Page 1 of 1

Leaf Aptus-II 12 Color Shift PROBLEM

PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2018 1:54 am
by XpoM_bk
Hello! I have a problem!
When shooting at shutter speeds longer than 1_125, the image is covered in green, which can not be fixed.
At exposures shorter than 1_125, the color becomes poisonous purple. It too can not be corrected.
I work in a photo studio, and the optimal exposure for me is 1_125, but I want the camera to function 100% and I did not have a headache about it.
What could be the problem? Help, please, with advice!
I can do a test survey on all exposures, ISO and apertures for clarity. I really need to solve this problem.
Thank you.

Re: Leaf Aptus-II 12 Color Shift PROBLEM

PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2018 5:13 pm
by ben_US
It's hard to judge without images, but this sounds potentially like the black calibration is being corrupted by light hitting the sensor during this readout. Best option here is to create a tech support case (via the link in my profile) and send us some photos so we can diagnose.

Re: Leaf Aptus-II 12 Color Shift PROBLEM

PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2018 4:06 am
by XpoM_bk
Thx.
I found the answer to my question. I bought a Schneider Kreuznach 80mm 2.8Ls
And after that the problem disappeared.
It turned out that Leaf aptus-2 12 for some reason does not work well with any hand-held optics. But everything is fine with AF optics.
I'm very upset because I wanted to try such lenses as 80 1.9, 200 2.8, 145 soft, 50mm shift, 24mm fisheye.
80 1.9 and 200 2.8 I have, with them, then there were problems.
The rest is a great tool, I recommend it to everyone!
A similar problem has already been encountered in one of the forums. I do not know how to explain it. Can someone tell me?

viewtopic.php?f=31&t=20378

Re: Leaf Aptus-II 12 Color Shift PROBLEM

PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2018 9:28 am
by Ulf
Hi

I do remember this being an issue in a firmware release.
Contact support about this, I believe this can be sorted.

https://www.phaseone.com/en/SupportMain.aspx

Re: Leaf Aptus-II 12 Color Shift PROBLEM

PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2018 9:07 pm
by XpoM_bk
Ulf wrote:Hi

I do remember this being an issue in a firmware release.
Contact support about this, I believe this can be sorted.

https://www.phaseone.com/en/SupportMain.aspx


I wrote to the service, I'm waiting for an answer. You could describe in more detail about cases of treatment of this problem?
Firmware version 5.041
Interface version 3.0.5
Extended support L S
https://www.phaseone.com/en/search/arti ... nguageid=1

Judging by this list, I have the latest firmware versions installed.