IQ4 CFExpress support?

Questions, comments and suggestions regarding Phase One IQ4, IQ3, IQ2 and IQ1 series digital camera backs.

IQ4 CFExpress support?

Postby mkphotomedia » Wed Sep 09, 2020 5:25 pm

Since I'm starting to see a number of CFExpress Type B cards out on the market, and back when the IQ4 was introduced, it was supposed to be upwardly compatible: I'm in need of a couple of extra cards and wondering if CFExpress B cards will generally work on the IQ4150, or if there are specific guidelines--or if one should stick to XQD/wait for the next firmware upgrade (which, given Phase's track record on such things: will we see a viable vaccine for COVID-19 before we see a firmware upgrade that fixes the missing-area-on-electronic-shutter bug on the IQ4150? ;-)
mkphotomedia
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2011 9:54 pm
Location: Vancouver, Canada

Re: IQ4 CFExpress support?

Postby Ulf » Thu Sep 10, 2020 9:28 am

Hi

CFExpress is not currently supported. We are working on this one.
In regards to ES issue then we do have a beta firmware for this.
Anyone who have been in contact with support regarding this have been provided with the firmware.
Ulf
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 3612
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: Copenhagen Denmark

Re: IQ4 CFExpress support?

Postby leofabrizio » Fri Apr 30, 2021 10:31 am

That answer is now outdated.
Even if not all cf express card seems to be not equal with IQ4.

Digital Transition (thanks to them) interestingly release some statement on what card seems to work better with IQ4, but only few of them seems to do the job well. And it's depend on brand, type, but also capacity!!
So a certain brand, with a certain type will work well at a certain capacity, but not at an other one!!
Guinea pigs are we?
leofabrizio
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 11:59 pm

Re: IQ4 CFExpress support?

Postby Ulf » Fri Apr 30, 2021 4:06 pm

HI

This is not unusual with new standards that there is variations.
We have done quite a bit of testing and supported cards are listed in this knowledge base article
https://www.phaseone.com/en/Search/Article?articleid=1144&languageid=1
Ulf
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 3612
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: Copenhagen Denmark

Re: IQ4 CFExpress support?

Postby Denverphotoscapes » Thu Jul 29, 2021 9:23 pm

Has anyone seen anymore information on supported CFexpress cards other than what is posted on Phase One support page?

I tried a 512gb Anglebird card that I use in the Nikon Z camera and iPad Pro and the IQ4 wants to format it even though it has been formatted on either the Nikon or MacOS. The iPad Pro is also happy. The IQ4 format screen shows the card as being 0gb. And the format never finishes.

Anglebird doesn't have any ideas.

The IQ4 also works fine with the Lexar 128gb card.

So I guess I will get some CFexpress cards that have been tested and leave the Anglebird cards for the Nikon.
User avatar
Denverphotoscapes
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 7:42 am
Location: Denver, CO

Re: IQ4 CFExpress support?

Postby Denverphotoscapes » Fri Jul 30, 2021 2:28 pm

I just got word from Anglebird that they have contacted Phase One R&D and they are working on support for their cards. If I hear anything else I will post it. Glad that Anglebird reached and are providing assistance to resolve this. I have used their cards and readers for sometime now and have been very impressed with the results.
User avatar
Denverphotoscapes
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 7:42 am
Location: Denver, CO


Return to Phase One IQ4, IQ3, IQ2 and IQ1 series camera backs



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests