Unable to Select Focus Area

Discussions regarding Phase One 645 DF / DF+ and Mamiya 645 DF / DF+
Also lens discussion for Phase One and Schneider lenses.

Unable to Select Focus Area

Postby JASONGROVER » Sun May 04, 2014 9:36 pm

Using Mamiya DF+ body with Leaf Credo 40 back and 80mm LS lens.

For some strange reason I am unable to select the focus area (left, center, right). It always stays on center. I have tried changing via the button on the body (doesn't do anything) and when I change via the menu using the back, it lets me change but always reverts back to center.

I feel like I am missing something.

Thanks,
JASONGROVER
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2010 4:16 am

Re: Unable to Select Focus Area

Postby PhaseoneUser55657 » Mon May 05, 2014 12:12 pm

You may want to search the forums, but I think I saw that they removed all but the center from the DF+ camera, but the options are still in the menus.

Robert
PhaseoneUser55657
 
Posts: 222
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2012 2:19 pm

Re: Unable to Select Focus Area

Postby Drew » Mon May 05, 2014 12:37 pm

Correct.
The feature was removed from the DF+ so we could use the memory used to allow that on other improvements.
Drew
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 4370
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2008 2:34 pm
Location: Copenhagen, DK / NY, NY

Re: Unable to Select Focus Area

Postby JASONGROVER » Mon May 05, 2014 3:25 pm

Thanks Drew and Robert.

Cheers,
JASONGROVER
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2010 4:16 am

Re: Unable to Select Focus Area

Postby FredBGG » Wed Jun 18, 2014 5:07 am

The Phase One website still states that the DF + has 3 focus points.

TTL phase-difference AF with 3 focus points
Focus confirmation in manual mode
Infrared AF assists for unfailing focus
Auto focus lock for swift AF/ M shift


When were the two focus points removed?

Was it the 1.58 firmware
FredBGG
 
Posts: 218
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2010 8:11 pm

Re: Unable to Select Focus Area

Postby Ulf » Wed Jun 18, 2014 1:02 pm

It has never been there in the DF+
Very early firmware it was selectable but had no affect.
Ulf
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 3524
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: Copenhagen Denmark

Re: Unable to Select Focus Area

Postby FredBGG » Sat Jun 21, 2014 9:28 pm

Ulf wrote:It has never been there in the DF+
Very early firmware it was selectable but had no affect.



Then why does the Phase One website still list it as having 3 Focus Points?

Also how on earth did a firmware release get released with a setting that does nothing?
FredBGG
 
Posts: 218
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2010 8:11 pm

Re: Unable to Select Focus Area

Postby Ulf » Mon Jun 23, 2014 9:55 am

1. It should not be on there
2. Good question
Ulf
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 3524
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: Copenhagen Denmark


Return to Phase One 645DF and DF+ / Mamiya 645DF and DF+



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests