure for my scene with some shadows, mid-tones and white clouds on a blue sky was M at 1/30 at f/16. Actually I think I could squeeze out 1/25 at f/16 and be ok.

The ETTR changed to AP and selected 1/13. Which really blew out the clouds and some of the building. By about 1 1/3 stops.

I tried another test setting the M exposure at 1/20' f/16 and it changed to AP at 1/6". I changed the shutter to 1/30" and it changed to AP at 1/6. Still way over exposed and it doesn't seem to matter what you set the shutter speed at.

I was going to see if ETTR would honor EV Comp but could not find it on the IQ4 when attached to the XT.

Also the EXIF Exposure Program when on the XT shows Not Defined. ES shutter on both cameras.

It looks like they have some work to do.
User avatar
Denverphotoscapes
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 7:42 am
Location: Denver, CO


Return to Phase One IQ4, IQ3, IQ2 and IQ1 series camera backs



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests