Profoto Air Sync

Discussions regarding Phase One 645 DF / DF+ and Mamiya 645 DF / DF+
Also lens discussion for Phase One and Schneider lenses.

Profoto Air Sync

Postby NNN635123934527950155 » Sat Oct 04, 2014 2:36 am

Hi-

I am new to flash photography on the 645DF+ platform and have a few questions regarding wireless flash sync and TTL flash metering. I have been using the camera for over a year (awesome!), always in ambient light, so I am familiar with the operation of the system, just not with flash.

- I am considering the purchase of a Profoto Air Remote to use with Profoto B1 off camera flashes. I am assuming that this combination will give me full TTL flash metering with the 645DF+. Is this correct?

- For proper flash synching and TTL, should I shoot in X mode or can I shoot in any camera mode (Av, Tv, manual)?

Thanks,

Ken
NNN635123934527950155

Re: Profoto Air Sync

Postby PhaseoneUser55657 » Sat Oct 04, 2014 5:15 pm

I think the only flash that supports TTL is the Metz 54MZ series of speed lites with the correct adaptor, (SCA 3952). I don't know of any other TTL flash system for the 645DF platform. I have the Metz platform, and actually never been happy with the TTL setup, one I hate the flash on the camera, and have not seen any kinda remote TTL setup for it, and it always seems like I just can never get the pictures to look natural. So I always do Manual, and use a light meter. (the 645DF+ may be better, I have an 645AFIII).

The ProPhoto Air will do manual only. It is just the Air Remote will give you the ability to adjust the flash power from the remote. (NO TTL). I think some studio strobe companies are coming out with TTL version of their strobes, but never seen or heard of them doing it for anybody but Canon and Nikon.