Page 1 of 2

645DF+ locks up (unable to focus)

PostPosted: Wed Sep 25, 2013 9:39 pm
by flashsplash
Hi,

I just got a new Phase One 645DF+ IQ140, great stuff however I did ran into an issue after a few shots.

-Camera in Manual mode
-Center focus
-Spot metering
-80mm Scheinder lens (standard kit)

-Back all normal

After shooting a few pictures the camera refuses to lock the focus, in fact it just doesn't react to anything.

Tried all options from full power down to power up.... nothing worked to solve the problem.

I can only fix it by power-off and to remove the back(IQ). Place the back on and power on.
Then it works again for a while.

Any of you seen this before....?

I have been a Nikon guy for a long time and took the step to Phase One just a few days ago and I already start to regret it :twisted:

Or it might just be me....

Any help will be appreciated...

Re: 645DF+ locks up (unable to focus)

PostPosted: Tue Nov 12, 2013 5:58 am
by iER
Hi,

This happens to me as well, usually taking the lens off and putting back on fixes the problem for a bit until it crops back up again during a studio session (it's annoying and embarrassing in the middle of a shoot). Wondering if I should send my unit to get checked as well?



ER

Re: 645DF+ locks up (unable to focus)

PostPosted: Wed Nov 13, 2013 8:50 am
by David Cohen de Lara
I've had this happen too. Most recently it was accompanied by a message on the DF body that said 'Cap DB' or 'Err DB'. Sometimes a power cycle did help, but sometimes the only thing that would get it going again was to take the lens off and put it back on again. Take it in for servicing ASAP. Also, when you get it back, don't just assume it's fixed. Do an extensive test before you use it on any real work. I've had a 'totally serviced' body fail a week later.

Protip from someone who shot Nikon for 6 years without a single problem and moved to Phase One 3 years ago: DO NOT take on any serious work without a backup body and a backup lenses. The backs don't go wrong that often, but the other parts in the system WILL fail on you and leave you hanging in the middle of a shoot. So far it's happened to me about 6 times in the last 9 months, with several different bodies and lenses in four different countries, all completely locked and needing servicing. I'm not trying to badmouth Phase One here but that's just how things are when you shoot this system.

Re: 645DF+ locks up (unable to focus)

PostPosted: Thu Nov 14, 2013 8:48 pm
by flashsplash
TXS, and it is indeed a bug in the software. At least that is what I am told.... Very enjoying in the middle of a shoot.There you are with a very expensive camera and you need to take it appart to get it to work again.

Support told me that they have a patch ready and that I can get it loaded. I will go back to the service center tomorrow to get it installed. The newest release will come later.

So maybe it is beter to contact your service center. As soon as I have the details and results I will inform You all.

Re: 645DF+ locks up (unable to focus)

PostPosted: Fri Nov 15, 2013 10:13 am
by Drew
flash splash wrote: Support told me ...


:?: :shock: :?:

The support case you have is with regard to USB 3 tethering and the Firmware version available to enable it on your back.
It has no mention or reference to a DF+ issue.

If you are having an issue with your DF+ please let us know and/or contact your dealer.

Re: 645DF+ locks up (unable to focus)

PostPosted: Sat Nov 16, 2013 11:23 am
by flashsplash
Hi Drew,

Well I got the information from one of your support folks, maybe there is a misunderstanding. (there is case open through Servix on this issue)

In each case I have gone back to my local support center (Servix) and we loaded another Camera firmware under CF C99 "223" . This 223 is what my support center (Servix) got from Phase One and should solve the issue.

I have been shooting the camera for two sessions since friday and Hoera !!!! :D It works like a champ...

So it might be a good idea to inform the customers about all the known bugs and the fixes...

Strangely enough I had to chase the issue, and only when I got a response in this forum things started to move.

Re: 645DF+ locks up (unable to focus)

PostPosted: Mon Nov 18, 2013 12:11 pm
by Drew
hmmmm...
I am happy to hear that you're finding a Beta version of the software helpful. However I think you should keep an eye on the camera and follow up with your dealer as you see necessary.

Re: 645DF+ locks up (unable to focus)

PostPosted: Mon Nov 18, 2013 5:38 pm
by flashsplash
Absolute, and so far it works....

Re: 645DF+ locks up (unable to focus)

PostPosted: Fri Nov 22, 2013 6:54 pm
by flashsplash
I have now been shooting in Wales (UK) for a week with the Beta version 223 (645DF+) and no issues whatsoever . :D
My Nikon's are still in the bag, but the way it goes is just great..... now lets see how the remaining shooting will go.

Re: 645DF+ locks up (unable to focus)

PostPosted: Thu Nov 28, 2013 10:23 am
by iER
Absolute, and so far it works....


Lucky for you, the Hong Kong distributor says they don't have beta firmware available and I will have to wait till it is finally released unfortunately... :(



ER

Re: 645DF+ locks up (unable to focus)

PostPosted: Thu Nov 28, 2013 11:21 am
by Drew
iER wrote:Lucky for you, the Hong Kong distributor says they don't have beta firmware available and I will have to wait till it is finally released unfortunately... :(


They should have this, if not the final one slated for release shortly. I'd touch base with them again and if there are still any issues you're welcome to reference my name and/or this Forum thread.

Re: 645DF+ locks up (unable to focus)

PostPosted: Sat Dec 14, 2013 6:00 pm
by flashsplash
Hi folks,

I am one happy :D :lol: Phase One IQ-645DF owner. After we loaded the fix or engineering release the camera has been working like clockwork. So far (after 3000 shots , outside, studio etc...) I have not had any issues. Thanks Phase One for the fix :)

Re: 645DF+ locks up (unable to focus)

PostPosted: Sat Dec 21, 2013 9:24 pm
by flashsplash
Hi you all,

Meanwhile I upgraded the body to firmware release 224, works like a champ.....Seems that all my troubles are over.

Re: 645DF+ locks up (unable to focus)

PostPosted: Thu Feb 06, 2014 8:47 pm
by E-Rock
Glad to hear that everything is working well for the original poster and subsequent posters.

I just wanted to add that while tech-ing a recent shoot I encountered this issue even though the camera had been upgraded to the 224 firmware.

We had been shooting with a 30' firewire cable provided by the dealer and the issue was pervasive. After lunch we switched to the 15' firewire cable and the problem disappeared.

So, if you are still having this issue, perhaps try a different cable.

Cheers,
Eric

Re: 645DF+ locks up (unable to focus)

PostPosted: Fri Feb 07, 2014 8:43 am
by Drew
E-Rock wrote:We had been shooting with a 30' firewire cable provided by the dealer and the issue was pervasive. After lunch we switched to the 15' firewire cable and the problem disappeared.


What your seeing in this case is NOT and issue with the DF+ camera but a communication issue between camera and computer, caused by signal loss over such a long cable and inadequate power at the Computers port.
That communication issue may cause the camera to have an error but that is the effect of the problem, not the cause.
The cause is a 30' Cable without an externally powered repeater hub. The proof being that switching to a 15' cable, which is within Firewire Spec, solved the issue.

So, bad behavior in the camera may not be the cameras fault but rather the manifestation of an error elsewhere.