Very long exposure time

Questions, comments and suggestions regarding Phase One IQ4, IQ3, IQ2 and IQ1 series digital camera backs.

Very long exposure time

Postby Brunetti » Sat Oct 04, 2014 8:03 am

Hi,

I have an IQ250 on an Alpa. Last night I tried to make a very long exposure, that means I left the shutter open until the battery gave up. The result is really nothing, I mean there is no file on the card.

Does anybody have an idea how to realize this?

Have fun, jakob
Brunetti
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2012 3:06 pm

Re: Very long exposure time

Postby Digital Transitions, Doug » Mon Oct 06, 2014 4:42 pm

As you said, If you run out of battery during an exposure it will not be written to card.

There are two solutions:
- Power your back via Firewire so you won't run out of battery.
- End the exposure sufficiently early that you won't run out of battery.
Digital Transitions, Doug
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 3:34 pm

Re: Very long exposure time

Postby Chuck T » Sat Oct 11, 2014 9:50 pm

Don't forget you need power for at least double your exposure time as the camera will take a dark frame for noise reduction equal to the exposure. So if you take a 1 hour exposure, be prepared for a 1 hour dark frame.

Even if you did complete the exposure - then immediately ran out of battery, the camera would not have made the dark frame, which would also (most likely) render your exposure useless.
Chuck T
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Malibu, CA

Re: Very long exposure time

Postby NN635722369495215289UL » Tue Sep 22, 2015 11:27 am

Hi I am a IQ150 and XF camera user. I am interested in this topic and I wonder if I could switch off the black exposure time after long exposure. It would be hard to wait for the long time of the dark frame exposure.

Ray
NN635722369495215289UL
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2015 7:42 pm

Re: Very long exposure time

Postby Ulf » Tue Sep 22, 2015 11:59 am

Hi

You can not do this.
This is due to the simple reason that we can not guarantee the quality of the image.
Kind Regards
Ulf Liljegren
Phase One
Ulf
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 3364
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: Copenhagen Denmark

Re: Very long exposure time

Postby voidshatter » Tue Aug 16, 2016 1:25 pm

NN635722369495215289UL wrote:Hi I am a IQ150 and XF camera user. I am interested in this topic and I wonder if I could switch off the black exposure time after long exposure. It would be hard to wait for the long time of the dark frame exposure.

Ray


You can disable darkframe NR on a technical camera by setting camera mode to aerial and latency to zero, then any image after the first image since power-on will not get the darkframe NR countdown.

The 50MP CMOS digital backs work great, but the fullframe digital backs have image quality issues with it.
voidshatter
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 1:12 am

Re: Very long exposure time

Postby Ulf » Wed Aug 17, 2016 9:00 am

HI

Keep in mind that we do not recommend this solution.
If image issues arise, it is considered a "unsupported" solution.
Kind Regards
Ulf Liljegren
Phase One
Ulf
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 3364
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: Copenhagen Denmark


Return to Phase One IQ4, IQ3, IQ2 and IQ1 series camera backs



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests