IQ3 100MP disconnect all the time

Questions, comments and suggestions regarding Phase One IQ4, IQ3, IQ2 and IQ1 series digital camera backs.

IQ3 100MP disconnect all the time

Postby NN635222910882850950UL » Sun Apr 30, 2017 11:57 pm

I have problems shooting tethered with my IQ3100mp lately. When I connect the camera for the first time there are no problems, but after a few shots it looses contact, and it keeps going like this. Sometimes it's even hard to get connected back again. I never had problems with this before. Do I miss a thing? I'm running CO10 and installed latest firmware CP3.06.3 . Working on a MacBook Pro 2,6 GHz Intel Core i7. I also attached the V-grip to the camera. The issue happens with the original black cable from PO and also with the TetherPro USB 3.0 cable (5m). Today I attached the FireWire cable in the back of the back (with a FireWire - Thunderbold adapter to my MacBook). Than there are now problems with the connection, it only takes ages when the photo runs into CaputreOne (no solution). Does my problem got to do with extra power needed for running the camera when using USB3? Strange that this problem suddenly exists. Hope anybody can give some advice which to check. Thanks a lot! Tom.
NN635222910882850950UL
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2013 5:51 pm

Re: IQ3 100MP disconnect all the time

Postby ben_US » Mon May 01, 2017 2:45 pm

Do you have charging and/or power sharing enabled on the IQ?
Please make a support case for Technical Support with Capture One software:
http://support.phaseone.com and click on Contact Support, then select Technical Support.
ben_US
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 577
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 9:51 pm
Location: New York, USA


Return to Phase One IQ4, IQ3, IQ2 and IQ1 series camera backs



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests